Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Buy On

Top Track

Born This Way
It doesn't matter if you love him or capital H-I-M Just put your paws up 'Cause you were born this way, baby My mama told me when I was young We are... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Gaga goes over the top and keeps on going: exhilarating, exhausting blockbuster entertainment.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 365
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so differentAn amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    Born This Way was way ahead of its time. She released this at the peak of her career, which was as bold a move as it was genius. StandoutBorn This Way was way ahead of its time. She released this at the peak of her career, which was as bold a move as it was genius. Standout tracks include Marry The Night, Government Hooker, Judas, Bloody Mary, Black Jesus + Amen Fashion, Heavy Metal Lover, Electric Chapel, The Queen, You And I, and The Edge of Glory. Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    Buen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con esteBuen álbum francamente pense que iba a ser un mal album pero despues de escucharlo me di cuenta que es muy bueno , con este album Gaga me ha impresionado va por el camino correcto ...No es el album de la decada pero si es Un Muy buen album POP .. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    When Gaga is not singing her heart out in this album, she is singing beautiful, relatable poems in form of a Pop song. Born This Way is notWhen Gaga is not singing her heart out in this album, she is singing beautiful, relatable poems in form of a Pop song. Born This Way is not only lenghty and Pop Fantastico, but it is also Gaga's best album yet.
    Just look at the love Gaga gives to its little monsters with this album. Songs like "Born This Way", "Hair", "Bad Kids", "You & I" and "The Edge of Glory" offer a connection with the artist no other pop albums out there can do. The best of the bunch are definitely "The Edge of Glory", with its 80s Nostalgia fusion of techno and pop, "Hair", with its profund lyrics, and "Bloody Mary", with its soft rythm and mesmerizing beats. The rest of the songs are also very good (Except "Heavy Metal Lover", which is avoidable). There are some similar songs that ring familiarity, like "Americano" (Alejandro) or "Judas" (A sicker "Bad Romance") but the overall experience is so gratifying. If you love Gaga, go buy this album right now. It takes everything you love about "The Fame Monster", extends it, makes it darker, more personal and more poetic, and with Gaga's signature weirdness you will not have a bad time ever.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Compared to the previous two albums, and the hype up to this one it is a real let down. This album unlike "The Fame" (2008), and "The FameCompared to the previous two albums, and the hype up to this one it is a real let down. This album unlike "The Fame" (2008), and "The Fame Monster" (2009) it acutally has songs that need burned. The first album, and second realeses both saw the entire album having good really songs. This is something you won't find on "Born This Way" (2011)! Songs that should be burnt, and have not made it on the album include "Black Jesus + Amen Fashion", and "SheiBe". While it has others that are just decent like "The Queen", "Electric Chaple", "Fashion Of His Love", "Government Hooker", and more. While the standout tracks include "Born This Way", "Americano", "Bad Kids", "You And I", "The Edge Of Glory", "Hair", "Highway Unicorn (Road To Love)", "Heavy Metal Lover", and my personal favorite Lady Gaga song of all time "Judas". However it has equally good and bad moments, when it's good, it is phenominal! Expand
  6. May 27, 2011
    7
    Was she really born this way!?

    What a massive 2 years. From the nervous girl who sat with Jonathan Ross on his sofa to the meat wearing
    Was she really born this way!?

    What a massive 2 years. From the nervous girl who sat with Jonathan Ross on his sofa to the meat wearing music master! She has gone from strength to strength and more eccentric by the album. â
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    I think my score says it all! One of the most over-hyped artists of our times with nothing new to offer or contribute... Unlike the one she'sI think my score says it all! One of the most over-hyped artists of our times with nothing new to offer or contribute... Unlike the one she's supposedly following in footsteps of (I'm referring to the original one here, Madonna) who always pushed boundaries with some agenda right from the beginning of her career, Lady Gaga seems to be doing the same thing over and over again, along with the weird looking outfits. Expand

See all 365 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.