Born This Way

Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1633 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Buy On

Top Track

Born This Way
It doesn't matter if you love him or capital H-I-M Just put your paws up 'Cause you were born this way, baby My mama told me when I was young We are... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Gaga goes over the top and keeps on going: exhilarating, exhausting blockbuster entertainment.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 363
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so differentAn amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    This album is just awesome, i loved it. Bloody Mary, Scheibe, Marry the Night, Hair and The Queen are certainly the best tracks, but allThis album is just awesome, i loved it. Bloody Mary, Scheibe, Marry the Night, Hair and The Queen are certainly the best tracks, but all musics are great. I just didn't like Highway Unicorn too much, it has a bad song but Gaga's volcals are perfect in all tracks. Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    Buen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con esteBuen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con este album Gaga me ha impresionado va por el camino correcto ...No es el album de la decada pero si es Un Muy buen album POP .. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    I don't think anybody saw it coming when Lady Gaga changed her genre slightly to show of the amazing vocals that most people never thought sheI don't think anybody saw it coming when Lady Gaga changed her genre slightly to show of the amazing vocals that most people never thought she had in the first place. Her songwriting talent shone on this album as well. My one comment would be the use of auto tune that can be found on a few tracks. Other than that, the Grammy-nominated album was one of the best of 2011. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    "Oops.... Lady Gaga do it again". She can sing, she can write... she can all! Although some songs sound polluted, over half the album and get"Oops.... Lady Gaga do it again". She can sing, she can write... she can all! Although some songs sound polluted, over half the album and get over it shows the potential of voice. Is undoubtedly one of the albums of the year ... do not expect any "Fame Monster, " but here we have another great job Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    7
    Gaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The onlyGaga has prepared a powerful and absurdly energetic pop ride for us, and she sounds as fearless and shameless as she can possibly do. The only problem is; not sounding positive all the time is necessary in any body of work, and Lady Gaga doesn't know how to decelerate herself in 'Born This Way'.

    In 'The Fame' and 'The Fame Monster' EP, Gaga's ability to deliver heartfelt drama was, well, monstrous; "Brown Eyes", "Paparazzi", "Bad Romance", "Dance in The Dark" and "Speechless" are easily some of her best songs to date. Songs that are touching. Songs that are ultimately better than "Judas", clearly a remake of Bad Romance, "Bloody Mary", which sounds dull, and "Yoü and I", which is a good love song, but the world is full of great love songs and this one sadly doesn't stand out. So it seems that Gaga has given so much space to joyfulness and self-worship in 'Born This Way' that, when she tries to portray her angst, her vulnerability and the "agro of her furied heart", she just can't deliver in comparison to her previous albums.

    That, however, doesn't mean that Gaga hasn't made beautiful and meaningful songs for this album. If we focus on the cheerful and uplifting nature of 'Born This Way' alone, we can see that Gaga has never been this entertaining. "Marry The Night", the title track, "Government Hooker", "Hair", "ScheiÃ
    Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?

See all 363 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.