Born This Way

Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1574 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Buy On

Top Track

Born This Way
It doesn't matter if you love him or capital H-I-M Just put your paws up 'Cause you were born this way, baby My mama told me when I was young We are... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Gaga goes over the top and keeps on going: exhilarating, exhausting blockbuster entertainment.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 361
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so differentAn amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    Lady Gaga is a genius. She writes her own stuff, does a lot of her own synth work, and works her ass off for her fans. Can't get any better than Gaga.
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No DoubtAmazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No Doubt About It! Put your paws up. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    It seems that with every album she just grows stronger vocally, lyrically, and melodically. There's so much depth to this and her if youIt seems that with every album she just grows stronger vocally, lyrically, and melodically. There's so much depth to this and her if you bother to dig past her image. Expand
  5. Vic
    May 31, 2011
    9
    This album differs from previous Gaga's albums, but it's not worse and I guess not better. It's just different. There are no stand-out songsThis album differs from previous Gaga's albums, but it's not worse and I guess not better. It's just different. There are no stand-out songs but every song is fun, cool and easy to listen. It's a totally commercial album that was made in a highly professional style! Not a lot of musicians can actually do something like that nowadays! It's a solid album and it leaves only positive emotions! Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    7
    Gaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The onlyGaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The only problem is; not sounding positive all the time is necessary in any body of work, and Lady Gaga doesn't know how to decelerate herself in 'Born This Way'.

    In 'The Fame' and 'The Fame Monster' EP, Gaga's ability to deliver heartfelt drama was, well, monstrous; "Brown Eyes", "Paparazzi", "Bad Romance", "Dance in The Dark" and "Speechless" are easily some of her best songs to date. Songs that are touching. Songs that are ultimately better than "Judas", clearly a remake of Bad Romance, "Bloody Mary", which sounds dull, and "Yoü and I", which is a good love song, but the world is full of great love songs and this one sadly doesn't stand out. So it seems that Gaga has given so much space to joyfulness and self-worship in 'Born This Way' that, when she tries to portray her angst, her vulnerability and the "agro of her furied heart", she just can't deliver in comparison to her previous albums.

    That, however, doesn't mean that Gaga hasn't made beautiful and meaningful songs for this album. If we focus on the cheerful and uplifting nature of 'Born This Way' alone, we can see that Gaga has never been this entertaining. "Marry The Night", the title track, "Government Hooker", "Hair", "ScheiÃ
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    0
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
    El vomito de Madonna es mejor que esto, ella nunca
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
    El vomito de Madonna es mejor que esto, ella nunca será la reina del pop
    Expand

See all 361 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.