Born to Die - Lana Del Rey
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 486 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 486

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing. Every song went beyond my expectations. Ever song is a new story and it truly is beautiful. It's sad to see all of these negative reviews, its really because of the hype. Don't buy into it, you will enjoy this album
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I genuinely dont understand the critic reviews. This is a top class album. Amazing lyrics and beautifully, scarily sung. It is right up my street. I LOVE LANA DEL REY.
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most exciting albums I have heard in a long time!
    I am shocked to read the unfair critiques of the album. It is obvious to me that the authors don't 'get' the concept. People say that the lyrics/voices seem 'inauthentic', but they are missing the real meaning here: The truth in irony! Lana Del Rey is a character, and this album, which tells stories of the dark side of
    hollywood glamour in her voice, has an authenticity all its own. The lyrics are simultaneously honest and false-seeming (when she pouts on National Anthem 'Money is the reason we exist. Everybody knows it, its a fact, kiss kiss'), easily mistaken for 'Ke$ha-like' utterances. But there is deeper meaning here, a commentary on the life society has glamourized. These are the observations of a character,and each track takes you from the high breathy gasps of superficiality to a deeper truth, expressed in Lana's lower vocal range. You can't take every line seriously, but read each song in its entirety to understand its meaning. This album is a picture, not only of how we view celebrity but of the very essence of a modern existence: The drama that people are desperate to have in their own lives, the layers of identity that we craft in order to survive and achieve in the world (our own inauthenticities) , and under it all, the emptiness and sadness of that experience. The music is also exceptionally well crafted (extremely well produced!) and catchy. You won't be able to get some of these songs out of your head. The sound is different and refreshing, and I can't wait to hear more from her. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This album has some nice music. I'm really looking forward to her work in the future. I just hope she achieves a masterpiece like My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    This is album is Very Important for pop music today and its history. It so different and it just has so much depth to it. The way Britney Spears' Blackout is one of pop music's most influential albums is how Born To Die will be because there is Nothing like it right now and will pave the way for artists Like Lana Del Rey. Very Well Done Lana.
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    From the first time listeing to the album, I had my mind to Born To Die (album) all the time ! Each song has it own standout uniqueness . It's one of the best albums in 2012, for it's alternative uniqueness. Highlights: Video Games, Blue Jeans, Radio, Born To Die , Carmen and Diet Mountain Dew
  7. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Born To Die is a brilliant pop record debut that shows a great deal of potential and some of the sleekest most coherent production in mainstream music since Kanyes MBDTF. Lana Del Rey seems to be an extremely divisive artist with some people absolutely despising her and the other liking her. She's truly brought out the unprofessional views within tons of critics who have chosen to to focus on her appearance and "realness" instead of the actual music. Born To Die is more than Lana Del Rey. The atmosphere created for this record is completely on point. Expand
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    A very good album by Lana Del Rey. A little too long though. My favorite tracks are diet MTN Dew, Video Games, Dark Paradise, Off to the Races, and Radio.
  9. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Now that I have become really acquainted with the album (15+ listens), I love almost every song. Lana Del Rey is a new goddess! This is one of my favorite albums of all time!
  10. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing album, period. Every song stands on its own, while it feels like being part of the same dream. Lana's work is jubilant, as her voice is sultry and delicious. I bought the deluxe version and adore the entire album. Her critics don't know what they are talking about. It's humankind at its best - spiteful.
  11. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    I feel like the melodies within this album are extremely catchy. This is a good thing, because who doesn't actually like catchy? And, the beats are pretty tight. For such a slow-beat, I find myself head-knocking as I listen. Furthermore, epic. It's really epic and builds up a lot of emotions. I swear, these songs will show up in a Quentin Tarantino movie some day!
  12. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Im really surprised at these crappy critiques . I mean who cares if she performed badly at the SNL? It was one of her first performances and in a video she said that she gets overly nervous . Lets critique the ALBUM shall we? There are a lot of gems on this album especially "Diet Mountain Dew" & "Dark Paradise" which showcase her unique voice and im quite glad that she's not one of those artists who puts out generic crappy pop music or stupid ballads she actually pours out her heart into this music and you can hear her emotions through her voice . Overall this album is better than the other stuff that Rihanna or Lady gaga or Katy perry are giving us and this does not deserve a "59" . To the critique who compared Lana del rey to Ke$ha , how were you hired? you should be waiting tables were you belong Expand
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    What makes Born to Die so richly fascinating â
  14. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey is beautiful beyond many ways. She shines on Born to Die, her debut album from Polydor America and Interscope Records. The title track is one of the best, as well as "Video Games", which became popular for its music video and being featured on The CW TV series Ringer. Born to Die is another great debut, amongst albums from other people (Adele, Christina Grimmie, etc.).
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    This is one of THE BEST album, I've heard in a while. The album is so atmospheric, haunting, and cinematic. Each song paints a beautiful imaginative picture when you listen to them which is so rare nowadays for a mainstream pop artist to achieve this feat. The production is top notch with cascading swoops that lifts your soul through each songs. The lyrics are well written and fits the theme of the album perfectly, while Lana vocals pierce through with emotion and wonderful clarity. Overall, it is an amazing debut. Expand
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The US critics have called this so wrong by obsessing over her 'authenticity'. This is pop music, not the race to be President! This is a simply magical album and so very different to what's currently happening in the charts. Haunting vocals, beautiful melodies, some subtle hip hop in the mix, amazing production. Best debut album for many a year.
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Awesome album, too bad the official critics looked for her personal life + her live in the SNL.
    She may not be ready to sing live, but in the studio she's really good.
    The album give the image of a happy and sad love and life, but this contrast with her voice is what make the album almost perfect.
  18. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    A Beautiful album, it is not great, but it has heart. If it were not for the stupidly high amount of hype, then people would actually stop being so hateful and actually listen to the music. I, frankly think people should give her a chance, her music is excellent, each has its own story to tell... Like their own universe and you feel compelled to listen to the end, and it is a grower.
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The only word to describe Born To Die is perfection. The production, the lyrics and Lana's voice make it one of the best albums of this year so far.
  20. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Coming into 2012, Lana Del Rey was easily one of the most buzzed about new artists, everything she seemed to do created controversy all over the net. All of this controversy is what led me to her breakout single 'Video Games' in September. From the second I heard her voice on that track, I knew she was going to be something special & this was only confirmed after I began to research her other work. During my research, it also became clear that Lana already had a large group of people who despised everything she did and believe me they made it known by commenting on every article/video about her on the web. So before you take some of the other more... 'harsh' reviews into account, I would like to tell you that even if this album was a masterpiece, the people rating it anything below a 4 would have never admitted to liking it. But enough about her haters, lets get onto the album.

    I must say that after listening to it thoroughly, 'Born to Die' is by far her best piece of work to date. Lana effortlessly changes personas, exploring thematic elements of death & love all while displaying her full vocal range. The entire album is cohesive & in my honest opinion no track seems out of place when you listen to it as a whole (Including the 3 Bonus tracks, which all sound like they belong on the Standard Edition). Go into the album with an open mind and I promise you that you will enjoy what you hear. I look forward to seeing this album on an array of 'Best of 2012' lists come the end of the year because this is easily one of the strongest debut albums released in years.

    Standout Tracks: Dark Paradise, Summertime Sadness, National Anthem
    Expand
  21. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I really don't give a F*ck about where she came from and whether she's authentic or fake. Her music touched me, and at the end of the day it's all that really matters. Her album is pop perfection. Wonderful lyrics, great vocals, and AMAZING production.
    Top Tracks: Radio, Carmen, and Born To Die. (All the tracks are great, but these are the stand outs)
  22. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  23. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey's Video Games was a viral internet hit last year. It got the general public and critics buzzing with anticipation. With so much hype around her, will she able to deliver? Boy, she DID! The album is cohesive and a joy to listen to. Each and every track is like a mini-movie. Every song is dramatic which is not a bad thing at all. From the stunning robo beat opening track "Born To Die" to the retro ghostly "Million Dollar Man" everything is I dare to say almost perfect. The Deluxe tracks are also good, especially "Lucky Ones" with its beautiful harps at the end. In Short, this is a very strong debut album by miss Del Rey. Expand
  24. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Atmospheric,retro,youthful,fun,nostalgic,melodic and more,that's Lana Del Rey's debut 'Born To Die'.One of the best pop albums in the last few years,it's fresh and exciting,it sounds like nothing out there.Her voice is hypnotic and while listening to this album I get most intense imagery,it's so beautiful.Gives me chills.
    It bugs me that critic score and the fact what kind of albums are
    getting better reviews than this.The excuses are so funny and they are mostly coming from US critics who are reviewing everything but the album.EW has problems with her lyrics and the next you see them giving Ke$ha,Pitbull,Justin Bieber,Rihanna better scores.Rolling Stone(2 stars really) has problems with lack of her emotions and yet you see them giving Femme Fatale(I love Britney) 4 stars.Or Rihanna 3.5 stars,it doesn't really bother them her repetative repeating of **** million times but they have problem with Lana.Oh it's so cool to hate on Lana.Someone should be fired.Their credibility is laughable.Hypocrisy at best.
    It's so sad seeing people wanting someone to fail so badly.They don't even know the real facts about Del Rey and they should check it fast.Spin has nice article about it and everyone should check it -> http://www.spin.com/articles/deconstructing-lana-del-rey?page=0%2C0
    Expand
  25. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Let's see how are most of US critics reviewing this album: SNL,SNL breakdown,lips,authenticity,can't sing,dad millionaire and then 2 sentences about album.It's really sad,pathetic and hypocritical.The worst part about this is that they don't even know the real truth about her.They should check it fast and not talk **** about something they don't know.
    This album is one of the best in
    years and one of the best debuts ever.Such a breath of fresh air.She's born to become immortal. Expand
  26. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Amazing album, beautiful melodies and fantastic lyrics. I just can't understand why US reviews are so bad, they should focus on her music not not the SNL performace or her so called "fake personality" Lana is truly talented and no one can deny that.
  27. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    I think this is one of the best release this year, and it's only January. The album flows together really well. The production is also really amazing. I love the retro vibe that it gives. My favorite tracks are Diet Mountain Dew, National Anthem, and Off To The Races. 10/10 for me.
  28. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    As a previous review stated, I also think that had there not been so much hype, this album would be considered outstanding to most critics. However, when the hypegets mainstream before the artist people's expectations are so high that they are inevitably disappointed.
    I was a fan of LDR before the hype and find her romantic pop essence to be refreshing, relaxing, soothing, and unique all
    at the same time. Lana's voice has a low, hypnotizing pitch to it that causes the listener to sway with her songs involuntarily. You can't help but to get lost in each of her tracks. Give it a chance. Expand
  29. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Great album. Lana did a good job with Born To Die. It's a complete album, from the emotional "Summertime Sadness" to the massive "National Anthem". Finally a singer who distances from the the contemporary pop. Favourite song: Carmen
  30. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    She will have the last laugh this weekend when the album hits the top spot in more than 11 countries.

    All the negative views appear to be coming from people who have only seen the SNL performances. Get a life and stop worrying about her rich father and listen to the music. 9/10
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    50
    Spread over 12 songs, Del Rey becomes so ordinary, even bland, that no amount of little girl vocals or pouting can save her.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Tune out the background media noise and immerse yourself. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]