• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 277

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    Dope, but repetitive album. J Cole hasn't progressed much as an artist or stepped out of his comfort zone which is a bit disappointing, but still solid. The lack of features and length make this album a little boring, for some reason I just can't get into it. It seems that with all the other big Hip-Hop releases coming out that are really pushing boundaries, this album may be forgottenDope, but repetitive album. J Cole hasn't progressed much as an artist or stepped out of his comfort zone which is a bit disappointing, but still solid. The lack of features and length make this album a little boring, for some reason I just can't get into it. It seems that with all the other big Hip-Hop releases coming out that are really pushing boundaries, this album may be forgotten quite quickly. Still Collapse
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    Only really a few good songs on this album that I would come back to. The production of this sounds as if a church congregation got together to make a rap album. Although I'm sure that is what J. Cole was going for, it just came off as bland to me.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    4
    Even at he's worst (which Born Sinner is), J Cole is better than 90 percent of rappers out there, but after this album has defiantly took him out of the top 5; terrible work, especially for talent as great as Cole.
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    J. Cole is a talented emcee. Unfortunately, Born Sinner isn't up to his standard. Gifted with a unique style, Cole doesn't need to copy any rapper. At times Sinner sounds like Take Care... but r&b/rap sound is better left to Drake. Cole struggles with this mellow sound, and doesn't have a natural singing voice. The times he is best on Born Sinner is when he is eating up beats and makingJ. Cole is a talented emcee. Unfortunately, Born Sinner isn't up to his standard. Gifted with a unique style, Cole doesn't need to copy any rapper. At times Sinner sounds like Take Care... but r&b/rap sound is better left to Drake. Cole struggles with this mellow sound, and doesn't have a natural singing voice. The times he is best on Born Sinner is when he is eating up beats and making bangers. This sound is almost nowhere to be found, and overall the album suffers because of it. I'm convinced that J. Cole has longevity in this game, but efforts like Born Sinner wont solidify him. Overall, Cole's second album lacks the energy of his first, has repetitive, boring production, and is below the par he set with Cole World. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Born Sinner reminded me of Kanye West's debut album The College Dropout. The production was very soulful and it worked in his favour. His album also tells a story we want to listen to which is evident in Crooked Smile, Let Nas Down and Chaining Day. However, I felt like there were a little too many fillers on the album that made the album seem repetitive. Nonetheless, it was an overall success.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    He’s certainly impressed with his flow, delivery and production, and while he hasn’t released the next golden hip hop album he’s coming close.
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    40
    There are some solid points buried deep down in the wreckage of Cole’s seven-bar pileup, but you’ll have to sift through a great, big, ambivalent pile of solecisms in order to get to them. As it turns out, that holds true for the vast majority of Born Sinner.
  3. Three years after his album should have put the "sideline" comments to rest, Cole’s still studying the traditional playbook from the bench, preferring to follow Nas’ bible than strike out on his own.