User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1013 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    Simply a perfect album. There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire. I can't understand why it didn't get a better metascore. The album is probably the best of the decade. I haven't heard pop genius like this since MJ or Mad. It's INCREDIBLE!!!
  2. May 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best pop albums that I heard and i am not joking! "Born This Way" offers something that not most of the pop albums deliver: Variety! If you like pop in all of his glory, this is your album.
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it!
  4. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to beThe hype was worth it. Lady GaGa's Born This Way is a marvelous record. She sings her heart out in every song. Simply AMAZING! There are no stand-out tracks on the album, each and every song is great and could be a potential single. Weather she is singing about religion, love, fighting for equal rights or fighting for your own identity, she always makes sure that your going to be comfortable listening to it. Expand
  5. May 23, 2011
    10
    I didn't think it was possible to improve on The Fame Monster, but Lady GaGa has managed to do just that. This is a brilliant album, dark, dancy and loud. This will be considered one of the greatest albums of all time.
  6. May 23, 2011
    10
    Great album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy MetalGreat album for old Gaga fans and for new ones too! Her music is now so much different so if you are fan who only likes "disco-pop" music you maybe won't like this. Born This Way's songs are heavy-rock-dance-electronic-trance mixtures and it works damn good :D For me this album is awesome! Almost every song could be big hit (Government Hooker, Marry The Night, Bad Kids, Heavy Metal Lover...) Still some songs are kinda boring when there isn't that catchy melody which would make you listen it more and more after the first time. First when I heard album I thought it was good, but not great...Then I listened more those songs and fall in love! :D

    Buy, it's worth it.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundlessLady GaGa gave an exceptional album. It sounds so different in a good way from her previous work. The lyrics are so inspiring and themes like be yourself, betrayal, self esteem and identity is themes that are generation struggle for. The music is marvelous, it makes you dance or cry (i.e. The Edge of Glory). The GaGa phenomenon is the new type of reality and its characteristic boundless freedom. Not only album of 2011 or the decade or anything else it is the album of our generation and it is definitely part of it since MJ, Madonna, Mariah Carey described and marked their generation and continue to be, "Born This Way" is excellency and the '10s a have a good start. Congratulations! Expand
  8. May 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely perfect. A beautiful and perfect album, thank you Gaga! Amazing, not boring, incredible, fantastic! The TRIUMPH of sounds! There isn't a track on this record that is a misfire.
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    My favorite album by Gaga! I love the different genres Gaga explores in this album, flaunting her musical diversity. There's not one song from the 17 tracks on this album that I DON'T like. Give it a listen, you won't regret it!
  10. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    AMAZING album. I know all the lyrics and the choruses are really catchy. Every song has a beautiful story or a strong self-empowering message. Truly one of the best pop albums of all times!
  11. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Como amo este album! es el mejor que he escuchado de Gaga, en este album fluyen muchas emociones al pasar por las canciones, sin duda un album epico que no pasa desapercibido! Good Job Gaga
  12. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This album is great from start to finish. I actually agree it is the album of the decade (2010-2011). I haven't heard an album I like more than this one, to be honest. Negative reviews for the album are completely ridiculous to me. Either the person does not like this genre of music or they have a biased opinion against Lady Gaga. Every song sounds completely different from the next withThis album is great from start to finish. I actually agree it is the album of the decade (2010-2011). I haven't heard an album I like more than this one, to be honest. Negative reviews for the album are completely ridiculous to me. Either the person does not like this genre of music or they have a biased opinion against Lady Gaga. Every song sounds completely different from the next with each containing the high production value and song writing you would expect from Gaga. The album's first half is more modern sounding dance tracks while the later half has more of a 80/90's and rock influence. Excellent! Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    First at all, yes; Born This Way had very hype before the release and this is the worst thing that Lady Gaga made in this work.

    The first time that you listen the album is totally "creep" and even you felt disappointed. But two more times is enough to see the magnificence of Born This Way. All the records are different, the variety is the point of this album and this is GOOD. The other
    First at all, yes; Born This Way had very hype before the release and this is the worst thing that Lady Gaga made in this work.

    The first time that you listen the album is totally "creep" and even you felt disappointed. But two more times is enough to see the magnificence of Born This Way.

    All the records are different, the variety is the point of this album and this is GOOD. The other point is that sound totally different that others pop album releases in this year. Also Born This Way show the very good and strong vocal attitude of Gaga.
    I love so much this work, and I think that much better than The Fame and only slightly below The Fame Monster.

    The best songs on the album are Born This Way (strange the first time but much better in time, people that disappointed Gaga like this song, this is the test), The Edge of Glory (the best song of Gaga ever, even better than Speechless. Very heavy to say) and finally Hair (a powerfull record).
    An the other songs that can be single are, Marry the Night, Scheibe, Bloody Mary, Yoü and I and Heavy Metal Lover.

    All them amazing.


    PD: People that said Just Dance is the better Gaga's song have no idea of music.
    Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs are amazing. This album is as dark as the fame monster. Gaga proved that she can sing all the genres, no only pop. One of my favorites by far.
  15. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    So inspirational. Album of the decade. IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  16. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Very good album! I like it very much, especially ''Americano'', ScheiBe, ''Fashion Of His Love'' and ''You And I''. I really like it!. I can't wait for Gaga's next album!!
  17. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    A very good album with a wide range of rhythms, ranging from pop to rock stickier most representative, with nods towards electronics more delicious and juicy.
  18. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This is conceptually Gaga's best album yet. It fluids very well from start to finish. It's definitely something very different from Gaga's previous work, it's a bit more ambitious but in different areas. It's something you really don't see these days and I'm talking about the overall "dated" sound, almost all of the songs contain a bit more mature and confusing lyrics, it's just notThis is conceptually Gaga's best album yet. It fluids very well from start to finish. It's definitely something very different from Gaga's previous work, it's a bit more ambitious but in different areas. It's something you really don't see these days and I'm talking about the overall "dated" sound, almost all of the songs contain a bit more mature and confusing lyrics, it's just not something pop stars usually do. What I'm trying to say is "I want your love and I want your revenge, you and me could write a bad romance" is much more accessible and understandable than "I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment of truth. I'm on the edge of glory and I'm hanging on a moment with you" What does that even mean? Not saying that it's a bad song, 'cause is not at all, i'm saying that this isn't your typical 12 songs bubble gum carefree pop star album. It's something more risky and complicated to digest, a very good body of work. That being said... Can a pop star survive with an album like this? Specially these days when it's so easy to call a hit-maker to make you a 3 minutes fun ready-for-the-clubs smash. There is more commercial competition these days than other musicians had to deal even 10 years ago. But then again Lady Gaga seems committed in stay far away for the pop star stereotype. You can just tell she wants transcend in Pop Culture so while Born This Way is a more worked record it may fail in giving her longevity. She doesn't need more polarisation. I'm very excited and interested to hear her next album an artist like her has so much potential and she's more talented talented than her peers but sometimes hard work beats talented. It doesn't matter how good a song, a video, a album is, if nobody hears it, if nobody remembers it: then it's not worthy. Expand
  19. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Outstanding. She took a huge risk and it paid off. Gaga is truly ahead of her time artistically, don't be fooled by the people who say the title track sounds like express yourself because it sure as hell doesn't. It's utterly exceptional and has explored something more than just conventional pop and takes on a much deeper meaning, and not one that applies to more than just her fans. YouOutstanding. She took a huge risk and it paid off. Gaga is truly ahead of her time artistically, don't be fooled by the people who say the title track sounds like express yourself because it sure as hell doesn't. It's utterly exceptional and has explored something more than just conventional pop and takes on a much deeper meaning, and not one that applies to more than just her fans. You don't have to like it but you certainly have to listen to it. They are the kind of tracks that you can listen to everyday for a year and then one day you hear something new that makes you fall in love with them all over again. Both aurally and visually it has the power to make every other female star instantly look dated. Expand
  20. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    One of the biggest and most meanful album of all the time! This is not just for fun,this is for thinking! And the songs are great musically..The album is about breaking the boundries of social life,pop and art!!
  21. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    The BEST Album of the history, Judas, Born This Way, Marry the Night, Hair, The Edge of Glory, Black Jesus, You and I, so perfect! GaGa is so perfect, my favorite album. No more questions, GaGa is the new queen.
  22. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    Compare Lady Gaga's career to the Bible, 'The Fame' being Christmas (birth), 'The Fame Monster' being Easter (resurrection, but nobody died) and 'Born This Way' being The Second Coming. This album is so important, so grand, so good, so well made and so meaningful to millions it really is Biblical.
  23. May 28, 2012
    9
    A Powerful Album!
    Unforgetable This Album Has Gotten Slammed Alot! I Have No Clue Why.. Its Simply Amazing
    Hair Should Be A Single!
  24. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    A formidable effort by Lady Gaga. While the hype of the "Greatest Album Of The Decade" may not prove to be true, Gaga produced a rock-thrilled album where each song is brought to perfection.

    Songs that stood out for me were Edge Of Glory, Marry The Night, and Bloody Mary, while Bad Kids seemed a bit out of place. Nonetheless, some songs come over a bit too overproduced, however the
    A formidable effort by Lady Gaga. While the hype of the "Greatest Album Of The Decade" may not prove to be true, Gaga produced a rock-thrilled album where each song is brought to perfection.

    Songs that stood out for me were Edge Of Glory, Marry The Night, and Bloody Mary, while Bad Kids seemed a bit out of place.
    Nonetheless, some songs come over a bit too overproduced, however the album's shining moments cloud over anything.

    Definitely worth a listen to, or even to put on repeat, and I am looking forward to listening to her next album.
    Expand
  25. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    An excellent album, although on the whole I feel it's a bit weaker than The Fame Monster. There are some songs that get tiring to listen to too often - Highway Unicorn and Bad Kids are almost TOO full of happy pop "be yourself" vibes, and Government Hooker's beat is so dirty that it can only be tolerated in small doses. This is more than balanced out by the absolutely incredible Marry TheAn excellent album, although on the whole I feel it's a bit weaker than The Fame Monster. There are some songs that get tiring to listen to too often - Highway Unicorn and Bad Kids are almost TOO full of happy pop "be yourself" vibes, and Government Hooker's beat is so dirty that it can only be tolerated in small doses. This is more than balanced out by the absolutely incredible Marry The Night, Electric Chapel, and Scheisse - Marry The Night may be the only one of those to get any single play, but they're all beautiful examples of what Lady Gaga is capable of. The rest of the album isn't a slouch either. The sounds have more variety than The Fame Monster while still having a consistant euro-inspired feel to the dancey tracks, and a whole lot of Gaga's soul on the more emotional tracks. Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    I can see how this album would confuse many people. It has several tracks which bring back classic sounds, but it also, at the same time, has tracks that sound modern and tracks that sound like nothing that would ever be on the radio. Lady GaGa is brilliant in being able to master all of these sounds and using her vocal capabilities to make these tracks sound both complete and fresh. SheI can see how this album would confuse many people. It has several tracks which bring back classic sounds, but it also, at the same time, has tracks that sound modern and tracks that sound like nothing that would ever be on the radio. Lady GaGa is brilliant in being able to master all of these sounds and using her vocal capabilities to make these tracks sound both complete and fresh. She uses the sounds of the eighties in songs such as "Born This Way" and "Fashion Of His Love," but despite this, the songs sound very modern and would still sound good on radio today. Tracks such as "Bloody Mary" and "Heavy Metal Lover" would never be played on radio, but again, they sound great on this album of 2011. Lady GaGa knows what she is doing, and this album is definitely not a mistake, and it rises above the mediocre level of many of today's albums. Expand
  27. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This album (though it was over-hyped before it came out) is fantastic. The production for most of the songs is similar, but they in no way sound the same. It's quite a versatile album in both sound and meaning actually. I have a feeling that in 10 years, people will look back and regret that they gave this album such little recognition. The fact that Born This Way has a lower userThis album (though it was over-hyped before it came out) is fantastic. The production for most of the songs is similar, but they in no way sound the same. It's quite a versatile album in both sound and meaning actually. I have a feeling that in 10 years, people will look back and regret that they gave this album such little recognition. The fact that Born This Way has a lower user score than her first two albums at the moment is unbelievable. This is a far more mature album, both lyrically and musically, yet perhaps even more fun and carefree in a sense. Expand
  28. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    The best of her album, all the songs are good, literally all, an album with quality and great vocals, the pop world needs more albums like this, so good I have no words to say about it.
    Highlights: Scheibe and Government Hooker
    Lows: Bloody Mary and Black Jesus Amen Fashion
  29. May 27, 2011
    10
    Extraordinary album. So deformed, intense, powerful and strange as the same Lady Gaga. It is a work of authorship, a masterpiece full of unforgettable songs with memories of the seventies and eighties passed through the filter cool. Lady Gaga promised a masterpiece ... and she did when everyone doubted I could do at 25 years. This album is indispensable for any lover of music and basic inExtraordinary album. So deformed, intense, powerful and strange as the same Lady Gaga. It is a work of authorship, a masterpiece full of unforgettable songs with memories of the seventies and eighties passed through the filter cool. Lady Gaga promised a masterpiece ... and she did when everyone doubted I could do at 25 years. This album is indispensable for any lover of music and basic in contemporary pop. Lady Gaga is a genius. And this album is one of the many reasons for this truth. Expand
  30. May 28, 2011
    10
    This Album is much different then her two previous works. There really are no bubblegum pop tracks like there was on "The Fame" and the only song reminiscent of "Monster" is the track "Judas" for its Bad Romance-esque style. Everything else about the music on this album is different. Which is an improvement since it shows Gaga's versatility in different styles of music. The messages areThis Album is much different then her two previous works. There really are no bubblegum pop tracks like there was on "The Fame" and the only song reminiscent of "Monster" is the track "Judas" for its Bad Romance-esque style. Everything else about the music on this album is different. Which is an improvement since it shows Gaga's versatility in different styles of music. The messages are also deeper than they were in her other works, also a good thing, and makes this album culturally relevant. The album is full of anthems, so if that is your thing you will love it. Some people don't like this album for the fact that it's not like "The Fame" but "Born This Way" truly shows the growth and maturity of Lady Gaga's Writing ability that was absent on "The Fame." A great Album overall. Recomended Tracks: Government Hooker, Americano, SheiBe, Bloody Marry, Electric Chapel, and You and I. Expand
  31. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    This is the most meaningfull album she has out this far. She believes in it, so do her little monsters. Broke a World record with Born This Way, fastest selling single in Itunes history, a title , she will have for a very, very long time.
  32. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    "Oops.... Lady Gaga do it again". She can sing, she can write... she can all! Although some songs sound polluted, over half the album and get over it shows the potential of voice. Is undoubtedly one of the albums of the year ... do not expect any "Fame Monster, " but here we have another great job
  33. May 28, 2011
    10
    Wonderfu, Awesome, amazing, can not find words to describe this cd. Great songs, deep lyrics, this album is in a higher degree, much better than her previous ones. Simply a masterpiece
  34. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a Pop masterpiece that breaks through many societal barriers. The albums if filled with tracks that vary in musical content- songs like "You and I", "The Edge of Glory", and "The Queen" add a more mature sound to this Pop icon. Tracks like "Americano", "Government Hooker", "Bloody Mary", "Electric Chapel", "Black Jesus", and the three tracks previously mentioned travelBorn This Way is a Pop masterpiece that breaks through many societal barriers. The albums if filled with tracks that vary in musical content- songs like "You and I", "The Edge of Glory", and "The Queen" add a more mature sound to this Pop icon. Tracks like "Americano", "Government Hooker", "Bloody Mary", "Electric Chapel", "Black Jesus", and the three tracks previously mentioned travel beyond today's standard Pop vibes- they add something new to the realm of the Pop industry. And to tie this with a golden knot, some tracks like "Judas" "Bloody Mary" and "The Queen" have complex lyrics that prove that Gaga is more than just some pop Princess writing about love. Expand
  35. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    The album features influences Heavy Metal, Disco, Glam Rock. The vocals are perfect, the lyrics are a challenge, the melody is incredible. Gaga has brought us something really good and different.
  36. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Pretentious, yes. Innovative, no. Different and unapologetic yet pushing buttons and standing on it's own platform. YES. 'Born This Way' may have been an overhyped piece of overproduced music coming with your side of gaga sounding like a preachy incomplete transformer, but it does stick to it's theme and does what only a few other albums have been able to do this year. Stray away from thePretentious, yes. Innovative, no. Different and unapologetic yet pushing buttons and standing on it's own platform. YES. 'Born This Way' may have been an overhyped piece of overproduced music coming with your side of gaga sounding like a preachy incomplete transformer, but it does stick to it's theme and does what only a few other albums have been able to do this year. Stray away from the trend. The album has it's gems [Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Hair, Bloody Mary] and it has it downfalls [Judas, Americano, **** Black Jesus]. All in all, it's pop music in many different forms. It's appealing to all audiences especially with it's central theme of freedom, however the message along with a lot of the music get's lost. Still one of the best pop albums of the last 5 years I must say. Expand
  37. May 27, 2011
    9
    Overall, I enjoyed the journey through the album. I think 'Marry the Night' and 'The Edge of Glory' were the perfect songs to begin and end it, respectively. In between the two, there were definitely more standout tracks than there were forgettable ones. A few songs from the album including, 'Black Jesus + Amen Fashion' and 'Fashion of His Love' probably could have been left out of theOverall, I enjoyed the journey through the album. I think 'Marry the Night' and 'The Edge of Glory' were the perfect songs to begin and end it, respectively. In between the two, there were definitely more standout tracks than there were forgettable ones. A few songs from the album including, 'Black Jesus + Amen Fashion' and 'Fashion of His Love' probably could have been left out of the bonus track version without losing the integrity of the album. But that being said, her vocals soared in multiple songs, whether it be operatic, disco, or Eighties sounding.

    Lyrically, it was refreshing to not hear about being in a club, getting drunk, or partying of which the Billboard Hot 100 has a lot (not putting a negative connotation on them of course, just saying). They were empowering, personal, and personable lyrics. Sure, there were some weak tracks, but the journey through the album is something that contemporary pop albums lack sometimes.
    Expand
  38. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    thought pjharvey would have made it, but nah, BORN this WAY, is the album of the year 2011. so far... i'm absolutely in love with every song, well 2 or 3 off, but they are on the deluxe edition anyway.
    Heavy metal Lover and Passion of his Love: GREAT songS!!!!!!
  39. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Hell yes, this is an album that sould be listed among the best of this year!!!This album is totally different from her previous album, and that's what artists should do!!!Explore new ground and find new ideas that will bring you ear-orgasm, and Gaga surely delivers that at the maximum point!Every song is a highlight on its own in this album, an album that breaks music boundaries the wayHell yes, this is an album that sould be listed among the best of this year!!!This album is totally different from her previous album, and that's what artists should do!!!Explore new ground and find new ideas that will bring you ear-orgasm, and Gaga surely delivers that at the maximum point!Every song is a highlight on its own in this album, an album that breaks music boundaries the way only Gaga can do!!! Expand
  40. May 27, 2011
    9
    Born This Way is an amazing record full of meaning, quality and variety. If you wanna raise your self-esteem you should listen this album. The songs are not as catchy as the previous ones but they will grown on you after every time you listen to them.

    Songs review: Marry The Night: 10/10 Born This Way: 10/10 Government Hooker: 7/10 Judas: 9/10 Americano: 6/10 Hair: 8/10
    Born This Way is an amazing record full of meaning, quality and variety. If you wanna raise your self-esteem you should listen this album. The songs are not as catchy as the previous ones but they will grown on you after every time you listen to them.

    Songs review:

    Marry The Night: 10/10
    Born This Way: 10/10
    Government Hooker: 7/10
    Judas: 9/10
    Americano: 6/10
    Hair: 8/10
    Scheisse: 9/10
    Bloody Mary: 10/10
    Bad Kids: 9/10
    Highway Unicorn: 8/10
    Heavy Metal Lover: 8/10
    Electric Chapel: 10/10
    Yoü & I: 10/10
    The Edge Of Glory: 10/10
    Expand
  41. May 29, 2011
    10
    This album definitely lives up to the hype: With massive promo wormldwide, 'Born This Way' was the most anticipated album in years. I believe Lady Gaga has done the impossible by actually making true what she had promised. Best songs:

    Heavy Metal Lover
    Scheisse
    Born This Way
    Judas Marry The Night
    Black Jesus / Amen Fashion
    Highway Unicorn
    Electric Chapel

    Growers:

    The Queen
    Fashion of His Love
  42. May 27, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect, this album makes the fans feel like superstars and thats why its just so amazing. My favorite tracks are Bloody Mary(its so odd, but it makes it unique) and Black Jesus+Amen Fashion.
  43. May 29, 2011
    9
    TFM left Gaga with a very hard act to follow, not to mention she did kinda blow her own trumpet stating this album was going to be the greatest pop record of the decade (!)

    BTW is having a fairly rough time with critics (and may I just say, typically the older ones finding it a little harder to grasp), IMO unfairly so. Reading many reviews, it almost seems like there is a fear of how much
    TFM left Gaga with a very hard act to follow, not to mention she did kinda blow her own trumpet stating this album was going to be the greatest pop record of the decade (!)

    BTW is having a fairly rough time with critics (and may I just say, typically the older ones finding it a little harder to grasp), IMO unfairly so. Reading many reviews, it almost seems like there is a fear of how much influence and power Gaga is getting, so some are coming down hard in an attempt to burst her bubble.

    The album is genuinely catchy, intoxicatingly so even! Its very rare for me to actually listen to an album through and honestly not wish a track or two didnt exist, I absolutely love every single track on BTW!

    Also Id like to note that many reviewers feel obliged to point out the similarities of the title track and some point blank calling Gaga a fake and a rip off. If you watch the video to the track, about 20 seconds from the end she stares into the camera with the iconic Madge teeth - it all seems very deliberate to me! Even the some of the most harshest critics dont deny Gaga has talent, so why on earth would she resort to plagiarism after 1 album! The track BTW clearly has its similarities to Express yourself, as far as I can see it was a very obvious nod to Madonna - not an attempt to rip anything off.

    BTW will get many many plays, honestly not been as taken with an album in a very very long time. Congrats Gaga
    Expand
  44. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Gaga gives us awesome songs in her new album. In my opinion, even though some songs are irrelevant and skipped, %80 are being listened and ADORED. Some of her songs are electronic, some are pop, some are heavy-pop, some are rock but none of them falls apart when it comes to concept and general feeling. I'm definitely not disappointed.
  45. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The album of the decade. Every song stands out by itself. The album is a piece of art that should be heard as a whole. Lady Gaga has amazing vocals and shows it in the record.
  46. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    This is a great album .the only thing we have to do is just to listen it . Gaga has a fabulous voice and in these months we are witnessing it in different television programs around the world France, Japan, Italy, United States.The acoustic versions are doing is showing how talented as a singer Beyonce has already said a few days ago: lady gaga is a talent west unico.kanye said Born thisThis is a great album .the only thing we have to do is just to listen it . Gaga has a fabulous voice and in these months we are witnessing it in different television programs around the world France, Japan, Italy, United States.The acoustic versions are doing is showing how talented as a singer Beyonce has already said a few days ago: lady gaga is a talent west unico.kanye said Born this way deserves a note outstanding. Adele also said he loves Gaga. Be constructive and not to hate people either jealousy or something else and by that I mean the Tiny Mix Tapes criticism . Expand
  47. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Needless to say, awesome album. Tiny Mix Tapes is obviously unprofessional and biased to give it a zero, especially when almost every other review disagrees with it. Those who hate this album are just prejudiced against mainstream music and are very bigoted about it, or they believe those dumb rumours of Lady Gaga being Satanic when they have no hard evidence. Period.
  48. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    While not Gaga's best work, this is a great album on its own merits featuring some groovy beats and sensational (and controversial) lyrics. And probably one of the best pop albums released this year.
  49. May 27, 2011
    10
    Lady GaGa aka Pop Queen 2011, may have taken a giant leap away from her previous album , The Fame, towards the music of Far East Movement, she still manages to make some outstanding music. From the thumping Dance Songs 'Judas', 'Marry the Night' and 'SchieBe' to the soft delicate 'You and I' GaGa aims to please, and Succeeds.
  50. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    The most awaited album of 2011 has arrived! Though the top tracks like "Fashion Of His Love" and "Black Jesus + Amen Fashion" were only on the Special Edition, the album itself is worthy of the title of ALBUM OF 2011. It brings back the 80s vibe and saxophones are present throughout the album. The highlights of the album are "Hair", "SheiÃ
  51. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Compared to the previous two albums, and the hype up to this one it is a real let down. This album unlike "The Fame" (2008), and "The Fame Monster" (2009) it acutally has songs that need burned. The first album, and second realeses both saw the entire album having good really songs. This is something you won't find on "Born This Way" (2011)! Songs that should be burnt, and have not made itCompared to the previous two albums, and the hype up to this one it is a real let down. This album unlike "The Fame" (2008), and "The Fame Monster" (2009) it acutally has songs that need burned. The first album, and second realeses both saw the entire album having good really songs. This is something you won't find on "Born This Way" (2011)! Songs that should be burnt, and have not made it on the album include "Black Jesus + Amen Fashion", and "SheiBe". While it has others that are just decent like "The Queen", "Electric Chaple", "Fashion Of His Love", "Government Hooker", and more. While the standout tracks include "Born This Way", "Americano", "Bad Kids", "You And I", "The Edge Of Glory", "Hair", "Highway Unicorn (Road To Love)", "Heavy Metal Lover", and my personal favorite Lady Gaga song of all time "Judas". However it has equally good and bad moments, when it's good, it is phenominal! Expand
  52. May 29, 2011
    9
    Other than "Born This Way", which is way too similar to Madonna's 1989 single "Express Yourself", every song is fantastic. "Judas" and "The Edge of Glory" are brilliant.
  53. May 23, 2011
    10
    14 EARWORMS. Her music has totally evolved and the diversity of this monster provides music for everyone. It's a brave and proper step and though it is clear that this is not (yet) "album of the decade", only time will tell. Just settle yourself for the biggest pop rollercoaster ride Gaga has ever conceived. A masterpiece.
  54. May 23, 2011
    10
    A very strong effort. It goes in a lot of different directions. Gaga is clearly still trying to harness her creativity, and she's getting there slowly but surely. The sheer amount of new music here - over 70 minutes with the bonus tracks - is impressive, and there are no filler tracks. She misses the mark a couple times (Bad Kids, Hair), but she scores many more times (Marry The Night,A very strong effort. It goes in a lot of different directions. Gaga is clearly still trying to harness her creativity, and she's getting there slowly but surely. The sheer amount of new music here - over 70 minutes with the bonus tracks - is impressive, and there are no filler tracks. She misses the mark a couple times (Bad Kids, Hair), but she scores many more times (Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Americano, Scheibe, Electric Chapel). Highly recommend for any pop/dance music fan. Expand
  55. May 28, 2011
    9
    Those who criticize that we the fans give it high scores because we're fans are just ignorant, we like her music so we gave her high scores, fan or not if you like the album then you high scores, its just that simple. I have to say I have my doubts at first because I'm surprised that she actually chose to go for the artist creative album this early in her career, at first I thought it wasThose who criticize that we the fans give it high scores because we're fans are just ignorant, we like her music so we gave her high scores, fan or not if you like the album then you high scores, its just that simple. I have to say I have my doubts at first because I'm surprised that she actually chose to go for the artist creative album this early in her career, at first I thought it was career suicide but after I heard Born This Way... I feel stupid for even doubting her. This album will not appeal for those wishing to listen to just pure top 40 radio songs, it's not a mainstream album by any pop definition. She's an artist that wishes to experiments and grow during her career, this album is the result. It's definitely not album of the decade by any chance, but it's definitely a great pop album. It strays far from her roots and at times she is trying to hard in this album to please any fans possible, but at least she tries. Most of it were awesome, themes ranging from self-empowerment, immigrants, appreciate life and others positive theme. It definitely have a more gothic lyrics in this album, the chorus of the whole album can be repetitive at times but it's only a minor problem. If you find yourself liking this album then I think you have no problem agreeing that for an 'artist creative' album, this is one damn good pop album. Expand
  56. May 23, 2011
    10
    The sound of the whole album is very coherent, although some lyrics maybe not. For the campaign of this album, it's just massive! It's literally everywhere, and that might a factor that drives some new fans away since they are just done with all the promos, posters and ads that are everywhere they look. For the songs, they are very good. Lyrics might be cheesy, but it's pop, it's supposedThe sound of the whole album is very coherent, although some lyrics maybe not. For the campaign of this album, it's just massive! It's literally everywhere, and that might a factor that drives some new fans away since they are just done with all the promos, posters and ads that are everywhere they look. For the songs, they are very good. Lyrics might be cheesy, but it's pop, it's supposed to be that way. This album has a very clear rock-influenced. My order of favorites: You and I, Edge of Glory, Hair, Judas, Scheisse, Americano, Government Hooker, Heavy Metal Lover, Bloody Mary, Born This Way, Bad Kids, Marry the Night, Highway Unicorn (Road to Love), Electric Chapel, Fashion of His Love, Black Jesus Amen Fashion, The Queen. Collapse
  57. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is a very great album. It sound strange but very good. It shows us another side of Lady Gaga, more powerful and better. "Blood Mary" , "The edge of glory" is the best song of this album. I love it. I love Lady Gaga.(10.0)
  58. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    The best album I've ever heard! Mother Monster has totally overcome herself! THE ALBUM OF THE DECADE. is the anthem of our generation and I will always remeber I WAS BORN THIS WAY! so congratulations, Gaga you did it!
  59. May 23, 2011
    10
    Most definitely gaga's best work to date. I'm so sick of albums being hyped up to the point where they aren't enjoyable anymore. I was starting to doubt the greatness of 'Born This Way' until i actually heard it. It is truly beautiful! Very big variety while staying with Gaga's signature sound. I cannot choose any favorite(s) tracks because all songs are equally good. very consistent. IMost definitely gaga's best work to date. I'm so sick of albums being hyped up to the point where they aren't enjoyable anymore. I was starting to doubt the greatness of 'Born This Way' until i actually heard it. It is truly beautiful! Very big variety while staying with Gaga's signature sound. I cannot choose any favorite(s) tracks because all songs are equally good. very consistent. I LOVE GAGA AND I WAS BORN THIS WAY. Expand
  60. May 23, 2011
    10
    This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the abilityThis album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Overall a great album, and definitely worth the hype Expand
  61. May 23, 2011
    10
    She certainly is a Heavy Metal Lover. This is the best album of 2011 so far! i love lady gaga she deserves to take over the world with tunes this awe-inspiring!
  62. May 23, 2011
    10
    Wonderful Album. My favorite songs are Government Hooker, Born This Way, Judas, Hair, The edge of glory. Every song is perfect. Just can't stop replay.
  63. May 23, 2011
    10
    17 Songs, 17 great Pop Tracks... in this album you can find an amount of ideas that could be enough for 5 albums by any other pop singer. And then you have a real singer. If you have to hear talking about a record for one year and a half, that's exactly what you want to listen to.
  64. May 23, 2011
    10
    I can't say any word except FANTASTIC!!!!!!!, keep it up Gaga......!!!!!
    every songs are addicting and gave me an eargasm I luv this album more than her previous album
  65. May 24, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a spectacular album. It's been decades since a pop album of this caliber has been released. In some ways, it feels very familiar and retro. At the same time though, it feels totally fresh and almost alien at times. Elements of different genres and influences from decades past come together in unique ways to create songs that defy categorization. Electric Chapel is a sweet,Born This Way is a spectacular album. It's been decades since a pop album of this caliber has been released. In some ways, it feels very familiar and retro. At the same time though, it feels totally fresh and almost alien at times. Elements of different genres and influences from decades past come together in unique ways to create songs that defy categorization. Electric Chapel is a sweet, mellow pop track with 80s rock/metal instrumentals. Bloody Mary is a spooky cool mid-tempo electro ballad told from the perspective of the ghost of Mary Magdalene. Sheisse sounds like an early 90s concept of a "futuristic" song, with bizarre screams and faux-German chants mixed with a great beat and one hell of a chorus. The Edge Of Glory sounds like one of the best 80s power ballads of all time. It just took an extra 25 years to be written. All in all, this is one of the most memorable, eclectic, catchy, and frenetic pop albums in recent memory. It's a must-have for any pop fan. Expand
  66. May 24, 2011
    10
    I love it! every songs are single worthy, it's different from her previous work. definitely her best work yet, and one of the best album ever. definitely worth every penny.
  67. May 24, 2011
    10
    For this, her latest masterpiece, "Born This Way" was indeed born out of her. It's everything GaGa, from the star to beginning it is all fully her.
  68. May 25, 2011
    10
    Buen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con este album Gaga me ha impresionado va por el camino correcto ...No es el album de la decada pero si es Un Muy buen album POP ..
  69. May 24, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed that gaga changed her musical style on this album , The great pop-rock techno feel is great . I Enjoyed this album ALOT more than the fame and almost as much as the fame MonsTer
    Recommended this album to anyone wants an 80's feeling album and if your're a fan of Gaga
  70. May 25, 2011
    10
    10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun and smart. I love it and its definitely on my FAVOURITE RECORDS OF ALL TIME-list. Expand
  71. May 24, 2011
    10
    This album has something special. She sings with her heart and emotions, she wrote the whole album. It DOES have a meaning. The way she sings it's just perfect, she always gives a special touch to her music. I really loved it.
  72. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I have played this album numerous times without skipping a track.This is one of the most diverse albums with interesting lyrics and the dance beats are out of this world.Her vocals are pure without interference from auto tune which makes it very real.Each track is different,mostly 80s influence.Such diversity in an album is a rare find these days.Overall,it is better than the Fame & theI have played this album numerous times without skipping a track.This is one of the most diverse albums with interesting lyrics and the dance beats are out of this world.Her vocals are pure without interference from auto tune which makes it very real.Each track is different,mostly 80s influence.Such diversity in an album is a rare find these days.Overall,it is better than the Fame & the Fame Monster and vocally it is her best yet. Expand
  73. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    It's pop music at it's finest and definitely Gaga's best record to date. Standout tracks include Americano, ScheiÃ
  74. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    This is one of those albums that only die-hard lady gaga fans will talk about. What they're talking about, though, are the aspects of this album that make it pleasant, addictive, retrospective, and quite honestly, beautiful. It's not like gaga's trying to get attention. She's only trying to part her talent from the campy and repetitive "talent" circulating in every radio channel. Her songsThis is one of those albums that only die-hard lady gaga fans will talk about. What they're talking about, though, are the aspects of this album that make it pleasant, addictive, retrospective, and quite honestly, beautiful. It's not like gaga's trying to get attention. She's only trying to part her talent from the campy and repetitive "talent" circulating in every radio channel. Her songs are individually rhythmic and melodic, with novel lyrics and messages. Her tunes are catchy and jumpy, with entertaining and somewhat nostalgic beats. Overall, this album is both an accomplishment worth future accolades AND a piece of modern art. Expand
  75. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This album is software proof that art still lives in pop music. Lady Gaga has understood something about artistic freedom and lyrical depth. Something that seemed to be missing from the album's descendant, "The Fame Monster". Where it may not be as much as a commercial success, this album shows a much more bolder, stronger, and emotional kind of delivery. Where at points it may feelThis album is software proof that art still lives in pop music. Lady Gaga has understood something about artistic freedom and lyrical depth. Something that seemed to be missing from the album's descendant, "The Fame Monster". Where it may not be as much as a commercial success, this album shows a much more bolder, stronger, and emotional kind of delivery. Where at points it may feel rushed, cheesy, and overworked...it makes up for the artistry in the depth of the meaning of her music. Bringing together classical music, rock, pop, dance, jazz, and techno, Lady Gaga has made a true effort into creating something that is not mediocre. The religious imagery in "Born This Way" reminds us that art, faith, and music can all co-exist once again. And maybe Lady Gaga is the person to bring the three worlds back together. Expand
  76. May 29, 2011
    10
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music. Don't get me wrong,
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music.

    Don't get me wrong, this is a pop album. But the influences from other genres such as rock, heavy metal, industrial techno and even opera and jazz separate Lady Gaga from the bland Rihannas and the Britneys, and shows off her raw talents as a pop musician with actual substance - something that is nowadays hard to come by.

    The album is not without it's dull moments, however. Songs like Judas and Bad Kids seem promising from the start, but the choruses, however catchy, let them down. However the huge choruses on songs like Marry The Night and The Edge of Glory show that Gaga has kept her ability to keep writing anthemic, catchy pop hooks, while making credible and meaningful music at the same time.

    You and I is a fantastic track, a country rock anthem about reconciling with a past lover, that leads off into a Hey Jude-esque sing-a-long near the end. Think Elton John meets We Will Rock You, with Queen's very own Brian May on the guitar. Heavy Metal Lover, another stand out, is an epic track with pounding electro beats, and lyrics like "I want your whiskey mouth / All over my blonde south" show Gaga's 'nasty girl' side.

    Bloody Mary, a personal favorite of mine, has huge bassy synths in the verse, with Gaga's vocals drifting into a demonic state at one point each verse (cue Illuminati whispers!) that provides interesting variation, and a beautiful, soaring chorus. The song boasts arguably the best lyrics on the album, for example "We are not just art for Michelangelo to carve / He can't rewrite the aggro of my furied heart". Other highlights include the heavily rock inspired Electric Chapel, the Berlin techno dance track ScheiÃ
    Expand
  77. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think the sounds present in the album are much more original than those contained in "The Fame Monster. " I really appreciate the work done by Lady Gaga with this album and confirm his ability and his talent. I am italian and I can't speak english very wel, so I hope to make myself understood.
  78. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think every song on this album is amazing and the 80's theme it had to it makes this one of the best albums ive ever heard. I don't want to say much but LADY GAGA IS THE NEW QUEEN OF POP
  79. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. My top is track is Marry the Night because it is original and emotional, both lyrics and backing track (church organ). People are going to moan that her fans are too into her and that they will like anything that she releases, but we have brains and we understand that sometimes, not everything is perfect, but unfortunately, this album is brilliant and there is noThis album is amazing. My top is track is Marry the Night because it is original and emotional, both lyrics and backing track (church organ). People are going to moan that her fans are too into her and that they will like anything that she releases, but we have brains and we understand that sometimes, not everything is perfect, but unfortunately, this album is brilliant and there is no denying that, People are entitled to write a review about this album bearing their own opinion, as I was with this one and I thing this album is great. I am a huge fan and feel this album reaches a new height of pop music and has a great mixture of different styles and different themes. Lady GaGa is on the up and here to stay! Expand
  80. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    (10,0) I finally see a perfect decent album! This album has everything it needs to be no1! This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way",(10,0) I finally see a perfect decent album! This album has everything it needs to be no1! This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Expand
  81. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a moment of celebration for Pop. I cannot believe that it got a zero , well you must be crazy not to laugh at their "sophomore" - ridiculous review. But lets respect every opinion. So , to me Born This Way is huge. Its a landmark record for Gaga. It features 234 identities. She is a hooker , she is Bloody Mary , she is Mary Magdalene , she is a bad kid , a heavy metalBorn This Way is a moment of celebration for Pop. I cannot believe that it got a zero , well you must be crazy not to laugh at their "sophomore" - ridiculous review. But lets respect every opinion. So , to me Born This Way is huge. Its a landmark record for Gaga. It features 234 identities. She is a hooker , she is Bloody Mary , she is Mary Magdalene , she is a bad kid , a heavy metal lover. Plus her vocals havent ever been better. I wont take time to speak about each song seperatelly ,since it's clear I love them all.This album is epic. No other pop album is a bit close to its magnitude and for that reason I gave it a ten instead of a nine. Its so refreshing , and thank God , its like the saviour of pop [mainly mainstream] music. Every damn song sounds like a masterpiece. Whether certain reviewers or not like it , I for one ,will invest on it and say that it will add some more Grammy Awards to Gaga's collection .. Don't get me wrong , I always loved and still love Adele but have it not been for her voice "21" would be ,and is, mediocre and it fails to match the first good half of the album . But "21" like "Born This Way" both indicate some true ,sincere work in the pop sphere. Expand
  82. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is definitely my favourite album of the year by a country mile. Unlike The Fame which was a good selection of dance songs this is so much more. She was bound to lose some fans with such a dramatic leap but she has also gained a more mature selection of fans who I am much more inclined to associate myself with. This is not a very mainstream album which is why I think it is gettingThis is definitely my favourite album of the year by a country mile. Unlike The Fame which was a good selection of dance songs this is so much more. She was bound to lose some fans with such a dramatic leap but she has also gained a more mature selection of fans who I am much more inclined to associate myself with. This is not a very mainstream album which is why I think it is getting criticism from some casual listeners. I find it inconceivable that people think that songs such as Beautiful, Dirty, Rich and LoveGame are better than those such as Marry The Night, Scheià Expand
  83. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Lady Gaga proves again why she is the next Madonna and the biggest thing around. Her talent, versatility, memorable voice and memorable lyrics attribute to the greatness of this album.
  84. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's funny that half of critical here are from haters and the other half from fans, so it's difficult to know be inspired by this. Well, in my fan opinion, the album is a piece of art, it takes back the 90's pop music and samples of rock n' roll that become great songs. Congratulations Gaga!!! Expand
  85. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely incredible album which consists of some of Lady Gaga's most catchy and fun material to date. Every song is unique and likeable in its own right. Gaga is on top form with Born this Way, and, judging by some of the material in Born this Way, she's got a lot more talent than people give her credit for. 10/10.
  86. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    They say "Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery." Well, imitation is the root of pop culture. Gaga has been able to mold past works and genres into a modernized pop masterpiece in the way Madonna did back in her peak. This album will be remembered not only for it's unique presence in our current mainstream scene but for the amazing visuals shes presented with the album publicly. FromThey say "Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery." Well, imitation is the root of pop culture. Gaga has been able to mold past works and genres into a modernized pop masterpiece in the way Madonna did back in her peak. This album will be remembered not only for it's unique presence in our current mainstream scene but for the amazing visuals shes presented with the album publicly. From the alien-esque Marilyn Manson inspired prosthetics from her Born This Way music video to the Biblical imagery of her Youtube hit Judas. I'm sure the cherry on top will happen when her worldwide tour kicks off in support of this album. This album is a melting pot of new-wave, hair-metal, club beats, dance-pop, and rock'n'roll. She's come a long way from the faux-plastic pop of The Fame and if she keeps pushing her creativity I know she'll make a huge mark in music history. Expand
  87. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Lady Gaga is a genius. She writes her own stuff, does a lot of her own synth work, and works her ass off for her fans. Can't get any better than Gaga.
  88. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The lyric and production of the album is definitely a step up for Lady Gaga. One of the best album of 2011. Definitely worth your money. My favourite tracks are The Edge of Glory, You and I, Marry The Night and Judas. Check it out.
  89. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    I love it!! While some of the songs are not good, a lot of them are. My favorites are The Edge of Glory and Sheibe. I love this album so much!! And it brings new sounds to the scene!!
  90. May 23, 2011
    10
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,'
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,' (which is about the relationship between Marilyn Monroe and J.F.K., in case you were wondering) 'Judas,' 'Americano,' (which is reminiscent of Alejandro) and 'Bloody Mary,' which I feel is great and very different to anything that you have ever heard from Gaga.
    I feel that with this album, although not everything is perfect, Gaga is very close to finding herself and her perfect style.
    Expand
  91. May 24, 2011
    10
    She prove it once again, she is truly Phenomenal with this album,
    I love the message, the addicting wave, the beat in every single of the song in this album
    well done Gaga...........
  92. May 23, 2011
    9
    (9,0)
    Lady GaGa criou um album experimental, com musicas que vão desde a agressiva Judas à delicada Hair, mas a maior gloria de todo o albúm foi a ausencia de musicas ruins. Desde a melódica Marry The Night até a gloriosa The Edge Of Glory, GaGa nos leva à uma viagem de sons e
    (9,0)
    Lady GaGa criou um album experimental, com musicas que vão desde a agressiva Judas à delicada Hair, mas a maior gloria de todo o albúm foi a ausencia de musicas ruins. Desde a melódica Marry The Night até a gloriosa The Edge Of Glory, GaGa nos leva à uma viagem de sons e composições dos mais variados tipos. Certamente, o melhor album POP dos ultimos anos.
    Expand
  93. May 24, 2011
    10
    Gorgeous, the album uses so many sound and combines them to create a true work of art. There are also uplifting and inspiring messages throughout the album, those reviews which are negative are looking for more of the same from gaga, this isnt the same this is different and fantastic
  94. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album create by one of the most eccentric artist of all time. Sure Gaga takes what she wants from all of her inspiration (Madonna, Elton John, Whitney Houston and more), but she still manage to put her little something in everything. She is the voice of a generation, she speaks for every underdogs out there who are afraid to assumed and be proud of who they are. At a point, BORNAmazing album create by one of the most eccentric artist of all time. Sure Gaga takes what she wants from all of her inspiration (Madonna, Elton John, Whitney Houston and more), but she still manage to put her little something in everything. She is the voice of a generation, she speaks for every underdogs out there who are afraid to assumed and be proud of who they are. At a point, BORN THIS WAY is her and ours (Little Monster) speech for a future personal freedom. BEST TRACKS : MARRY THE NIGHT, BORN THIS WAY, ELECTRIC CHAPEL, THE EDGE OF GLORY, JUDAS AND BLOODY MARY. Expand
  95. May 24, 2011
    10
    "Born This Way" is AMAZING! It's pop-dance-techno-rock extravaganza! The album is a clever mix of 80 's inspired tracks + unique futuristic Gagaesque anthems. Truly, Gaga is the best thing that happened to pop music since Madonna!
  96. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it, indeed. This album is one of the iconic records ever made in pop culture. Are you tired of the same things on the radio? Well, thank Lady Gaga, she's created a new tune. I give this album 10 stars, it deserves it. An album with meaning and good tunes at the same time! Worth it!
  97. May 23, 2011
    9
    Born this Way is a stunning pop album that I will be listening for a long time. What's funny is after the first listen, this was not my reaction. To put it bluntly, I was underwhelmed. There were good songs, but none seemed as catchy or defining as "Just Dance" or "Bad Romance." The album also felt kind of jumbled and random. After several more listens, not only did every song grow on meBorn this Way is a stunning pop album that I will be listening for a long time. What's funny is after the first listen, this was not my reaction. To put it bluntly, I was underwhelmed. There were good songs, but none seemed as catchy or defining as "Just Dance" or "Bad Romance." The album also felt kind of jumbled and random. After several more listens, not only did every song grow on me but the songs also felt more connected. Sometimes it takes a little bit of time to realize what Gaga is actually trying to say or do. Basically this album is part reflective and part self empowerment for her fans. Gaga is basically looking at her life, what she rejoices (religion... Judas, Black Jesus + Amen Fashion... plus plenty more have more subtle undertones of religion.) and what she has learned. At first it was almost jarring how much Gaga has changed. Wasn't this the artist whose debut album was a sexy commentary on Fame and it's consequences? Listen closely, and you'll realize she is still commenting on fame, but she is extending her message further. The more I think about it, the more impressed I am with her. Still, the album isn't perfect. "Judas" while catchy is a pretty weak and generic song (though it does have an interesting message... nothing groundbreaking though.) I've warmed up to "Hair" but it's still not the greatest. "Born this way" grew on me in a big way, but I wish the lyrics would have been more like the sexy, juicy and more subtle lyrics from "The Fame." These are not songs I hate, I don't think I hate any of Gaga's songs, she is just capable of better as evidenced by the rest of her album. "Government Hooker," "Schiebe" "Bloody Mary," "Americano," "Electric Chapel," "You and I," and "The Edge of Glory" are the stand out tracks from this album ("Black Jesus + Amen Fashion" is my favorite of the three additional tracks from the deluxe version, though all are good.) All and all this is a darker and weirder turn for Gaga, and I appreciate the effort. I'm tired of all this fluffy pop crap on the radio. If you are a dance music fan... you will love this album! Expand
  98. May 24, 2011
    10
    SUPERB ALBUM, it's sooooo amaaaazing inspirasing, and rocks,
    gaga prove it once more that she is bringing tornado into music industry, 10/10 perfection
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    86
    Lady Gaga promised her fans (perhaps a tad prematurely) that her new album would be the greatest of the decade. But even if the next nine years bring something better, we're unlikely to hear anything bigger than Born This Way.
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.