Born On Flag Day

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born On Flag Day Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the rock band led by John J. McCauley III, now includes three new members.

Top Track

Smith Hill
Elbows on the window sill My head against the pane You've seen so many grow and die But you forgot most of their names So I fire that arrow into the... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The likes of "Little White Lies" (lost love as spirit death), "Straight Into a Storm" (found love as rock and roll life), and "Song About a Man" (grandpa) translate perfectly into their long-diddled dialect.
  2. From its swampy backwoods grooves to its alpha-male protagonists, Born on Flag Day is a fundamentally, rivetingly nostalgic album.
  3. Taken for what it is: strong folk leanings, with a sweet country shuffle, delivered with some of the best lyrics of the year, they all make for one brilliant combination.
  4. 70
    As deft revivalists of “country” in all its forms, the four guys in Deer Tick are entitled to wallow. Luckily, though, their second album delivers doses of pop buoyancy.
  5. Under The Radar
    Born On Flag Day is sure to be slightly damned by Deer Tick's earlier success; it's no radical step forward, but McCauley was already on a good path. [Summer 2009, p.74]
  6. Unlike "War Elephant," which resembled an indie band’s stab at country, Born On Flag Day suggests a headlong dive into the canon, with little irony and varying results.
  7. Deer Tick's primary shortcoming is that the band evokes authentically gutty music from the past without noticeably inserting much of themselves into the equation, achieving superficial mimesis and comforting recognition while failing to put their own stamp on their creations.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. WardT.
    Jun 26, 2009
    Pitchfork are a bunch of idiots. This is a great, gritty alt-country album, saturated with classic rock influences and touch of Pitchfork are a bunch of idiots. This is a great, gritty alt-country album, saturated with classic rock influences and touch of '50's rockabilly, simple but full of straight-from-the-heart songs, sung out loud. You cannot love this genre and not love this album. Come on, give it a try. Just because that tool Brian Williams likes them doesn't mean they're not actually great! And a bad review from Pitchfork - increasingly meaningless in general - must be taken with a grain of salt here, since the singer has openly called the website a "steaming pile of shit." After this review, it's hard not to see his point. Expand