Born This Way

Born This Way Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1587 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reigning pop queen releases her second full-length studio album.
Buy On

Top Track

Born This Way
It doesn't matter if you love him or capital H-I-M Just put your paws up 'Cause you were born this way, baby My mama told me when I was young We are... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. This isn't up to The Fame or The Fame Monster. But both of those keep growing, and with its mad momentum and nutty thematics, this one could too--despite being laid down on tour trailed by 28 semis.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    Yet, for all of GaGa's flamboyance, there was a humanity in her most memorable work that inspired a devotion in her legions of fans that went far beyond vigorous dance floor workouts. On Born This Way the quirky vulnerability is often lost behind the massive productions.
  3. May 24, 2011
    80
    Gaga goes over the top and keeps on going: exhilarating, exhausting blockbuster entertainment.
  4. May 23, 2011
    70
    The record is blitzing, happily ludicrous, and plenty of fun for a while, but at the core there's Gaga, singing beautifully but clouded by all the readymade pop around her.
  5. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Born This Way feels like the first proper Lady Gaga album. [Aug. 2011, p. 114]
  6. 60
    By the end of it, there's little doubting Gaga's sincerity. For all of her schlock and posturing, it's hard to remember the last time a pop star was this sincere.
  7. May 24, 2011
    0
    Beyond all else, perhaps, think of this zero as the massive bedazzled orifice out of which our heroine has spawned a new era of popular culture.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 362
  1. May 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so differentAn amazing album! Yes, perhaps not the album of the decade, but comes close to pop album of the decade atleast! the songs are so different from the other mediocre stuff that is put out. I love it! Expand
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    This album is just awesome, i loved it. Bloody Mary, Scheibe, Marry the Night, Hair and The Queen are certainly the best tracks, but allThis album is just awesome, i loved it. Bloody Mary, Scheibe, Marry the Night, Hair and The Queen are certainly the best tracks, but all musics are great. I just didn't like Highway Unicorn too much, it has a bad song but Gaga's volcals are perfect in all tracks. Expand
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No DoubtAmazing! She manages to have a message in her music, while retaining her pure pop glory. This is going to be the album of the decade, No Doubt About It! Put your paws up. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Gaga transformed every fail, every good thing in a unique album, lots of people say that is repetitive. When I listened to this for the firstGaga transformed every fail, every good thing in a unique album, lots of people say that is repetitive. When I listened to this for the first time, it was looking repetitive, but after I found the lyrics, and keep on listening, I treated every song different, with distinct ways. Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    9
    Other than "Born This Way", which is way too similar to Madonna's 1989 single "Express Yourself", every song is fantastic. "Judas" and "TheOther than "Born This Way", which is way too similar to Madonna's 1989 single "Express Yourself", every song is fantastic. "Judas" and "The Edge of Glory" are brilliant. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    I have always been thinking that Lady Gaga is one of the most overrated artists of all time and this album is the proof of it. She was beyondI have always been thinking that Lady Gaga is one of the most overrated artists of all time and this album is the proof of it. She was beyond pretentious at saying this was going to be the album of the decade, the lead single is her worst single in her entire discography, and then she obviously picked the wrong singles. Even though it has some some of her best works like "Government Hooker" and "Sheibe". It's, out of her three albums, her least good, if it's a nice characteristic. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    0
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
    El vomito de Madonna es mejor que esto, ella nunca
    0
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
    El vomito de Madonna es mejor que esto, ella nunca será la reina del pop
    Expand

See all 362 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.