Born Free - Kid Rock
Born Free Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking a break from his usual rap and metal musical hybrid style, Kid Rock's latest album is influenced by country-rock and blues, featuring collaborations with Zac Brown, Sheryl Crow, and others.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    Born Free goes a long, long way toward keeping that heartland flame burning bright: it's familiar yet fresh, and song for song it's the best album Kid Rock has cut since Devil Without a Cause.
  2. 75
    For the most part, this is a crisp, hook-heavy collection of old-fashioned rock & roll.
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    75
    With a refreshing emphasis on music over outrageous persona, Kid Rock has earned himself another 15 minutes with this one. Or, what the heck? Let's make it 30.
  4. Dec 14, 2010
    60
    With its emphasis on freedom, this is the kind of stuff beloved of American who are heavily armed, piss-drunk,or both. The rest of the world need not apply, however. [13 Nov 2010, p.52]
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    50
    On Born Free, Kid Rock has become Grown Man Rock, setting aside the bombastic mélange of hip-hop, metal, country, and bad taste that made his name a permanent fixture on the asses of strippers across this great land.
  6. Jan 24, 2011
    40
    It's a grim assemblage of cliche from the title downwards. [Feb 2011, p.90]
  7. Nov 15, 2010
    30
    It's not so much the shift in style that hampers Born Free, but rather the trite subject matter and gormless storytelling that Rock so keenly adopts.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    It is easy to see that Kid Rocks best years are behind him. The all American â
  2. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I love this album, I didn't think it would be as good as the last one but I think it's better. I didn't know much about Kid Rock until his last album came out and I thought I'd just have a listen, I liked it from the word go but I thought I liked it as a one off until I heard this new album....everyone has their own taste in music I know but I love this album Collapse
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    With Kid Rocks new album Born Free he found a good niche in the country blues rock scene. You mustnâ
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    The creation of No Mercy definitely had its ups and its downs. After the title of the album had changed three times and TI being released from prison, there was a lot of hype built up for this album. Although TI was in jail, he had most songs on this album already recorded. The pre-recorded songs were the only decent songs on the album because it just seemed as if he wrote the newly recorded songs in a fifteen minute span. Signing a record deal as a young teenager right off the streets of Atlanta, there is a vast improvement in his lyrics and you can see the maturity that he has gained. The album has a recorded fourteen songs and only four that TI sings solo. Eleven songs having guest singers, TI had some good friends because they sure helped him out. A four song album probably wouldnâ Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    I live in Michigan. Been here my whole life. But I do you know who I really dislike? Kid Rock. I know my dad loves Kid Rock, and this album. But guess what! I don't. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    0
    this album and song's all stink kid rock has officially destroyed his very own music genre this album stink's the song's have no meaning and it was produced by the worst music in the music business rick rubin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews