Born and Raised

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2012
    9
    "Born and Raised" is easily Mayer's best studio work since "Continuum." His previous offering, "Battle Studies," is gaining much criticism in the wake of this new release, but it's clear that "Studies" was a transitional piece, both musically and personally, for Mr. Mayer. While I still argue that "Continuum" is the artist's best work to date, but Born and Raised is a necessary step in"Born and Raised" is easily Mayer's best studio work since "Continuum." His previous offering, "Battle Studies," is gaining much criticism in the wake of this new release, but it's clear that "Studies" was a transitional piece, both musically and personally, for Mr. Mayer. While I still argue that "Continuum" is the artist's best work to date, but Born and Raised is a necessary step in Mayer's maturation process, as musician and man. That said, it's a near-perfect album, the one fans have been wanting since "Continuum." The guitar work is less complex, the vocals are emphasized, and there isn't as much layering of instruments as on prior efforts. This is a stripped-down Mayer, and his vulnerable voice sounds even more wounded than normal, likely the result of his pre-surgery recordings. The title track and "Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967" are career highlights for Mayer, who proves yet again that he is at the forefront of his generation's singer-songwriters Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    The album is a nice stop in action some will criticize the album for being a low but to me this album comes out to be a soul shaker and it gets me through my tough times especially the song 'Born And Raised' his best song till date :)
  3. May 22, 2012
    8
    Full review available at Manik Music! http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/john-mayer-born-and-raised/#

    John Mayer is known as an artist that has integrated numerous styles into his playing. Mayer does not ask permission to play certain genres; it usually happens as a natural progression. Such is the case with his newest effort Born and Raised. On this album, Mayer brings folk-country into
    Full review available at Manik Music! http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/john-mayer-born-and-raised/#

    John Mayer is known as an artist that has integrated numerous styles into his playing. Mayer does not ask permission to play certain genres; it usually happens as a natural progression. Such is the case with his newest effort Born and Raised. On this album, Mayer brings folk-country into the fold, mixing it in with his usual pop fare. Mayer isnâ
    Expand
  4. May 31, 2012
    7
    John Mayer in his typical way for latest album posted a folk-rock compositions, which try to fit the commercial standards. Not as of today we know that Mayer is best in live performance, where ihe can always improvise with guitar parts. It should be added that, despite the presence of both rock and blues inserts ("Something Like Olivia"), the album is still quite folk, subdued proposalJohn Mayer in his typical way for latest album posted a folk-rock compositions, which try to fit the commercial standards. Not as of today we know that Mayer is best in live performance, where ihe can always improvise with guitar parts. It should be added that, despite the presence of both rock and blues inserts ("Something Like Olivia"), the album is still quite folk, subdued proposal with the common elements of the country ("Born And Raised"). For fans of the artist, such a departure from rock may seem a misunderstanding. Expand
  5. May 23, 2012
    10
    9.9 actually. I sometimes miss his blues edge throughout the album. But almost always it is earnest, brilliant, and beautiful music. Thank you, John.
  6. May 22, 2012
    10
    A perfect summer road-trip album. 70's folk and Americana for the modern age. After the success of Continuum, John wanted to shred the sumptuous bluesy pop ambience and write a country record. The plans had to take the back burner for a while as John decided to write something else instead for his next studio release. 2009â
  7. May 29, 2012
    9
    My wife never thought much of John Mayer because he doesn't have a classically "good" voice. And my telling her that he is a songwriter who will be remembered a century from now didn't cut into her opinion any. On a cross country flight the other night, she plugged into my iPad and listened to his album four times. BORN AND RAISED is an example of an album that is infectious upon only oneMy wife never thought much of John Mayer because he doesn't have a classically "good" voice. And my telling her that he is a songwriter who will be remembered a century from now didn't cut into her opinion any. On a cross country flight the other night, she plugged into my iPad and listened to his album four times. BORN AND RAISED is an example of an album that is infectious upon only one listening. John keeps getting better and better, as he grows up. Expand
  8. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    One of the best albums in the year 2012. His songwriting gets better and better and the tunes are so calmative and chilling. Not every song is perfect but you can listen to the whole thing and won't be bored once. I especially love 'Queen Of California', 'Shadow Days', 'Speak For Me' and 'Born And Raised' but I was into every single second of this album, regardless. I haven't heard all ofOne of the best albums in the year 2012. His songwriting gets better and better and the tunes are so calmative and chilling. Not every song is perfect but you can listen to the whole thing and won't be bored once. I especially love 'Queen Of California', 'Shadow Days', 'Speak For Me' and 'Born And Raised' but I was into every single second of this album, regardless. I haven't heard all of his previous albums so I can't really say if it actually is his best CD, but it's a very good one and one of the 10 best releases this year. Expand
  9. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    This is a completely new type of record for John Mayer. It is not even close to being like his other records. His other records had a very original sound that he made, and he changed to blue grass and country for this record. Not only is the music different, but also his lyrics aren’t like the ones he wrote on songs like “Bigger Then My Body,” or “Heartbreak Warfare.” His lyrics forThis is a completely new type of record for John Mayer. It is not even close to being like his other records. His other records had a very original sound that he made, and he changed to blue grass and country for this record. Not only is the music different, but also his lyrics aren’t like the ones he wrote on songs like “Bigger Then My Body,” or “Heartbreak Warfare.” His lyrics for this album are more country like to, but at the same time not too far from his old style of lyrics writing. He usually extends his range a little bit with each album, but with this one he did it dramatically. Another thing I notice is a change in his voice. His voice sounds slightly deeper, and not as whispery as it used to sound. It added to his new style. But I have to say that he makes his new style work. It is one that will grow on you if you don’t like it at first. That is what happened with me. It is not a perfect album, because it has a few bad ones, but not many.

    A track I would say to skip is “Age Of Worry.” It is a weird song, and it just isn’t that appealing if you ask me. Another one to skip is “Speak For Me.” It is a very average and kind of boring song. The last song I would say to skip is “Walt Grace's Submarine Test, January 1967.” It is another one that seems a little weird. “Shadow Days” is a good song that I found it dropped off for me after I discovered some better ones off of the album. It is good, but not great. It felt a little poppy, but I would still listen too it.

    The first track off of the CD is “Queen Of California,” which is a completely different kind of song for him. That is one that doesn’t match his old style of songwriting in any way. But it is still a very good song, with a good beat, with lyrics that are interesting, but hard to figure out. The next song I would like to praise is “Something Like Olivia,” which is a good blues song. I would say that it might be his bluesiest song, because of the music, and lyrics. It just had a style of a really old blue song. But I like that. It is a happy song though, which makes it good. There aren’t many happy ones on this album.

    The title track “Born & Raised” is also a great song with a bob Dylan type feel to it. I find its lyrics to be interesting, but hard to figure out. It is soothing like all of the other songs on this album. However in my opinion the best song is “A Face To Call Home.” It is a very happy song, with a good melody, and a great pick up at the end. I feel like it is the one that stands out the most on the cd, due to the way it picks up at the end. It is just a very enjoyable, and happy song to listen too. His new style is working for him, but I still see room for him to improve it. It is well done, and well written.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Uncut
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    The Don Was-produced album proceeds at an unhurried pace, featuring Jackson Browne-like confessionals and Young-style, harmonica-accented shuffles. [Jul 2012, p.77]
  2. 60
    Born and Raised a prime example of the John Mayer paradox--it's good enough to satisfy even his most casual fans, but the old-school Mayerisms that remain will only anger his detractors.
  3. May 24, 2012
    70
    It's an honest, and oftentimes compelling, statement on his road to redemption.