• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Body Music Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for electro-soul duo of Aluna Francis and producer George Reid includes a cover of Montell Jordan's "This Is How We Do It."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It is a wonderful debut effort, and all of the buzz and the attention they have garnered up to this point is likely only the beginning for AlunaGeorge.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    Despite the part-compilation/part-extras makeup, this is one of the year's more enjoyable debuts.
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    80
    AlunaGeorge are a pop act at heart, with most of this debut’s songs anchored to a radio-friendly chorus.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    75
    They ooze a confidence that marries the seductive mews of Aaliyah with something just slightly sinister. It's a combination that could easily sound forced, but Francis has mastered the trick of adding a nuance to her purrs that makes them intoxicating.
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    Their sound is more pop than R&B or electronic, more domestic than futuristic, and more formulaic than innovative. But it works for them. It’s accessible electro-pop music that you can’t help but be smitten with.
  6. 60
    One of the problems Body Music faces is that it’s an album supporting a string of pre-processed singles.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    50
    On the whole Body Music's tracks feel like little more than fairly unimaginative collage pieces: fifteen years of pop trends, compressed into one very indistinct style.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Flawless pop album, less generic than most of pop music nowadays, it's obvious that George Reid's production is brilliant. Diver, Your DrumsFlawless pop album, less generic than most of pop music nowadays, it's obvious that George Reid's production is brilliant. Diver, Your Drums Your Love and Kaleidoscope Love are highlights. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    Probably the best album I've heard in a long time. The mixture of textures, genres and vocals is almost immaculate in its conception. ThisProbably the best album I've heard in a long time. The mixture of textures, genres and vocals is almost immaculate in its conception. This album is worth and listen and even more so a purchase. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Body Music is undoubtely one of the strongest debuts of 2013. Amazing productions and great lyrics, this album can be listened to a lot ofBody Music is undoubtely one of the strongest debuts of 2013. Amazing productions and great lyrics, this album can be listened to a lot of times. Aluna's voice is bittersweet and George productions are unique as they are cathchy. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    It is like an Rihanna album. There is no denying that some tracks are flawless. However it also got fillers. Especially the intro of Lost andIt is like an Rihanna album. There is no denying that some tracks are flawless. However it also got fillers. Especially the intro of Lost and Found is a shocker. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    While the first five or six tracks are more than good, the rest of the album as a whole functions just well, but it's still a lack ofWhile the first five or six tracks are more than good, the rest of the album as a whole functions just well, but it's still a lack of continuity or entertainment. At some point, I felt like some way all the songs were the same. Despite all this, I enjoyed the work and I think this is a great duo that make things really accurately. Collapse
  6. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    Yes, you've got something new here, it's fresh and very catchy. But in some point every track sounds the same way. However, it's listenable.Yes, you've got something new here, it's fresh and very catchy. But in some point every track sounds the same way. However, it's listenable. Highlights: You Know You Like It Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    5
    Not what i was expecting. Very excited about this album, i loved the brilliant singles(You know you like it, you drums your love andNot what i was expecting. Very excited about this album, i loved the brilliant singles(You know you like it, you drums your love and attracting flies) but sadly the energy of alunageorge is lost in the album. It seems the singles were chosen because they were the best songs, as the rest does not grab me and comes across as average filler. Could have been much better, shame. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews