Born to Die - Lana Del Rey
Born to Die Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 478 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Even the terrible parts of Born to Die are just so lovable, which bodes well for the actually great parts.
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    After that highpoint ["Video Games"] things head downhill quickly.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    50
    Spread over 12 songs, Del Rey becomes so ordinary, even bland, that no amount of little girl vocals or pouting can save her.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 153
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Lana is a true artist. I've listened her first on her Kill Kill EP and followed her musical career since then. As a sophomore album this couldn't have gotten any better. The vocals are amazing, Lyrics just as fantastic, and instrumentals a mix of sadcore and trip hop. This truly does show how the new age of music should be executed. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    As a previous review stated, I also think that had there not been so much hype, this album would be considered outstanding to most critics. However, when the hypegets mainstream before the artist people's expectations are so high that they are inevitably disappointed.
    I was a fan of LDR before the hype and find her romantic pop essence to be refreshing, relaxing, soothing, and unique all at the same time. Lana's voice has a low, hypnotizing pitch to it that causes the listener to sway with her songs involuntarily. You can't help but to get lost in each of her tracks. Give it a chance.
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Dark, haunting, and extremely beautiful. Favourite tracks: Radio, Blue Jeans, Million Dollar Man, Dark Paradise, Off to the Races and National Anthem.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    O Lana, at times, the album shines brighter than the sun, then at other times, suffers from an identity crisis. Some songs sound like a mix of Adele, and Florence, mixed with early Gaga, and Ke$ha. They start of great with a unique sound than, they shoot straight to soft-core dance pop. Her voice, though is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. She has the best voice of any female singer ever. It's a shame that she doesn't flesh out her music and evolve on the genius she set up in songs like "Born to Die", "Video Games", "Blue Jeans", and Dark Paradise". If she opted for that, then songs like "Diet Mountain Dew", the albums lowest point, wouldn't suck. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    While the album isn't as great as hypemakers vet it as (it has some major flaws), Lana herself has the most potential I've seen in a while. Think Portishead, Deborah Harry (of Blondie fame), Adele, Kanye West, and Kelis, and you start to get the picture. She has much more potential than she's shown on either this or her first album. Not only that but she really needs to gain some confidence and stage presence. Probably her biggest pitfall is incorporating Gaga-esque cliches about money, fame, and beauty into some of her songs. She needs to be a little closer to her audience and not so aloof. It's also a weary listen. I can't listen to it the whole way through (though this effect isn't as bad as on Adele's album). Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either. The Music is so heavily produced that is enhances this problem even more so, the three don't sit well together. When the songwriter is the weakest link how can you expect to have an album that puts a spell on everyone. Full marks for hype and trending though. Expand

See all 153 User Reviews