Born to Die - Lana Del Rey
Born to Die Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 548 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Lana Del Rey's partying is fuelled by a knowing sadness, and sung in that laconic, hypnotic voice, which ultimately saves this thoroughly dissolute, feminist nightmare of a record for the romantics among us.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    So the question becomes, is Born to Die more good than bad, or vice versa? Let's err with the former, hype be damned.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    55
    For all of its coos about love and devotion, it's the album equivalent of a faked orgasm-- a collection of torch songs with no fire.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 165
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Дебютный альбом Ланы Дель Рей — «Born To Die» — получился сказочным и загадочным. Каждая песня не похожа на другую, если учитывать тексты, аДебютный альбом Ланы Дель Рей — «Born To Die» — получился сказочным и загадочным. Каждая песня не похожа на другую, если учитывать тексты, а вот аранжировки некоторых песен имеют некую схожесть, но это не делает альбом хуже. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    amazing sound. i really enjoy this. one could think that video games was the only pearl that Lana was able to come along with, but afteramazing sound. i really enjoy this. one could think that video games was the only pearl that Lana was able to come along with, but after listening to some songs available on youtube I get really hooked. I pre-ordered the album and I'm happy I did it. It's charming and classy and I can foresee a very long and bright career for this girl. Recommended. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in factHaving went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Born To Die has no words to describe it. So fresh, so excellent, the whole amazing lyrics and sounds. It's perfect. I have no words with thisBorn To Die has no words to describe it. So fresh, so excellent, the whole amazing lyrics and sounds. It's perfect. I have no words with this album. If you say that it is bad you're totally wrong. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    Dá sono? Sim, mas não deixa de ser perfeito. Pisa no Ultraviolence sim, melhor álbum dela, semrpe que quero dormir abro o Spotify e escutoDá sono? Sim, mas não deixa de ser perfeito. Pisa no Ultraviolence sim, melhor álbum dela, semrpe que quero dormir abro o Spotify e escuto Blue Jeans. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    7
    This doesn't deserve all the backlash it is getting. Agreed that there are some songs sounding in similar style, but I like the style she isThis doesn't deserve all the backlash it is getting. Agreed that there are some songs sounding in similar style, but I like the style she is setting up for herself. Next album will def be stronger, you can tell she is just getting started, so, listen more than once and see that this is better than a lot of other fluff out there. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either.The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either. The Music is so heavily produced that is enhances this problem even more so, the three don't sit well together. When the songwriter is the weakest link how can you expect to have an album that puts a spell on everyone. Full marks for hype and trending though. Collapse

See all 165 User Reviews