Born This Way - Lady Gaga
Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 912 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Gaga goes over the top and keeps on going: exhilarating, exhausting blockbuster entertainment.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 317
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Como amo este album! es el mejor que he escuchado de Gaga, en este album fluyen muchas emociones al pasar por las canciones, sin duda un album epico que no pasa desapercibido! Good Job Gaga Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    My favorite album by Gaga! I love the different genres Gaga explores in this album, flaunting her musical diversity. There's not one song from the 17 tracks on this album that I DON'T like. Give it a listen, you won't regret it! Expand
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Needless to say, awesome album. Tiny Mix Tapes is obviously unprofessional and biased to give it a zero, especially when almost every other review disagrees with it. Those who hate this album are just prejudiced against mainstream music and are very bigoted about it, or they believe those dumb rumours of Lady Gaga being Satanic when they have no hard evidence. Period. Expand
  5. May 25, 2011
    8
    A marvelous album filled with amazing records. Though its not the perfect pop album you would expect but it is definitely fun to listen and I simply love it. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    My main problem with born this way is the fact that it consists of some of her greatest songs like The edge of glory and some of her worst. If The queen, highway unicorn and black jesus were cut this album would be higher for me. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    This album is absolutely trash. Lady Gaga tries to "innovative" and "original", but I have heard it all before. She is just so over the top and she tries to do this in her music, but it comes out looking like a child doing anything to get your attention In ending this album contributes nothing to music and Lady Gaga is a very, very cheap version of Madonna. Expand

See all 317 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.