• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born to Die Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for the New York singer features the single Video Games, which appeared on the CW TV series Ringer.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. A delicious hybrid of Portishead and Nancy Sinatra.
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    80
    Born to Die is a brilliant album, but it's one that leaves room for a few improvements, and inspires confidence that they'll happen.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Confirms her as the most compelling new pop star around: half doomed romantic, half mordant cynic, with a distinctively conflicted vision of how love, fame and America work. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    60
    Lana Del Rey's partying is fuelled by a knowing sadness, and sung in that laconic, hypnotic voice, which ultimately saves this thoroughly dissolute, feminist nightmare of a record for the romantics among us.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    So the question becomes, is Born to Die more good than bad, or vice versa? Let's err with the former, hype be damned.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    55
    For all of its coos about love and devotion, it's the album equivalent of a faked orgasm-- a collection of torch songs with no fire.
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    0
    I have done my best to place the album, as a series of utterances, in its agony and vacuity.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 213
  1. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    nostalgic album
    magic she is so iconic i love her so much
    brig me moments i never had lana del rey the queen of alternative
    nostalgic album
    magic she is so iconic i love her so much
    brig me moments i never had
    lana del rey the queen of alternative
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox
    Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    She will have the last laugh this weekend when the album hits the top spot in more than 11 countries.

    All the negative views appear to be
    She will have the last laugh this weekend when the album hits the top spot in more than 11 countries.

    All the negative views appear to be coming from people who have only seen the SNL performances. Get a life and stop worrying about her rich father and listen to the music. 9/10
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Having went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in factHaving went and looked at many reviews by critics I am disgusted. Disgusted at the fact that none are really review the album. But in fact discussing Lana Del Rey (lips, one bad SNL performance, ext) Everything but the album itself really. This is one of the best and most cohesive albums I've heard in quite sometime. The similarity (if any) in some of the songs keeps the story of the album consistent. Songs on the album like "Carmen" "Lolita" "Dark Paradise" and "National Anthem" sound nothing alike. So I beg to differ with what some (Critics) have said thus Far. I'm glad that the buying public or those with sense have and are going to take time to give her a chance. Some have evaded what critics have said and went ahead previewed and then bought the album. Solely because they HEAR the music and not clouded with judgement of the artist. I wish Lana the best and hope more LISTEN to the album and understand it. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    9
    Greatly well-produced, her vocals are heavenly and lyrics are... somewhat understandable. Her first release via Interscope Geffen A&M, itGreatly well-produced, her vocals are heavenly and lyrics are... somewhat understandable. Her first release via Interscope Geffen A&M, it makes me upset at the contemporary critics whom exclusively judged her performance, but has not even reviewed this masterpiece. Standout tracks from this album are "Born to Die", "Blue Jeans", "Video Games", "National Anthem", "Lolita", and "Lucky Ones". Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2017
    8
    Algumas batidas poderiam ser menos repetitivas, mas ainda sim tem uma ótima produção no geral, letras bem escritas que no geral seguem umAlgumas batidas poderiam ser menos repetitivas, mas ainda sim tem uma ótima produção no geral, letras bem escritas que no geral seguem um mesmo tema. Um dos melhores albums de estreia que já ouvi. Destaque para as quatro primeiras músicas que são mais que maravilhosas Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    A mundane work, has good songs and their bad songs, all divided in the same way, but the voice of Lana can make the album up some concepts.A mundane work, has good songs and their bad songs, all divided in the same way, but the voice of Lana can make the album up some concepts.
    Highlights: Born To Die and National Anthem
    Lows: This Is What Makes Us Girls and Radio
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2017
    0
    Lana Del Rey is a cool and a gentle person, but seriously, every album that she realease it looks like the same. Only a few singles that sheLana Del Rey is a cool and a gentle person, but seriously, every album that she realease it looks like the same. Only a few singles that she released were good for her career - and these singles were the songs that was most successful for her. It's sad that she loves talking only about sex, drugs and death. Unfortunate! Expand

See all 213 User Reviews