Born Sinner - J. Cole
Born Sinner Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the rapper features guest appearances from Amber Coffman, Miguel, and Kendrick Lamar.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Overall, Born Sinner is an impressive effort.
  2. Like Illmatic it eschews pop emoluments, and conceptually it's just as canny.
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    "Crooked Smile" with special guests TLC is a genuine, mature step in the right direction and will have no trouble reaching vintage age. A handful of other numbers carry that same weight, making Born Sinner a daring step forward for Cole and an exciting attempt at mastering Jay's Blueprint style.
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    The flawed set is buoyed by its clear vision and diverse musicality.
  5. If Born Sinner proves anything, it’s that he’s not ready to take the fall, but he as a long way to go if he wants to rope off an area all his own in hip hop’s evolution.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    63
    Cole's not an especially charismatic MC, but he has a welcome self-awareness and good taste in backdrops.
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    40
    There are some solid points buried deep down in the wreckage of Cole’s seven-bar pileup, but you’ll have to sift through a great, big, ambivalent pile of solecisms in order to get to them. As it turns out, that holds true for the vast majority of Born Sinner.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 91
  2. Negative: 5 out of 91
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Huge step up from his debut album Cole World: The Sideline Story, production and lyric wise. Best HIP HOP album dropping onAmazing album. Huge step up from his debut album Cole World: The Sideline Story, production and lyric wise. Best HIP HOP album dropping on June 18th. Support the man! Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This will be a clasic Hip Hop album and the future of Hip Hop is looking brighter. In a world of what I call "ignorant rap" i.e. anything madeThis will be a clasic Hip Hop album and the future of Hip Hop is looking brighter. In a world of what I call "ignorant rap" i.e. anything made by 2Chaniz it is nice to get someone who is taking their time to work on their craft and actually sit down and WRITE their lyrics down and it shows in this album that JC is true to Hip-Hop and it's culture. One of the most surprising songs on the album was "Chaining Day" There is line in that song that touches the trueness of what buying these "Chains" really means. Buy this album! Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Production was topnotch. Storytelling was incredible. Cole's flow and bars were very impressive. Nice to have an album you can play throughProduction was topnotch. Storytelling was incredible. Cole's flow and bars were very impressive. Nice to have an album you can play through the end and not want to skip songs. major improvement from Cole World. Cole really delivers. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    It really is an astounding from the crap that comes out of the Hip-Hop/Rap industry these days. J. Cole's first effort was very limited and heIt really is an astounding from the crap that comes out of the Hip-Hop/Rap industry these days. J. Cole's first effort was very limited and he took the world by charge when his album was #1 when it released. So, it was just another mainstream rap album with a new voice behind a mic. But not with Born Sinner, JC's most anticipated sophomore albu (for me atleast). The reason why i was so hyped for this album was this rapper was given more freedom this time around, and i knew he would deliver. Now i'm not going to lie, the beats used in this album don't partically attune to the style of rap i listen to, but i know the work that was put into this album and this is J.COLES album. J.Coles RAP album. And it is definitley an album RAP needs. Maybe there is hope, for the rare occurences of good music that come sof the genre these days. 9/10 Excellent. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    This album is one that you have to find a nice seat and some decent headphones for and it's worth it! At time it can be a little heavy, butThis album is one that you have to find a nice seat and some decent headphones for and it's worth it! At time it can be a little heavy, but it's honest. The weight of his convictions about hip hop are real, and I respect that...a lot. Take the time and understand his metaphorical analogies throughout the record.

    I loved this album. It remains my favorite album to listen to. I've sat down and listened to the whole thing over and over because I just love it. It will never get old to me, it's a classic.
    Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Listened to the album back to front decent album highlights are land of the snakes rich runaway ant that some interlude cooked smile andListened to the album back to front decent album highlights are land of the snakes rich runaway ant that some interlude cooked smile and sparks will fly Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The same old music from J Cole. The same old. Nothing new here folks. Sorry but this album is trashy. It seems like the songs are left overThe same old music from J Cole. The same old. Nothing new here folks. Sorry but this album is trashy. It seems like the songs are left over from the sideline story.........next time maybe? Expand

See all 91 User Reviews