Born This Way - Lady Gaga
Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 767 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. 83
    For all its fire and brimstone, Born This Way doesn't herald pop's second coming. But it's not a bad way to spend the wait.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Lady Gaga certainly wasn't born this way, but she's making a convincing case that she's evolving into our most surreally brilliant pop star.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 293
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    It's pop music at it's finest and definitely Gaga's best record to date. Standout tracks include Americano, ScheiÃ
  2. May 23, 2011
    10
    The hype was worth it, indeed. This album is one of the iconic records ever made in pop culture. Are you tired of the same things on the radio? Well, thank Lady Gaga, she's created a new tune. I give this album 10 stars, it deserves it. An album with meaning and good tunes at the same time! Worth it! Expand
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    "Oops.... Lady Gaga do it again". She can sing, she can write... she can all! Although some songs sound polluted, over half the album and get over it shows the potential of voice. Is undoubtedly one of the albums of the year ... do not expect any "Fame Monster, " but here we have another great job Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    8
    An amazing album from Gaga. The build up left me wanting more but the tracks on the album are solid and I find it hard to skip any of them. Lyrically and musically impressive. You can hear the hard work she has put into the album on any of the songs. Collapse
  6. May 23, 2011
    6
    A solid album. The lyrics are sometimes a little cheesy, but the whole album feels like it could have been released in the 80s. And the 80s was filled with cheesy lyrics so, in some ways, the odd lyrics fit in the album. Vocally, Gaga is amazing. She is obviously trying new styles, such as in Judas, which she has never tried before. It's nice to see an artist challenging themselves in this way. The songs themselves may take a bit of getting used to; Born This Way, Judas, Americano, Hair, Highway Unicorn and Electric Chapel all initially left me disappointed, but after hearing them more and more, I find all of them very impressive. Here's a track by track review: "Marry The Night" - A nice opener for the album. Like some of Fernando Garibay's other work, I found the production on the song a little messy, but was pleased. The chorus is wonderful and very catchy. 8.5/10 "Born This Way" - Initially a letdown for me (compared to the other album's first singles, Just Dance and Bad Romance, how could it not be!?) mainly because of the bad production. There are seriously like 10 instruments just playing whatever the hell they want. After a while though, once you get over the disappointment, you have to realize that this is probably going to be considered one of Gaga's most iconic songs. It isn't THAT bad, either. 8.5/10 "Government Hooker" - Compared to the preview we got a few months ago, this is a disappointment. It's slower, which makes the song less enjoyable. However, it's one of Gaga's weirdest tracks ever, and it's extremely catchy. Also, I like how Gaga was comparing us to hookers who get "screwed" by the government but don't care. 9/10 "Judas" - At first, I was supremely disappointed by this song. It felt like an attempt to make another "Bad Romance" but failed miserably. However, the song eventually grew on me. A LOT. The verses are amazing, the pre-chorus, too, and the bridge is fantastic. The only thing I dislike about this song is the chorus. Everything else is amazing. 9/10 "Americano" - The beginning kind of threw me off. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy it and it just sounded like a cheesefest. But once the song got going, it was pretty nice. The chorus is powerful and this is also a really odd track. 8.5/10 "Hair" - Initially another letdown. I felt the song sounded extremely similar to the song released just a week prior to this (Edge of Glory) so was pretty put off. However, once Edge of Glory began boring me I began listening to this more. Yes, it feels like another EoG, but it's more ... fun. The saxophone isn't just randomly clunked into the song; it's actually a PART of the song throughout. The chorus is one of the catchiest on the album. 8.5/10 "Scheià Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is easily one of the worst pop albums ever it's beyond boring and all songs sound the same Lady Gaga has lost this album is so bad in one word awful Expand

See all 293 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.