• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born Villain Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio album from Marilyn Manson was produced with Chris Vrenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, Industrial Metal, Industrial Dance
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Born Villain
Could give you a dozen Fresh Cut Pink, or red, or white I wonder if they knew what they Would grow to become I could give you a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The eighth Marilyn Manson album features some of his finest lyrics yet and, musically, it often approaches the heyday of Holy Wood and Mechanical Animals.
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    78
    "Born Villain" finds a seemingly refreshed and clear-minded Manson and his band poring through a diverse set of moods and styles in songs that cut a little deeper than the deliberate provocation of many of his previous works.
  3. May 25, 2012
    70
    Like fine steak, Born Villain is at its best raw and bloody.
  4. 60
    The truth is, though, there's just a lack of magic, a lack of something special going on. It's not bad. It's not good.
  5. 50
    Subject matter such as the aforementioned romanticism is refreshing, and maybe that will be pushed to the foreground in future records, but it only appears in spurts on Born Villain.
  6. May 11, 2012
    40
    The sound of a middle-aged shock rocker long past his creative, controversial, and commercial peak trying to drag his the ball-and-chain of his career along as he trudges over the hill. Sadly, it's all rather predictable.
  7. 20
    If he tried to find something he liked, he might actually make something worth listening to.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Um Album Meio Cru Sem Muitas Batidas E Riffs De Guitarra.
    Mas Mesmo Nesse Estilo O MM Fez Um Excelente Album Mais Uma Vez.
    Top Born Villain
    Um Album Meio Cru Sem Muitas Batidas E Riffs De Guitarra.
    Mas Mesmo Nesse Estilo O MM Fez Um Excelente Album Mais Uma Vez.
    Top Born Villain
    1-No Reflection
    2-The Gardener
    3-Overneath The Path Of Misery
    4-Hey Cruel World
    5-Slo-Mo-tion
    Expand
  2. May 5, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing album.. give it a listen and sometime ot get into the songs. I would say it was like the first time I heard MechanicalSuch an amazing album.. give it a listen and sometime ot get into the songs. I would say it was like the first time I heard Mechanical Animals. Way better then the past 3 albums. Expand
  3. May 2, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last twoAbsolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last two outings It never seemed like he was trying too hard which on the last two albums it always felt that way. Definitely at the top of his game once more. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2016
    9
    A Underrated album not by fans but for some idiot critics 59% Come on!!!

    Marilyn Manson is someone that deserves the name "Artist" because
    A Underrated album not by fans but for some idiot critics 59% Come on!!!

    Marilyn Manson is someone that deserves the name "Artist" because he's a genius 7.7 for fans is good 70 for critics at least deserves
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2012
    8
    A definite improvement over The High End of Low. There's some good catchy tracks on here, several very fast and heavy ones, and lots inA definite improvement over The High End of Low. There's some good catchy tracks on here, several very fast and heavy ones, and lots in between. I was going to compare it to one of his past albums, but it sounds pretty unique. I've heard people saying it's the best since Holy Wood, but I wouldn't go that far. I think Holy Wood had much more depth lyrically and was overall a better album, but if you're one of those people who was disappointed with the last 3 albums, you'll probably find this one pretty refreshing. Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    6
    Just above mediocre. Some tracks are poor (overneath the path of misery), others just dont quite work (youre so vain), or average (noJust above mediocre. Some tracks are poor (overneath the path of misery), others just dont quite work (youre so vain), or average (no reflection=boring). The rest has mainly been written well, but fails as it could have been simply sung better (too many to mention).. although there are one or two that are worth noting and are really great (lay down your goddamn arms, murderers are getting prettier every day). Overall theres still too much on here, and as a result is a very mixed bag-he really needs that vocal therapist in order to sing better, as theres a good songwriter in here.. but with some material worth noting, he's not quite dead yet. Some will argue that the last two albums were not as good, simply because they were less heavy tracks, but I prefer those albums to this-because I believe alot of this could have sounded or been sung better, I will regard this as a lazy effort. Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    0
    Awful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scaryAwful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scary anymore! And I love MM's good albums like mechanical animals, that was an album to appreciate! Expand

See all 27 User Reviews