• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born to Die Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 582 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Lana Del Rey's partying is fuelled by a knowing sadness, and sung in that laconic, hypnotic voice, which ultimately saves this thoroughly dissolute, feminist nightmare of a record for the romantics among us.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    So the question becomes, is Born to Die more good than bad, or vice versa? Let's err with the former, hype be damned.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    55
    For all of its coos about love and devotion, it's the album equivalent of a faked orgasm-- a collection of torch songs with no fire.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 171
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Lana është një artist i vërtetë . Unë e kam dëgjuar për herë të parë të saj të vrasin e saj vrasin e Parlamentit Evropian dhe e ndjekurLana është një artist i vërtetë . Unë e kam dëgjuar për herë të parë të saj të vrasin e saj vrasin e Parlamentit Evropian dhe e ndjekur karrierën e saj muzikore që nga atëherë . Si një album të paedukuar mjaft kjo nuk mund të ketë marrë ndonjë të mirë . Të vocals janë të mahnitshme , Lyrics ashtu si fantastike , dhe instrumentale një përzierje e sadcore dhe udhëtim hop . Kjo me të vërtetë do të tregojë se si duhet të zbatohetmosha e re e muzikës .

    10/10
    Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    With this album Lana brings a new voice to seemingly fledging music scene; the album is a revitalization in and of itself; Ms. Del Rey's "BornWith this album Lana brings a new voice to seemingly fledging music scene; the album is a revitalization in and of itself; Ms. Del Rey's "Born to Die" is haunting, beautiful and a welcome addition to the world of music... Thank you Lana, I particularly enjoy "Without You" and "Lolita" Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in factHaving went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    9
    Greatly well-produced, her vocals are heavenly and lyrics are... somewhat understandable. Her first release via Interscope Geffen A&M, itGreatly well-produced, her vocals are heavenly and lyrics are... somewhat understandable. Her first release via Interscope Geffen A&M, it makes me upset at the contemporary critics whom exclusively judged her performance, but has not even reviewed this masterpiece. Standout tracks from this album are "Born to Die", "Blue Jeans", "Video Games", "National Anthem", "Lolita", and "Lucky Ones". Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindolindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo lindo Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    If this album was by a man, I'm not sure it would be getting as much hate. There are some average lyrics but she seems to be getting **** forIf this album was by a man, I'm not sure it would be getting as much hate. There are some average lyrics but she seems to be getting **** for not being a perfect role model for the stereotypical anti man type woman. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either.The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either. The Music is so heavily produced that is enhances this problem even more so, the three don't sit well together. When the songwriter is the weakest link how can you expect to have an album that puts a spell on everyone. Full marks for hype and trending though. Expand

See all 171 User Reviews