User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1687 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Needless to say, awesome album. Tiny Mix Tapes is obviously unprofessional and biased to give it a zero, especially when almost every other review disagrees with it. Those who hate this album are just prejudiced against mainstream music and are very bigoted about it, or they believe those dumb rumours of Lady Gaga being Satanic when they have no hard evidence. Period.
  2. May 31, 2011
    7
    Born This Way will more than likely be a masterpiece for die-hard GaGa fans. For everyone else, it'll just be a recommendation. It is certainly more different than any other pop album of 2011, for sure. Another shiny aspect of Born This Way is that it sounds like a remastered blast from the '80s. The standout tracks are "Electric Chapel" and "The Edge of Glory", which definitely drawBorn This Way will more than likely be a masterpiece for die-hard GaGa fans. For everyone else, it'll just be a recommendation. It is certainly more different than any other pop album of 2011, for sure. Another shiny aspect of Born This Way is that it sounds like a remastered blast from the '80s. The standout tracks are "Electric Chapel" and "The Edge of Glory", which definitely draw influence from '80s dance pop and europop. However, one of its weakest tracks are "Judas", which is basically a rewritten version of "Bad Romance", both having the same tone and meaning. Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    i really enjoyed that gaga changed her musical style on this album , The great pop-rock techno feel is great . I Enjoyed this album ALOT more than the fame and almost as much as the fame MonsTer
    Recommended this album to anyone wants an 80's feeling album and if your're a fan of Gaga
  4. May 25, 2011
    10
    10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun10,0 ! After my first listen to Born This Way (Single) I didn't really know what to expect since the sound was quite different. But she had me after the first listen to that record... It's so different from what's going on in music right now. Her vocals are on point (she didn't really got the chance on THE FAME/THE FAME MONSTER to show what she's got), the songs are catchy, the lyrics fun and smart. I love it and its definitely on my FAVOURITE RECORDS OF ALL TIME-list. Expand
  5. May 24, 2011
    10
    This album has something special. She sings with her heart and emotions, she wrote the whole album. It DOES have a meaning. The way she sings it's just perfect, she always gives a special touch to her music. I really loved it.
  6. May 27, 2011
    7
    BTW is not that bad, is all the way better than her old releases with no doubt, but i think she may be more strong and less full of herself when will make this, some songs are really good but others just dispossable, if the whole album have a artistic power that some songget may be flawless.
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I have played this album numerous times without skipping a track.This is one of the most diverse albums with interesting lyrics and the dance beats are out of this world.Her vocals are pure without interference from auto tune which makes it very real.Each track is different,mostly 80s influence.Such diversity in an album is a rare find these days.Overall,it is better than the Fame & theI have played this album numerous times without skipping a track.This is one of the most diverse albums with interesting lyrics and the dance beats are out of this world.Her vocals are pure without interference from auto tune which makes it very real.Each track is different,mostly 80s influence.Such diversity in an album is a rare find these days.Overall,it is better than the Fame & the Fame Monster and vocally it is her best yet. Expand
  8. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    It's pop music at it's finest and definitely Gaga's best record to date. Standout tracks include Americano, ScheiÃ
  9. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    This is one of those albums that only die-hard lady gaga fans will talk about. What they're talking about, though, are the aspects of this album that make it pleasant, addictive, retrospective, and quite honestly, beautiful. It's not like gaga's trying to get attention. She's only trying to part her talent from the campy and repetitive "talent" circulating in every radio channel. Her songsThis is one of those albums that only die-hard lady gaga fans will talk about. What they're talking about, though, are the aspects of this album that make it pleasant, addictive, retrospective, and quite honestly, beautiful. It's not like gaga's trying to get attention. She's only trying to part her talent from the campy and repetitive "talent" circulating in every radio channel. Her songs are individually rhythmic and melodic, with novel lyrics and messages. Her tunes are catchy and jumpy, with entertaining and somewhat nostalgic beats. Overall, this album is both an accomplishment worth future accolades AND a piece of modern art. Expand
  10. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This album is software proof that art still lives in pop music. Lady Gaga has understood something about artistic freedom and lyrical depth. Something that seemed to be missing from the album's descendant, "The Fame Monster". Where it may not be as much as a commercial success, this album shows a much more bolder, stronger, and emotional kind of delivery. Where at points it may feelThis album is software proof that art still lives in pop music. Lady Gaga has understood something about artistic freedom and lyrical depth. Something that seemed to be missing from the album's descendant, "The Fame Monster". Where it may not be as much as a commercial success, this album shows a much more bolder, stronger, and emotional kind of delivery. Where at points it may feel rushed, cheesy, and overworked...it makes up for the artistry in the depth of the meaning of her music. Bringing together classical music, rock, pop, dance, jazz, and techno, Lady Gaga has made a true effort into creating something that is not mediocre. The religious imagery in "Born This Way" reminds us that art, faith, and music can all co-exist once again. And maybe Lady Gaga is the person to bring the three worlds back together. Expand
  11. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    Born This Way does not quite work as well as a unit as "The Fame Monster" did, for example. However, the songs individually are rather good! I fell instantly in love with "ScheiÃ
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Not her best work to date, as the second half the album is mostly weak filler songs. At over an hour in length, it probably would have been wiser to leave out a few songs or choose to make the 5 minute songs a lot shorter. Nevertheless, the album is a nice fresh of breath air and brings something new to the current pop world (it may be 80's style, but it's not something every artist usesNot her best work to date, as the second half the album is mostly weak filler songs. At over an hour in length, it probably would have been wiser to leave out a few songs or choose to make the 5 minute songs a lot shorter. Nevertheless, the album is a nice fresh of breath air and brings something new to the current pop world (it may be 80's style, but it's not something every artist uses today). The first half of the album is pretty strong. "Marry the Night", "Americano", "Scheibe", and "Government Hooker" are typical Gaga, with the same catchy hooks that we all love. The rest of the songs are meh, but still better quality than most of today's pop releases. The last two songs are by far the best of the whole album: "You and I", an emotional ballad, and "The Edge of Glory", one of Gaga's stronger recent singles. Lady Gaga secures herself on top of the pop world with this album, which is much stronger than releases by Britney or Katy Perry. Expand
  13. May 29, 2011
    10
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music. Don't get me wrong,
    Not usually a big fan of pop music, I was pleasantly surprised by this album.

    In the past, Gaga had often spoken of her rock influences in her music, then kept churning out pure pop singles such as Telephone and Alejandro, with none of these rock influences to be found at all. But when you listen to this record, the image and the talk finally clicks with the music.

    Don't get me wrong, this is a pop album. But the influences from other genres such as rock, heavy metal, industrial techno and even opera and jazz separate Lady Gaga from the bland Rihannas and the Britneys, and shows off her raw talents as a pop musician with actual substance - something that is nowadays hard to come by.

    The album is not without it's dull moments, however. Songs like Judas and Bad Kids seem promising from the start, but the choruses, however catchy, let them down. However the huge choruses on songs like Marry The Night and The Edge of Glory show that Gaga has kept her ability to keep writing anthemic, catchy pop hooks, while making credible and meaningful music at the same time.

    You and I is a fantastic track, a country rock anthem about reconciling with a past lover, that leads off into a Hey Jude-esque sing-a-long near the end. Think Elton John meets We Will Rock You, with Queen's very own Brian May on the guitar. Heavy Metal Lover, another stand out, is an epic track with pounding electro beats, and lyrics like "I want your whiskey mouth / All over my blonde south" show Gaga's 'nasty girl' side.

    Bloody Mary, a personal favorite of mine, has huge bassy synths in the verse, with Gaga's vocals drifting into a demonic state at one point each verse (cue Illuminati whispers!) that provides interesting variation, and a beautiful, soaring chorus. The song boasts arguably the best lyrics on the album, for example "We are not just art for Michelangelo to carve / He can't rewrite the aggro of my furied heart". Other highlights include the heavily rock inspired Electric Chapel, the Berlin techno dance track ScheiÃ
    Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think the sounds present in the album are much more original than those contained in "The Fame Monster. " I really appreciate the work done by Lady Gaga with this album and confirm his ability and his talent. I am italian and I can't speak english very wel, so I hope to make myself understood.
  15. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I think every song on this album is amazing and the 80's theme it had to it makes this one of the best albums ive ever heard. I don't want to say much but LADY GAGA IS THE NEW QUEEN OF POP
  16. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This album is amazing. My top is track is Marry the Night because it is original and emotional, both lyrics and backing track (church organ). People are going to moan that her fans are too into her and that they will like anything that she releases, but we have brains and we understand that sometimes, not everything is perfect, but unfortunately, this album is brilliant and there is noThis album is amazing. My top is track is Marry the Night because it is original and emotional, both lyrics and backing track (church organ). People are going to moan that her fans are too into her and that they will like anything that she releases, but we have brains and we understand that sometimes, not everything is perfect, but unfortunately, this album is brilliant and there is no denying that, People are entitled to write a review about this album bearing their own opinion, as I was with this one and I thing this album is great. I am a huge fan and feel this album reaches a new height of pop music and has a great mixture of different styles and different themes. Lady GaGa is on the up and here to stay! Expand
  17. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    (10,0) I finally see a perfect decent album! This album has everything it needs to be no1! This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way",(10,0) I finally see a perfect decent album! This album has everything it needs to be no1! This album truly shows how Gaga really can sing her ass off. She may censor the word in her songs, but the content is all from the heart. "The Edge of Glory" might just be the best pop song of the year, and "You and I" may be her best example of versatility. "Shiesse", "Judas", "Born This Way", "Government Hooker", "Marry the Night", and "Americano" also show that she still has the ability to create a club banging hit. Expand
  18. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Born This Way is a moment of celebration for Pop. I cannot believe that it got a zero , well you must be crazy not to laugh at their "sophomore" - ridiculous review. But lets respect every opinion. So , to me Born This Way is huge. Its a landmark record for Gaga. It features 234 identities. She is a hooker , she is Bloody Mary , she is Mary Magdalene , she is a bad kid , a heavy metalBorn This Way is a moment of celebration for Pop. I cannot believe that it got a zero , well you must be crazy not to laugh at their "sophomore" - ridiculous review. But lets respect every opinion. So , to me Born This Way is huge. Its a landmark record for Gaga. It features 234 identities. She is a hooker , she is Bloody Mary , she is Mary Magdalene , she is a bad kid , a heavy metal lover. Plus her vocals havent ever been better. I wont take time to speak about each song seperatelly ,since it's clear I love them all.This album is epic. No other pop album is a bit close to its magnitude and for that reason I gave it a ten instead of a nine. Its so refreshing , and thank God , its like the saviour of pop [mainly mainstream] music. Every damn song sounds like a masterpiece. Whether certain reviewers or not like it , I for one ,will invest on it and say that it will add some more Grammy Awards to Gaga's collection .. Don't get me wrong , I always loved and still love Adele but have it not been for her voice "21" would be ,and is, mediocre and it fails to match the first good half of the album . But "21" like "Born This Way" both indicate some true ,sincere work in the pop sphere. Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This is definitely my favourite album of the year by a country mile. Unlike The Fame which was a good selection of dance songs this is so much more. She was bound to lose some fans with such a dramatic leap but she has also gained a more mature selection of fans who I am much more inclined to associate myself with. This is not a very mainstream album which is why I think it is gettingThis is definitely my favourite album of the year by a country mile. Unlike The Fame which was a good selection of dance songs this is so much more. She was bound to lose some fans with such a dramatic leap but she has also gained a more mature selection of fans who I am much more inclined to associate myself with. This is not a very mainstream album which is why I think it is getting criticism from some casual listeners. I find it inconceivable that people think that songs such as Beautiful, Dirty, Rich and LoveGame are better than those such as Marry The Night, Scheià Expand
  20. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Lady Gaga proves again why she is the next Madonna and the biggest thing around. Her talent, versatility, memorable voice and memorable lyrics attribute to the greatness of this album.
  21. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's funny that half of critical here are from haters and the other half from fans, so it's difficult to know be inspired by this. Well, in my fan opinion, the album is a piece of art, it takes back the 90's pop music and samples of rock n' roll that become great songs. Congratulations Gaga!!! Expand
  22. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely incredible album which consists of some of Lady Gaga's most catchy and fun material to date. Every song is unique and likeable in its own right. Gaga is on top form with Born this Way, and, judging by some of the material in Born this Way, she's got a lot more talent than people give her credit for. 10/10.
  23. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    Track By Track- Marry the Night- hot and amazing. Very well done. Born This Way- an OK song certainly not her best. Government Hooker- cool name but it is insane. I don't get it. Judas- I love it! One of her best songs yet. Sure it might be just a remix of Bad Romance but who the hell cares? Americano-worst song. ever. it sucks. that is all i'm gonna say. Hair- i love it so much! it superTrack By Track- Marry the Night- hot and amazing. Very well done. Born This Way- an OK song certainly not her best. Government Hooker- cool name but it is insane. I don't get it. Judas- I love it! One of her best songs yet. Sure it might be just a remix of Bad Romance but who the hell cares? Americano-worst song. ever. it sucks. that is all i'm gonna say. Hair- i love it so much! it super cute and everything. It is very nice. Scheisse- a German electropop song that talks about **** Cool. Bloody Mary- my second favorite song in the album. Slow but cool. Bad Kids- in the top 3 of the best songs in this album. Loveable. Highway Unicorn- stupid much? Heavy Metal Lover- idiotic. Electric Chapel-weirdly amazing? You and I- Cool. Sounds Amazing. The Edge of Glory- best GaGa SONG YET. Expand
  24. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    They say "Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery." Well, imitation is the root of pop culture. Gaga has been able to mold past works and genres into a modernized pop masterpiece in the way Madonna did back in her peak. This album will be remembered not only for it's unique presence in our current mainstream scene but for the amazing visuals shes presented with the album publicly. FromThey say "Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery." Well, imitation is the root of pop culture. Gaga has been able to mold past works and genres into a modernized pop masterpiece in the way Madonna did back in her peak. This album will be remembered not only for it's unique presence in our current mainstream scene but for the amazing visuals shes presented with the album publicly. From the alien-esque Marilyn Manson inspired prosthetics from her Born This Way music video to the Biblical imagery of her Youtube hit Judas. I'm sure the cherry on top will happen when her worldwide tour kicks off in support of this album. This album is a melting pot of new-wave, hair-metal, club beats, dance-pop, and rock'n'roll. She's come a long way from the faux-plastic pop of The Fame and if she keeps pushing her creativity I know she'll make a huge mark in music history. Expand
  25. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Born This Way is basically Gaga exploring all the possibilities that there are in pop music. She stands out from other pop culture icons, and so does this album. With tracks filled with so much power and individuality, you can't go wrong with this album.
  26. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I'm not a fan of Lady Gaga "the persona", but I simply can't deny - the woman makes great pop music. you can really tell she put her all into this album. I keep finding tracks that I previously didn't pay attention to that I'll give a chance and end up loving (i.e "Heavy Metal Lover").
  27. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The lyric and production of the album is definitely a step up for Lady Gaga. One of the best album of 2011. Definitely worth your money. My favourite tracks are The Edge of Glory, You and I, Marry The Night and Judas. Check it out.
  28. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Wow! It was easy to only put on the great songs on The Fame Monster. But here with Born This Way, Lady Gaga managed to have a full-length album with almost only monumental pop records. Unlike her previous album, here we can really feel what is the Lady Gaga style in the music and the lyrics. Born This Way is one of the greatest album in modern pop music. The only thing that it misses is aWow! It was easy to only put on the great songs on The Fame Monster. But here with Born This Way, Lady Gaga managed to have a full-length album with almost only monumental pop records. Unlike her previous album, here we can really feel what is the Lady Gaga style in the music and the lyrics. Born This Way is one of the greatest album in modern pop music. The only thing that it misses is a ballade and some calm and relaxing songs. Born This Way is a little bit too much energetic, it should have contained one or several breaks. Expand
  29. May 23, 2011
    10
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,'
    Brilliant.
    I expected nothing less from Mother Monster. On my first listen, I felt that I wasn't hooked on the new, darker style that Gaga produces on this album. But by the second listen, I was hooked.
    Gaga has created a new sound for herself with 'Born This Way,' and much of the songs have strong meanings relating to Gaga and her fans. I think my favourites are 'Government Hooker,' (which is about the relationship between Marilyn Monroe and J.F.K., in case you were wondering) 'Judas,' 'Americano,' (which is reminiscent of Alejandro) and 'Bloody Mary,' which I feel is great and very different to anything that you have ever heard from Gaga.
    I feel that with this album, although not everything is perfect, Gaga is very close to finding herself and her perfect style.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    86
    Lady Gaga promised her fans (perhaps a tad prematurely) that her new album would be the greatest of the decade. But even if the next nine years bring something better, we're unlikely to hear anything bigger than Born This Way.
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    60
    Gaga has always been able to anchor her haughty conceptual undertakings with simple, catchy tunes, but with Born This Way, the persona and the message are starting to bleed into the songs. It's not a good look.