Born Into This

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BorisS.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Like every album so far, this one's different from it's predecessors. The Cult's new album "Born Into This" often uses the 'less is more' philosophy in a good way. The same philosophy requires a couple of listening for a more serious scraping beneath the surface, where all the colors are (it's only a sign of maturity). After that, "Born Into This" can be Like every album so far, this one's different from it's predecessors. The Cult's new album "Born Into This" often uses the 'less is more' philosophy in a good way. The same philosophy requires a couple of listening for a more serious scraping beneath the surface, where all the colors are (it's only a sign of maturity). After that, "Born Into This" can be classified as their classic album which has a certificate for the test of time. Astbury and Duffy were looking for someone (a producer) who can successfully blend the essence of their music with what they've got in 2007. Martin "Youth" Glover managed to capture their energy and delivered a modern, direct and clear sound. Last album was being recorded for a year and a half. This one in only 36 days - it gave a perceivable freshness to the new material. The band kicked out all they had, recorded it while it's fresh and did a great job. The rhythm here is at the same time powerful and dynamic, a combination of bombastic feeling of "Sonic Temple" and the post-punk creativity of their early days (just listen to the track "Diamonds"). Expand
  2. MattM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Ignore em all - it`s raw and it rocks and it`ll grab you by the short and curlies and won`t let you go until the last riff of the last song ...buy it.
  3. EdS
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Kick ass return. Ian at times needs to just realize that he's not going to change the world. Chill out and let it fly. Other than that, this CD is a fantastic return. But then again, I loved Beyond Good and Evil as well. Billy absolutely kills throughout. 1 horseshit song and a few "so, so" songs. but the rest more than make up for those. When's the last time a CD gave you this Kick ass return. Ian at times needs to just realize that he's not going to change the world. Chill out and let it fly. Other than that, this CD is a fantastic return. But then again, I loved Beyond Good and Evil as well. Billy absolutely kills throughout. 1 horseshit song and a few "so, so" songs. but the rest more than make up for those. When's the last time a CD gave you this many songs that knock your ass back? Bravo boys. Bravo! Expand
  4. CliveL
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    This was a complete surprise. I didn't think much of the last few Cult albums at all. This one on the other hand is a joy to listen to. It Rocks!!! They are back on form.
  5. AluizioW
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Great record, with great work of bass, drums and vocals. I only don't give it a 10 because Billy Duffy (usually a genius) seems very lazy.
  6. SeanM
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Fantastic music. More melodic than the riff crunching heavy metal of Beyond Good and Evil, the album is dynamic and rocks solid.
  7. MikeN
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    A great effort by The Cult. This album is a blend of everything they have done well over the last 20 plus years. Some songs take you all the way back to "Dreamtime" while others move through "Electric" and into the modern sound. A raw rock and roll album full of great songs. The bonus CD is Killer by the way!!! Watch out for the mellow song. Its the only thing keeping this album from a 10.
  8. gregg.
    Oct 10, 2007
    6
    On the whole, the Cult--in particular Ian A--has produced some of the worst, nonsensical lyrics in all of rock. I will often turn down the music in the car so that my wife won't hear how bad some of the Cults lyrics are. Nevertheless, the Cult sound and its occasionally interesting choruses have made them one of my favorites. I was truly hoping that the new album would redeem them On the whole, the Cult--in particular Ian A--has produced some of the worst, nonsensical lyrics in all of rock. I will often turn down the music in the car so that my wife won't hear how bad some of the Cults lyrics are. Nevertheless, the Cult sound and its occasionally interesting choruses have made them one of my favorites. I was truly hoping that the new album would redeem them after their collapse following Sonic Temple. Born Into This had so much potential but it never quite got off the ground; however, after listening the cd a couple of times, it starting to grow on me a little. The problem is that their music just does not have the "feel" that made their music distinctive. Also, the recording just sounds grubby and the riffs are hard to discern. Ian A's voice sounds good but is hard to pin down a melody. Oddly the bonus CD is much better than the actual CD--the remix and demo recordings on the bonus are much better than the main album. Expand
  9. PetarM.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    Bravo!!!
  10. LizzardK.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Very good! Tiger In The Sun, I Assassin and Stand Alone are great!
  11. JonasK.
    Oct 19, 2007
    8
    A new Cult album is a GOOD thing. Well it may not always be 'great' but it is unwaveringly authentic, and actually this time the music stands proud. Hints of early post-punk and psychedelia. Aggressive punky beats and bass lines are refreshing. A few too many choruses seem contrived when they should have laid back a little - chord changes aren't always what one would hope. A new Cult album is a GOOD thing. Well it may not always be 'great' but it is unwaveringly authentic, and actually this time the music stands proud. Hints of early post-punk and psychedelia. Aggressive punky beats and bass lines are refreshing. A few too many choruses seem contrived when they should have laid back a little - chord changes aren't always what one would hope. But this CD has a real sense of identity and NO band could sound like this. Good-O lads. Expand
  12. JasonH
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    Really disliked this album.... at first. Now it's all I listen to. Let it spin people it will click. And when it does, you will be stoked.
  13. JohnC.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    somewhere between Electric and Sonic Temple. The Cult still rocks. Some of the tracks are outstanding, some pretty well and one or two disappointing. The production could have been more "raw", more like the demo versions on the complementary CD.
  14. RemoV
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    The songs are strong and fresh, Ian sounds awesome, my disappointment is in Billy's guitars, too buried and hard to define probably based on production, I hope to see Bob Rock back next time!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aside from the occasional flourish of their post-punk gothic past, most of the record is the dirtiest and heaviest hard rock they've recorded since the '80s.
  2. Astbury's voice is just as deep and earnest as it ever was and comes through like gangbusters on opener Born Into This, while Billy Duffy's guitar work is still as raw and dirty as it should be--clear indicators that the whole album doesn't give itself time for ego or pointless filler.
  3. With few real rockers, Born is more disappointing than it had to be.