Born to Die - Lana Del Rey
Born to Die Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Lana Del Rey's partying is fuelled by a knowing sadness, and sung in that laconic, hypnotic voice, which ultimately saves this thoroughly dissolute, feminist nightmare of a record for the romantics among us.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    So the question becomes, is Born to Die more good than bad, or vice versa? Let's err with the former, hype be damned.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    55
    For all of its coos about love and devotion, it's the album equivalent of a faked orgasm-- a collection of torch songs with no fire.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 162
  1. May 22, 2014
    10
    Lana Del Rey's Born To Die is the pinnacle of pop and indie perfection. Anyone who has heard one of her songs on the radio can tell you thatLana Del Rey's Born To Die is the pinnacle of pop and indie perfection. Anyone who has heard one of her songs on the radio can tell you that now more than ever her appeal has grown beyond hipster tumblr bloggers. Although her vocals aren't the strongest, she still has something to say. The 12 tracks intertwine with images of heartbreak and old money, lost desires and New York opulence. Throughout the tales of desperation and she masterfully strings allusions to the novel "Lolita" and general Americana. Sonically, the fusion of hip hop beats and swelling orchestra is a refreshing and at sometimes overblown and dramatic. The production is masterful, some tracks lined with vintage vocal samples and innovative beats that underlie Lana's narrative abilities and distinct voice. Overall, it's a hauntingly beautiful and nearly flawless effort. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Love it, im obsessed with this album, her music, her voice, her words. â
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in factHaving went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Dark, haunting, and extremely beautiful. Favourite tracks: Radio, Blue Jeans, Million Dollar Man, Dark Paradise, Off to the Races and National Anthem.
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    I absolutely love this album. Sure there are several tracks that are in the same vein as Video Games, but that's exactly what I expected. EachI absolutely love this album. Sure there are several tracks that are in the same vein as Video Games, but that's exactly what I expected. Each track has heart and the album actually feels like a light-conceptual piece that frankly sounds better than just about any pop album around right now. The critics are simply being unfair. These are the same people that gave Britney Spears' last album As and Bs. Come on.... Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    While the album isn't as great as hypemakers vet it as (it has some major flaws), Lana herself has the most potential I've seen in a while.While the album isn't as great as hypemakers vet it as (it has some major flaws), Lana herself has the most potential I've seen in a while. Think Portishead, Deborah Harry (of Blondie fame), Adele, Kanye West, and Kelis, and you start to get the picture. She has much more potential than she's shown on either this or her first album. Not only that but she really needs to gain some confidence and stage presence. Probably her biggest pitfall is incorporating Gaga-esque cliches about money, fame, and beauty into some of her songs. She needs to be a little closer to her audience and not so aloof. It's also a weary listen. I can't listen to it the whole way through (though this effect isn't as bad as on Adele's album). Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2012
    0
    The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either.The weakest part of the album is the lyrics and the singing. The lyrics and vocal lack empathy, there is nothing raw or engaging about either. The Music is so heavily produced that is enhances this problem even more so, the three don't sit well together. When the songwriter is the weakest link how can you expect to have an album that puts a spell on everyone. Full marks for hype and trending though. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews