• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Boo! Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first album in more than 15 years features guest appearances by Booker T. Jones, Kris Kristofferson, Wayne Kramer, Marcus Miller, and a song originally cowritten with Bob Dylan.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Boo!, their first album for 16 years, is well up to the standard of classics such as "What Up Dog?" and "Are You Okay?"
  2. Uncut
    Boo! has plenty of highpoints. [May 2008, p.113]
  3. Mixing and matching funk, rock, and soul with a little jazz and blues, and enhanced on occasion by some seamlessly incorporated electronics, Boo! delivers robust party material with plenty of straight-faced, sidesplitting/head-scratching humor...precisely what you'd expect from them, then.
  4. Boo! can be enjoyed on a few different levels: You can listen to this work and simply dig all the fat, old school R&B musicianship.
  5. Q Magazine
    The world may have moved on but they haven't, so '80s funk backdrops merge with Sweet pea Atkinson and Sir Harry Bowen's classic soul vocals and some biting surreal lyrics. [May 2008, p.141]
  6. The result is fun, easily listenable, entertaining and good material for weddings, 40th birthday parties and, for those of you who weren't there the first time round, any '80s theme party you might want to hold.
  7. Mojo
    The best songs here more than compensate for the near misses. [May 2008, p.112]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of