Born to Die

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born to Die Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 928 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Lana Del Rey's partying is fuelled by a knowing sadness, and sung in that laconic, hypnotic voice, which ultimately saves this thoroughly dissolute, feminist nightmare of a record for the romantics among us.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    So the question becomes, is Born to Die more good than bad, or vice versa? Let's err with the former, hype be damned.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    55
    For all of its coos about love and devotion, it's the album equivalent of a faked orgasm-- a collection of torch songs with no fire.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 198
  1. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Beautiful album. Surely, it can be considered as the best album of 2012. Reading the critics reviews, i feel disgusted. Worth buying at leastBeautiful album. Surely, it can be considered as the best album of 2012. Reading the critics reviews, i feel disgusted. Worth buying at least 10 copies. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Great album. Lana did a good job with Born To Die. It's a complete album, from the emotional "Summertime Sadness" to the massive "NationalGreat album. Lana did a good job with Born To Die. It's a complete album, from the emotional "Summertime Sadness" to the massive "National Anthem". Finally a singer who distances from the the contemporary pop. Favourite song: Carmen Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in factHaving went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2015
    9
    Un Gran Álbum de Lizzy, es bueno saber que hay artistas que se inclinan por distintos géneros que no sean el Pop, este trabajo tiene un temaUn Gran Álbum de Lizzy, es bueno saber que hay artistas que se inclinan por distintos géneros que no sean el Pop, este trabajo tiene un tema en general, pero cada canción tiene un ritmo y una lírica distinta. Lana supo canalizar sus emociones y sentimientos en cada canción y la hizo única, contiene sonidos realmente 'Alternos' al Pop y Teen Pop, sus rítmos Indie,Sadcore y Alternativo, con ese toque de Barroco lo hacen un Álbum Único. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2014
    8
    Como evitei esse nome e com apenas um flash, uma cena de Blue Jeans, me encontrei apaixonado(leia-se obcecado) pelo modo dela escrever eComo evitei esse nome e com apenas um flash, uma cena de Blue Jeans, me encontrei apaixonado(leia-se obcecado) pelo modo dela escrever e interpretar suas canções, não é um disco completamente perfeito, mas chega bem perto, well, I'm waiting for my heaven Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2016
    7
    6,8
    The album is good, it is here that Lana has proved to be a singer. The album elegant arrangement.
    The album has a very big disadvantage:
    6,8
    The album is good, it is here that Lana has proved to be a singer. The album elegant arrangement.
    The album has a very big disadvantage: catchy songs all look alike. But most of the songs are not memorable. I would single out the following songs: Born to Die, National Anthem, Dark Paradise, Summertime Sadness.
    At the end of the album headache listening. Very monotonous and painful for easy listening for the first time.
    Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2016
    0
    One of the worstest albums ever. Lana was not ready for an album, she tryna to be an alternative icon, but its just a product of pop music.One of the worstest albums ever. Lana was not ready for an album, she tryna to be an alternative icon, but its just a product of pop music. She don´t have any talent, she can´t sing. Expand

See all 198 User Reviews