• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Born Villain Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio album from Marilyn Manson was produced with Chris Vrenna.
  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, Industrial Metal, Industrial Dance
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. The eighth Marilyn Manson album features some of his finest lyrics yet and, musically, it often approaches the heyday of Holy Wood and Mechanical Animals.
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    78
    "Born Villain" finds a seemingly refreshed and clear-minded Manson and his band poring through a diverse set of moods and styles in songs that cut a little deeper than the deliberate provocation of many of his previous works.
  3. May 25, 2012
    70
    Like fine steak, Born Villain is at its best raw and bloody.
  4. 60
    The truth is, though, there's just a lack of magic, a lack of something special going on. It's not bad. It's not good.
  5. 50
    Subject matter such as the aforementioned romanticism is refreshing, and maybe that will be pushed to the foreground in future records, but it only appears in spurts on Born Villain.
  6. May 11, 2012
    40
    The sound of a middle-aged shock rocker long past his creative, controversial, and commercial peak trying to drag his the ball-and-chain of his career along as he trudges over the hill. Sadly, it's all rather predictable.
  7. 20
    If he tried to find something he liked, he might actually make something worth listening to.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last twoAbsolutely an incredible album all the way through. I think it is his best album since Holywood. The album felt more natural than the last two outings It never seemed like he was trying too hard which on the last two albums it always felt that way. Definitely at the top of his game once more. Expand
  2. May 4, 2012
    10
    nice and dirty feeling album that recaptures the essential MM spirit. feels nice and risqué again. makes a return to intriguenice and dirty feeling album that recaptures the essential MM spirit. feels nice and risqué again. makes a return to intrigue and interest away from simple motifs. Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    10
    Although critics were overly savaging on the previous 2 releases (Eat Me Drink Me and High End Of Low - which I could definitely appreciate asAlthough critics were overly savaging on the previous 2 releases (Eat Me Drink Me and High End Of Low - which I could definitely appreciate as a MM Fan) I feel this album is a lot more accessible to other than the die hard fans. Highlights include Overneath the Path of Misery, Slo-mo-tion (Pink Floyd's Learning to Fly anyone??),, the Flowers of Evil, Children of Cain, Murderers are getting Prettier and the title track along with first single No Refection bring together enough rock, contention along with the underlying Marilyn campness echoing aspects of Mechanical Animals to interest and influence both fans and newcomers alike - start from track 1 and play - welcome back! 9/10 Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    8
    Redirect to this page for better reviews of the album. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Born_Villain) Metacritic only seems to want to post theRedirect to this page for better reviews of the album. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Born_Villain) Metacritic only seems to want to post the bad reviews of albums lately. This is a great and solid album from Marilyn Manson! Makes me want to go back and listen to the last two and give them another chance! Manson have never gotten the recognition he deserves but lucky he doesn't care about all that bullsh*t. I give the album 4 out of 5 stars! KEY TRACKS: Hey, Cruel World..., No Reflection, Overneath the Path of Misery, Slo-Mo-Tion, The Gardener Expand
  5. May 2, 2012
    8
    Definitely a leg up from his 2 previous albums. Born Villain contains some of his best (and heaviest) tracks to date, if I say so myself. ADefinitely a leg up from his 2 previous albums. Born Villain contains some of his best (and heaviest) tracks to date, if I say so myself. A lot of people thought he was dead and gone, but this album says otherwise and proves them wrong. Perhaps his best work since Holy Wood. Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    6
    Just above mediocre. Some tracks are poor (overneath the path of misery), others just dont quite work (youre so vain), or average (noJust above mediocre. Some tracks are poor (overneath the path of misery), others just dont quite work (youre so vain), or average (no reflection=boring). The rest has mainly been written well, but fails as it could have been simply sung better (too many to mention).. although there are one or two that are worth noting and are really great (lay down your goddamn arms, murderers are getting prettier every day). Overall theres still too much on here, and as a result is a very mixed bag-he really needs that vocal therapist in order to sing better, as theres a good songwriter in here.. but with some material worth noting, he's not quite dead yet. Some will argue that the last two albums were not as good, simply because they were less heavy tracks, but I prefer those albums to this-because I believe alot of this could have sounded or been sung better, I will regard this as a lazy effort. Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    0
    Awful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scaryAwful. MM should think long and hard before he craps out another album. Not musical, no suspense whatsoever. Dude, you're just not scary anymore! And I love MM's good albums like mechanical animals, that was an album to appreciate! Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews