Born Free

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    Born Free goes a long, long way toward keeping that heartland flame burning bright: it's familiar yet fresh, and song for song it's the best album Kid Rock has cut since Devil Without a Cause.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    As he moves beyond his rap boundaries into more country-rock fare, this album is a step forward for the Kid.
  3. 75
    For the most part, this is a crisp, hook-heavy collection of old-fashioned rock & roll.
  4. Kerrang!
    Dec 14, 2010
    60
    With its emphasis on freedom, this is the kind of stuff beloved of American who are heavily armed, piss-drunk,or both. The rest of the world need not apply, however. [13 Nov 2010, p.52]
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    75
    With a refreshing emphasis on music over outrageous persona, Kid Rock has earned himself another 15 minutes with this one. Or, what the heck? Let's make it 30.
  6. Rock Sound
    Nov 19, 2010
    30
    It would be churlish to deny that some of the selections on Born Free feature tunes on which the listener can truly chew, but it would also be wrong to ignore the fact that without this music Kid Rock's lyrics are, at best, the work of a sentimentalist and at worst, the mewlings of a moron. [13 Nov 2010, p.52]
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    70
    He sounds more earnest than ever on Born Free, and there's a very adult kind of wistfulness to songs like "When It Rains" and "Times Like These." Born Free shows that you just might be able to take the Kid out of the Rock.
  8. Nov 15, 2010
    30
    It's not so much the shift in style that hampers Born Free, but rather the trite subject matter and gormless storytelling that Rock so keenly adopts.
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    50
    On Born Free, Kid Rock has become Grown Man Rock, setting aside the bombastic mélange of hip-hop, metal, country, and bad taste that made his name a permanent fixture on the asses of strippers across this great land.
  10. Uncut
    Jan 24, 2011
    40
    It's a grim assemblage of cliche from the title downwards. [Feb 2011, p.90]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    I live in Michigan. Been here my whole life. But I do you know who I really dislike? Kid Rock. I know my dad loves Kid Rock, and this album.I live in Michigan. Been here my whole life. But I do you know who I really dislike? Kid Rock. I know my dad loves Kid Rock, and this album. But guess what! I don't. Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    â
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    It is easy to see that Kid Rocks best years are behind him. The all American â