Born Villain

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born Villain Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio album from Marilyn Manson was produced with Chris Vrenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, Industrial Metal, Industrial Dance
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The eighth Marilyn Manson album features some of his finest lyrics yet and, musically, it often approaches the heyday of Holy Wood and Mechanical Animals.
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    78
    "Born Villain" finds a seemingly refreshed and clear-minded Manson and his band poring through a diverse set of moods and styles in songs that cut a little deeper than the deliberate provocation of many of his previous works.
  3. May 25, 2012
    70
    Like fine steak, Born Villain is at its best raw and bloody.
  4. 60
    The truth is, though, there's just a lack of magic, a lack of something special going on. It's not bad. It's not good.
  5. 50
    Subject matter such as the aforementioned romanticism is refreshing, and maybe that will be pushed to the foreground in future records, but it only appears in spurts on Born Villain.
  6. May 11, 2012
    40
    The sound of a middle-aged shock rocker long past his creative, controversial, and commercial peak trying to drag his the ball-and-chain of his career along as he trudges over the hill. Sadly, it's all rather predictable.
  7. 20
    If he tried to find something he liked, he might actually make something worth listening to.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Um Album Meio Cru Sem Muitas Batidas E Riffs De Guitarra.
    Mas Mesmo Nesse Estilo O MM Fez Um Excelente Album Mais Uma Vez.
    Top Born Villain
    Um Album Meio Cru Sem Muitas Batidas E Riffs De Guitarra.
    Mas Mesmo Nesse Estilo O MM Fez Um Excelente Album Mais Uma Vez.
    Top Born Villain
    1-No Reflection
    2-The Gardener
    3-Overneath The Path Of Misery
    4-Hey Cruel World
    5-Slo-Mo-tion
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing album.. give it a listen and sometime ot get into the songs. I would say it was like the first time I heard MechanicalSuch an amazing album.. give it a listen and sometime ot get into the songs. I would say it was like the first time I heard Mechanical Animals. Way better then the past 3 albums. Expand
  3. May 2, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last twoAbsolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last two outings It never seemed like he was trying too hard which on the last two albums it always felt that way. Definitely at the top of his game once more. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2016
    9
    UNDERRATED ALBUM, is he Best Album Since The Golden Age Of Grotesque (2003), i freak out with the negative review for the terribleUNDERRATED ALBUM, is he Best Album Since The Golden Age Of Grotesque (2003), i freak out with the negative review for the terrible critic.............

    The Gardener, No Reflection, The Flowers of Evil, Hey Cruel World, Children of Cain, Breaking the Same old Ground & others, This Album have much Excellent Tracks & Highlights.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    8
    Redirect to this page for better reviews of the album. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Born_Villain) Metacritic only seems to want to post theRedirect to this page for better reviews of the album. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Born_Villain) Metacritic only seems to want to post the bad reviews of albums lately. This is a great and solid album from Marilyn Manson! Makes me want to go back and listen to the last two and give them another chance! Manson have never gotten the recognition he deserves but lucky he doesn't care about all that bullsh*t. I give the album 4 out of 5 stars! KEY TRACKS: Hey, Cruel World..., No Reflection, Overneath the Path of Misery, Slo-Mo-Tion, The Gardener Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    5
    Very mediocre effort from MM. High End of Low is a much better album than this. This album is full of hamfisted attempts at being dangerousVery mediocre effort from MM. High End of Low is a much better album than this. This album is full of hamfisted attempts at being dangerous and "heavy" and it just falls flat on its face. Jeordie White is a boring and one dimensional guitar player. He just chugs out dropped D riffs. No surprise that the best MM albums (ACS, MA, and Holy Wood) all had another guitar player involved in the writing and playing. Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    0
    Awful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scaryAwful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scary anymore! And I love MM's good albums like mechanical animals, that was an album to appreciate! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews