Body Of Song - Bob Mould
Body Of Song Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest solo recording from former Hüsker Dü and Sugar leader Mould echoes back to those bands as well as the various stages of his solo career. His backing band includes Sugar's David Barbe and Fugazi's Brendan Canty.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Alternate title: Bobby--Fully Loaded. [5 Aug 2005, p.67]
  2. Body Of Song finds Mould creating familiar-sounding music without simply rehashing fan favorites.
  3. 80
    No new fans need apply here, but those who know and love his sound will find that this self-styled career summation, a nod back to late Husker Du with computerized updates, sprouts horns with repeat listens. [Aug 2005, p.112]
  4. This is a good, even very good, Bob Mould album, but it doesn't measure up to masterworks like Copper Blue and Zen Arcade.
  5. Even though not everything Mould tries on Body of Song works, there are enough gems to make the album a worthwhile destination.
  6. [Mould's trademark] coupling of aggression and tuneful economy is one of the chief attributes sometimes compromised on Body of Song.
  7. Body of Song truly falters in its inability to successfully blend two sensibilities.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. BlowMe
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this is not good needs to have their hearing checked.
  2. MikeE
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    I think this is a terrific return to form. Not a homerun but I very solid double. I've listened to it for about two weeks and I'm having trouble finding faults. I think some of the lyrical content is just ok but the songwriting is terrific. Circles, Paralyzed, and Always Tomorrow are the highlights for me. Expand
  3. SteveO
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    Not Zen Arcade, not Workbook, not Copper Blue, but is a wonderful survey of all the influences this most perceptive songwriter has at his disposal. One can go song by song and find its place in the impressive Bob catalogue. Quite literally a body of work, not a snapshot of a static moment. Expand
  4. charlieb
    Aug 1, 2005
    8
    After the disappointing electronic albums (and the ho-hum Dog and Pony Show, lets not forget), this is a true return to form. Certainly the best material he's recorded since the demise of Sugar. Collaborations with Dave Barbe and Fugazi's Brendan Canty may explain why songs such as 'Paralysed' and 'High Fidelity' appear to have more focus than tracks from the recent past. And he finally makes a couple of decent ballads, I mean genuine ballads, not whiney 'everything sucks and its all your fault' ballads. If there is a problem, you could argue its the lack of experiment. Vo-coders? Keyboards? As far as some tracks go that's about it. But if you want to know what the band that takes over Foo Fighters in five years time sounds like, you could do worse than listen to this. Expand
  5. CosmoPrelog
    Aug 5, 2005
    8
    Way to go Q Magazine! You have managed to snag the award from Uncut for most pointless music mag on Earth. This is a great record by a true legend of rock music. Can't wait for your next Keane cover story! Blow me Q... Expand
  6. BarryS
    Aug 4, 2005
    8
    Great playing and ethereal, other worldly production help make this a really outstanding effort for Bob. but, I'm going to have to out him on the disco beats and club mixes on several tunes. Shocking to hear from one of the best, hooky songwriters to rock the 80's and 90's so supremely. But, I'll ignore the few I don't care for too much and relish the rest! And yes, the expanded, double CD version IS worth the extra $$$. It comes in a small black box with some strange photos and stuff w/ the CD's in sleeves & all carefully wrapped in gold felt. Collapse
  7. JeffS
    Aug 2, 2005
    5
    I enjoy his trademark melodic hooks, but it is still too much like Modulate for my tastes.

See all 11 User Reviews