Born This Way - Lady Gaga
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 764 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    3
    In her violent dance / pop music, Lady Gaga never gives way to subtlety. "Born this way" is like a wrecking ball with monumental beats, disco chorus without any originality and empty and demagogic lyrics. Lady Gaga concept : or you love, or you hate, or you just don't give a damn about it; personally, that's my case.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    This album is a hypocrisy. She needs to stop forcing be epic and come back as in The Fame and The Fame Monster. Born This Way is a great song, but the only. Judas was the worst single of her career. Ever.
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    2
    definitely a slight disappointment, this record is all over the place and the rock-european pop crossover just feels wrong and overproduced. Lady gaga is a very capable vocalist but her vocals get drowned in the very uninspired production. Bloody Mary, government hooker and heavy metal lover are actually good-quality tracks, but the rest feels just like album-fillers...
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is easily one of the worst pop albums ever it's beyond boring and all songs sound the same Lady Gaga has lost this album is so bad in one word awful Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    0
    Crap...Sorry but anyone enjoying this has a bad taste in music.
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    1
    Horrible album. I did give it a 1/10 because Government Hooker is among the best songs she's ever done. Other than that, nothing else is really great (or even good).
  7. Aug 3, 2012
    1
    Tired, repetitive, generic album. The only people who can enjoy this terrible album are her Little Monsters. The only song that keeps me from giving the album a zero is The Edge of Glory.
  8. Apr 26, 2012
    4
    I realllllyyyyy just didn't like this album. There are some songs on here that are just really "ok". She lost her style on this album. She experimented where she didn't need/ or have to. "Marry The Night" is the best one. Otherwise, I'm not sure how to classify this utter mess.
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    I think my score says it all! One of the most over-hyped artists of our times with nothing new to offer or contribute... Unlike the one she's supposedly following in footsteps of (I'm referring to the original one here, Madonna) who always pushed boundaries with some agenda right from the beginning of her career, Lady Gaga seems to be doing the same thing over and over again, along with the weird looking outfits. Expand
  10. MED
    Mar 28, 2012
    1
    An album with so much potential completely spoiled by the insufferable pretense of the woman who made it. This is a cautionary tale of what happens to a megastar when they start believing their own hype.
  11. Mar 28, 2012
    3
    Mediocrity defined here. The Fame Monster was superb and the tour surrounding that release was stellar. This album is overrated. Aside from a handful of songs (Bloody Mary, Heavy Metal LOver, Government Hooker), the rest is very pretentious and try hard. What I hate the most is the way the lyrics are written - so condescending and 'omniscient (all-knowing)'. There is no song tat can be honestly related to. I am so surprised at how below average this is after the brilliant Fame... Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2012
    0
    This album is one of those shocking-to-be-shocking albums, I literally can't tell the difference between the songs and almost every chorus begins with an "I'm"! I'm gonna marry the night, I'm on the edge of glory, I'm beautiful in my way, I'm just a holy fool.... She's become such an ego maniac, the songs are loud, lyrics are plain stupid, it's nothing but a big mess!
  13. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    I fail to see what the praise about. It's mediocre at best, and it comes across as pretentious, almost patronizing. Could barely sit through the album...I cannot stress enough how OVERDONE it is. Ugh. Was never a fan of Gaga before, certainly not one now.
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    0
    Born This Way is probably one of the worst albums of 2011. As a fan of Gaga's previous works, I must say this is a horrible offering. Her songs are too preachy, and the album is way too boring. The first two tracks are by far the worst part of the entire album, with Marry the Night being the most boring song of the year and the title track being incredibly preachy and, if you don't mind me saying, it sounds similar to an 80s song by another pop artist. The only good thing about this album is Bloody Mary (and yes, it's bloody brilliant), but it doesn't save the album from being an utter disaster. The Fame Monster was amazing, but I have no idea what she was thinking here. Better luck next time, Gaga Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    This album is a mess and disappointing. I expected much more of Gaga, now I know that Lady Gaga is overrated. Songs like Judas, ScheiÃ
  17. Mar 19, 2012
    3
    Very few noteworthy songs. The album is far too pretentious and fails to deliver the catchy dance anthems which fans and critics had come to love. The singles were far too simple, there are a few songs which save the album, Edge Of Glory + Scheisse for example. Worth a listen but don't buy into the hype.
  18. Jan 27, 2012
    2
    The songs are almost a recycling or reuse of Fame Monster. They do not sound as natural as before, are not spontaneous, some are saved, but give a headache continues. Lady GaGa has promised much but turned all the way to a kind of public.
  19. Jan 13, 2012
    4
    The most fussed-over album of the last year, it is a big break in Lady Gaga's carreer. It has not the fresh of "The Fame", and is a little bit disappointing. It's a real production mess, all the songs do not mach with each other, but they all have something in common: they sound being recorded in the middle of a highway full of motocycles. Even the spiritual purpose of Love Youserlf in the songs sound fake, actually rubbish. It's not the album of the decade, as she said, as it's not even the album of the past year. Expand
  20. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiixxooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! TRAVA FEIA
  21. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    the worst album in the year. Stupid. I don't understand how can anyone like this album. It is not the album decade. It's like listen to the same track in the whole cd
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    This album is absolutely trash. Lady Gaga tries to "innovative" and "original", but I have heard it all before. She is just so over the top and she tries to do this in her music, but it comes out looking like a child doing anything to get your attention In ending this album contributes nothing to music and Lady Gaga is a very, very cheap version of Madonna.
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    This album proves exactly why it's impossible to make a decent pop album. Overproduced, overadvertized, and overall just in my face whatever I do. A real musician wouldn't need to have big ass posters of themselves pasted all over NYC just to sell a few copies of their damn album. I beg you, consumer mass, be a little more differentiated than this. I cringe when hearing this music.
  24. Oct 24, 2011
    2
    The second studio album by Lady Gaga is as awful and cheap as the image on its cover. It is such a messy collection of overproduced dance routines that I cannot stop wondering how come so many people have fallen for it. Even if the songs start with some clever ideas (like Bloody Mary), they soon turn into unbearable generic nightmares. They say that she can sing. OMG but this is what one expectes from a singer, dumbass. And all the cultural and societal allusions are as limited as the subjects Gaga touches on. And finally, there is nothing original about her: she just borrows from freaking everyone. Ask yourself a question: would you ever care about her if she hadnâ Expand
  25. Oct 8, 2011
    0
    This album is a mess. Only very few songs represent the real Gaga. You and I is probably the best song she has ever written. Lady Gaga should keep quiet and start doing something worthy of her talent.
  26. Sep 19, 2011
    4
    Being not a Gaga hater but agreeing on the point that she always tries too hard, I think this album totally lacks the edge that her first album really had. A step backward. My ears cannot listen to anything amazing here.
  27. Sep 15, 2011
    0
    This person has no talent.. her songs are recycled and changed... If you can't hear it then your just a moron for buying all her songs when they are the same. This person is the most over rated popstar ever and doesn't deserve to be in the charts.
    Advice to Lady Gaga, produce better music.
  28. Sep 10, 2011
    0
    Born this Way is not the greatest album of all the times and to be honest I heard better songs and music. Born this Way is a bad copy of Madonna's "Express Yourself".
  29. Sep 10, 2011
    3
    Most of the songs make no sence. "Highway Unicorn (Road to Love)", "Judas", "Bloody Mary"... Are these jokes? The only song which is really worth it to listen to is "Americano".
  30. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    What a let-down... GaGa said this was going to be the 'Album of the Decade.' Well it is FAR from that. Only song that is good is 'The Edge of Glory.' I think GaGa tried too hard with this record.
  31. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    I've changed my mind. Definitely a 0
  32. HFK
    Jul 13, 2011
    0
    The Fame was a masterpiece. The Fame Monster was a disappointment. And Born This Way is absolutely terrible. The worst album i've ever heard. It's all crap. She thinks that if she wears crazy stuff and release an album with weird songs, she's brilliant. I prefer beyoncé and even Britney Spears above this
  33. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    The sound is quite unique, but for an artist who puts so much emphasis on the quality of her songwriting it is quite mundane. All the tracks are so heavy that they seem to be mostly loud noise with little bits of rhythm and hooks in between. You can barely make out the lyrics of some songs and overall a lot of it is just muddled. This album was saved only by it's catchy hooks. She relies too much on her persona. She is talented but this album does not showcase that well. Expand
  34. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Disappointing, wish she had spent more time on this album and carefully shortlisted the songs. I give a 4 star rating 3 star for the edge of glory alone and 1 for the rest. Gaga gets all political on this album. Her previous attempts had emotion but they pretained to fun and dancing without a care in the world. In this album it seems like she dances with the weight of political issues. We get she is passionate about the gay issues and other stuff but these issues do not belong in music. Expand
  35. Jul 1, 2011
    3
    This album sounds like the work of a follower and not a leader. Whereas The Fame and The Fame Monster were guilty pleasures, Born This Way is simply torture.
  36. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    This is an inconsistent mess. Really GaGa? This is NOT the "Album of the Decade" as she so claimed it would be. Only song that is good is The Edge of Glory
  37. Jun 30, 2011
    2
    GAGA GAGA GAGA! I loved The Fame and for its fun dance beats and catchy hooks. Born This Way falls flat on both accounts sadly. I highly anticipated this album but upon listening several times, it falls flat. There's no sense of progression with this record. No sense of Lady Gaga. It almost feels impersonal. As if her only concern was upholding the facade that is her image. There is also a sense of trying to please everyone but in affect she falls short of pleasing anyone except her most loyal fans, those who can't see beyond the crazy that is her image. She's so adamant about making a statement that she's neglecting the true essence of the music. Tracks like Born This Way and Edge of Glory are catchy enough after a few spins but other songs Government Hooker and Marry the Night fall flat. There's no innovation here. Better luck next time. Expand
  38. Jun 30, 2011
    0
    Its not memorable in the slightest to me. Outside of Bloody Mary and a few other key tracks there is nothing that makes me wan to listen to this album more than one week at most. She peaked with The Fame Monster!
  39. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Uh wtf is this gaga? were you the one that came up with the fame?? Doesn't seem like it anymore, trash musi is what this is, sorry, not a monster anymore 'til you come up with something good again.
  40. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Uh wtf is this gaga? were you the one that came up with the fame?? Doesn't seem like it anymore, trash musi is what this is, sorry, not a monster anymore 'til you come up with something good again.
  41. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    Lady Gaga the one-hit wonder. This girl is the luckiest celebrity of all times i swear because she's the most overrated. Well, its good to be overrated rather than being underpaid but this is a trash material(Already disposed mine...Thank God it was only 99cent)
  42. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Album of the decade? More like Epic Fail of the decade. Like her first two studio efforts, this record is nothing but a collection of pandering clichés and rehashed, derivative music that attempts to lay claim to substance by championing a completely plastic "love yourself, be yourself" movement. The truth is that it is as devoid of substance as the cheesy album cover and simply reeks of desperation, insincerity and misplaced confidence bordering on egomania. Expand
  43. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    While her first album was enjoyable, this effort seems... well, like no effort was put into it. The songs are generic and the shock factor is hardly shocking. The lyrics are so bad that in some instances, they derail a song that features a decent melody. If she spent more time being a singer and less time shocking the world with her odd-ball presence, this album would undoubtedly be a gem. Unfortunately it is not, thus showing where her focus truly lies. Expand
  44. Jun 2, 2011
    1
    Vocally, it was fine, but there is something in her voice that doesn't fit to the song. The song, lyrically, was really bad... it was horrible and disturbing. Although there was a message in it, it wasn't enough- vocally and musically- to bring it to life. Lady Gaga is a really good singer and I know she will bring something explosive to the music industry but this is not the song that blew me away. So disappointing...................... Expand
  45. Jun 2, 2011
    4
    I like The Fame but The Fame Monster not that much and now with Born This Way I was not disappointed at all because I was expecting an album like this, overproduced! I liked "Marry the Night" and I thought it would be a great album, I really don't like "Born This Way" and then the songs seemed to be the same, "Judas" is just a remake of "Bad Romance", then the album started to get even more boring due to the endless noise and repetitive sound. I know all of her fans love her new music just because it is new, but give it some time, soon it will not make much sense and Born This Way won't be in your favorite collection. Expand
  46. May 31, 2011
    4
    Terrible album, it feels like I'm listening to the same song through the whole thing... not good Gaga. The Fame was amazing and now this? Sorry, I'm not buying it.
  47. May 30, 2011
    0
    There are way too many cheesy moments for me on this album. And not good cheesy either. Its like she thought too hard to be cheesy. Melodies that remind me of a bad Cher or Celine Dion rip off (forget Madonna comparisons, i hear the cheesiness of Cher - and not even as good as Cher). Another thing that bothers me is that she shouts a little too much now when she sings.. Please Gaga, stop shouting. Your voice isn't that bad, you don't need to "shout sing". And too much "awwwwwing". Seriously, it ruins so many of her songs, the little tricks she has to do on every single song. I cannot believe she called this the "album of the decade"... it is a mess. Terrible lyrics as well. Expand
  48. May 28, 2011
    0
    i personally think that this album is absolutely ridiculous. from the names of the songs, that can easily come from a child, to the production, oh, i mean over-production, then from the poor songwriting and similarity with other popular songs to repetitive concept on the album. it's a wreck. a music disaster. a collection of dumb songs for deaf teenagers who blindly worship their idol to the max. poor poor poor. it's not worth buying. actually it's not even worth free downloading. it's terrible. Expand
  49. May 27, 2011
    0
    This album is plain stupid. i don't know how can anyone love this album. i mean, it's overproduced and it's messy from the first song to the last one. she tried to bring across a message to young people to feel confident and to be yourselves, but literally failed on that. no one can relate to it just because it lacks emotion and originality. the hype she created about her new work and her so-called art, actually backfired cause she can't deliver. it's obvious that she tries too hard. the stories are all similar, and what she came out with is an old electro-techno-pop-saxophone(really gaga?)-80's tune that sounds, well, cheesy. it's tacky and tasteless, it's all over the place. and it feels rather like a collection of rip off than an album of the decade. there's no stand out tracks nor there are highlights. her hardcore fans will love it and call it "master piece", "epic" "best album ever", but in the eyes and ears of everyday music followers and lovers this is pure rubbish. she won't get new fans, instead, she'll lose some of them. i mean, she lost one follower, and that one is me. i think that many people feel just like i do about her sophomore effort. if she only took more time to write and to generate some better ideas, i think it would sound much better and more fresh than this played out auto tune music. names to the songs are laughable. she uses many times the word 'tonight', 'fashion'. lazy songwriter much? I've noticed that the choruses sound the same and the song 'fashion of his love' sounds like Whitney's 'i wanna dance with somebody'. Awkward! i'm sorry but gaga will probably never have an album of the decade. Expand
  50. May 26, 2011
    4
    The 'Use Your Illusion' of 2011 pop: Aside from a few standout tracks, it's mediocre, and meandering without purpose. GaGa obviously has talent, but songs aren't that great, and the music is an unfortunate merge of generic club thumping, recycled 80's beats and Phoenix-style electronica.
  51. May 26, 2011
    0
    LAME. just as the boring bimbo who released it.
  52. May 25, 2011
    1
    People say the bad critical reviews are from unprofessional critics but one thing you ought to know is that, if the reviews were unprofessional, metacritic won't summit it to their website !!! Facts !!!!
    Secondly, The silliness of hype, anticipation and mediocre never fails to astound.
    I listened to this album yesterday, i left it on replay the whole night while i was doing some work and
    up till now am yet to understand the whole concept of the album. All the songs sounds exactly the same. Expand
  53. May 24, 2011
    0
    @ cliff55: tiny mix tapes giving this a zero does not mean they are unprofessional, their review was far well written than 70% of the other critics here.
  54. May 24, 2011
    1
    All the chorus' and underlying beats sound the same, cohesive, but the same. A lot of anticipation was built up for this album as she garnered it the "Album of the Decade"... Didn't live up to her own conceited hype. Oh yeah, and I thought Madonna released this album 20 years ago?
  55. May 23, 2011
    1
    Disgusting... sick and boring, all the songs sound exactly the same... But for her freaking monsters, It will be "OMG the best album of the century"... they're too blind to see reality, hopefully I can see one or two wakening up... Thank God I've seen critics giving the reviews this disgusting album deserves... I'm not in love with Gaga, I won't ever be and this album SUCKS!
  56. May 23, 2011
    2
    All the chorus' sound the same. Few great tracks. Some don't even cut mediocre. Too many similar themes - i'm sure the unicorn one is just an extension of Marry the Night. Judas and Government Hooker stand out amongst numerous 80's b-sides.
  57. May 23, 2011
    0
    While her vocals are a strong point, everything else is bland, repetitive, and unoriginal. Worst-written album of the year by far. Filled with cliche banalities that should make even the most dedicated little monster shudder.
  58. May 23, 2011
    3
    This is a really poor album. There are approximately 4 good songs out of 14 here. The rest are a bunch of club bangers that range from awful to just below mediocre. I just can't recommend this to anyone, and I don't see the hype.
  59. May 23, 2011
    4
    Unbelievable disappointing, but it still has a couple of tracks that shows that Lady Gaga has something to say: "Government Hooker" and "Hair". The worst song of Gaga in this album and in her whole career is "Born This Way", which has no sense and without any rhetoric in it. Judas, the second single, climb a little in quality, but it's not a "Bad Romance" or a "Just Dance" (this last, the best song of Gaga). Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.