Boy In Da Corner

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 173

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2016
    5
    Just because it's one of the first if it's grime genre doesn't mean it is good. This album is good but brings nothing new or better to the table. If there is another album to listen to i wouldn't listen to it but if you have nothing else to listen to, give it a try, you might like it.
  2. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Dizzee Rascal is very original unique real and raw. He spits real rap with crazy british slang and a perspective from the british gangs. This album is one of the most original rap albums.
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    The perfect grime album! Intelligent lyrics, sick flow and perfect beats. This album gives British hip hop a good name and is a must buy! If you love British hip hop and grime, then you will love this album.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    The best album i have ever heard. Tells many different stories which rappers seem to lack. The sound is just great and would recommend to any rap fan especially UK rap fans.
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    I have been lucky enough to listen and enjoy a lot of music from almost every era and genre. "Boy In Da Corner" remains without a doubt my favourite album. Perhaps it's because I'm biased, being British like Dizzee Rascal, the MC, himself. I strongly feel that his much discussed accent and lyrical delivery should not act as barrier for potential new listeners. The album is at firstI have been lucky enough to listen and enjoy a lot of music from almost every era and genre. "Boy In Da Corner" remains without a doubt my favourite album. Perhaps it's because I'm biased, being British like Dizzee Rascal, the MC, himself. I strongly feel that his much discussed accent and lyrical delivery should not act as barrier for potential new listeners. The album is at first intimidating. Hostile beeps, eerie muttery voices and the atmospheric sounds of sprawling metropolises punctuate his music along with the ominous, bone shaking groans of bass that reverberate throughout his debut album. Many critics have noted how the album has a truly unique sound, which is no mean feat considering the lengths and breadths artists take to avoid producing derivative records in the 21st century. Dizzee Rascal exemplifies imagination and his wondrous creative output is not just limited to his actual music. His delivery, a kind of MC'ing Dizzee himself coined as "spitting", stands out, in my humble opinion, as some of the most electrifying lyricism in the history of song-writing. Dizzee Rascal spills out breathtaking poetry at a breakneck pace. He accomplishes this with such a panicked intensity you could almost believe that both Tupac Shakur and William Shakespeare stood alongside him in the studio with guns pointing to his head, baying him to reach the momentous heights of their respective talents. But Dizzee Rascal, AKA Dylan Mills, is not at all a crude amalgamation of the figures I just mentioned. He stands entirely on his own as an artist who has pioneered a ground-breaking form of music and as a songwriter who captured the toils of British inner city life in such vividness that he deserves all the credit he receives and infinitely more. Expand
  6. AKAsh
    Feb 22, 2009
    6
    For this album to rated higher then classics from Nas, 50 Cent ( I dont want to even mention other names). I cant belive that true hip hop fans would even rate him in the same categroy . Lyrics are very average and his voice makes us (uk) sound like are voices aren't broken. Not a Hater just a Truth Teller.
  7. OllieH
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Simply the best hip-hop (or whatever you want to call it) album I've ever heard. Dizzee's production is on par with that of El-p or Madlip (actually, he's way better than Madlib) and his rhymes are delivered with the grit and honesty. This isn't rap for the casual listener, this is dense, intelligent, and sincere hip hop.
  8. FrankD
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    This album really kicks ass ! It´s one of the most original rap albums of all time. Don´t miss it !!!
  9. Irrelevant
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Michael C--I'm not disputing the merits of this album, necessarily, but your including "Eric B." on a list of rap giants is just plain ignorant, since Eric B. did not rap. Rakim rapped. But thanks for playing. Maybe you should review rap albums in the context of rap music only when you have some clue as to what you're talking about.
  10. brianL
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    Close to perfection, starts to slack off slightly after Fix Up, Look Sharp, but picks up right again at Hold Ya Mouf. this is probably the best connection into urban UK music most people can get. good thing he's talented.
  11. BarryP
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    True they do sound stupid ash, probably some wannabe badboys or chavs. But there is no doubt this album is fuckin' wicked! Way better than his others, and better than any album Kano has released. It's rare to find so many songs on an album that i really like, there's about 8-9 out of 16 that i could listen to on loop one after the other. 'sikkkkkkkkkkkkkkk album bruv'.
  12. ashp
    Jul 27, 2007
    0
    'o all you guys chattin bout hip hop or garage and tryin to rate it by those standards better shh hut yuh muh', 'sikkkkkkkk album bruv 'sittin here' is a bad tune big up all my blazers!!!' 'standard dis album is big out here. no long ting straight up and down big' - to quote a few, do you know how stupid you sound seriously!
  13. ryans.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    sikkkkkkkk album bruv 'sittin here' is a bad tune big up all my blazers!!!
  14. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    An AMAZING album. Dizzee Rascal is a great artist and single handedly got me into the Grime genre.
  15. natahna
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    it is the best
  16. BlahBlah
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of all time
  17. Rachelxxx
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    well wat cn i sey except FKIN amazin!!!!this lad has so much talent lv im so much!!!!!!!keep it up Dizzy bbe xxxxx
  18. MichaelC
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    This is nearly an impossible listen to get all the way through in the first listen. You will simply be over-whelmed by all of it at first, but slowly it starts to make sense, and reveals itself as being original and smart. Even though I love the album as much as I do I have a hard time digesting it all in one listen, you'll know what I mean when you hear it. There isn't a dull This is nearly an impossible listen to get all the way through in the first listen. You will simply be over-whelmed by all of it at first, but slowly it starts to make sense, and reveals itself as being original and smart. Even though I love the album as much as I do I have a hard time digesting it all in one listen, you'll know what I mean when you hear it. There isn't a dull track on the album, they are all special in a serperate way. Dizzee's crazy amounts of flows puts him up there with the likes up Eric B, Tupac, Snoop, and Biggy, it truly is an amazing album, even if you don't like hip/hop you should still get this, in what i've found the "rap heads" have had a harder time grasping this album than the "rap haters" have. Do It! is one of the greatest songs of all. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    first of all: this is a GRIME album, so all you guys chattin bout hip hop or garage and tryin to rate it by those standards better shh hut yuh muh. "boy in the corner" is a genre-defining masterpiece, one of the first releases able to catch the raw energy of grime on record, and probably the very first one to do so in a commercially successful way.
  20. Pelicaine
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    This album is a beast, lyrically and musically. The lyrics are none of the multi-syllabic acrobatics used in today's American underground rap, but Dizzie still holds his own on the mic. The beats accompany what he has to say perfectly. The beats are well-put together pieces of ear candy of all sorts. I have yet to find anything that compares to this album. This CD will stretch and This album is a beast, lyrically and musically. The lyrics are none of the multi-syllabic acrobatics used in today's American underground rap, but Dizzie still holds his own on the mic. The beats accompany what he has to say perfectly. The beats are well-put together pieces of ear candy of all sorts. I have yet to find anything that compares to this album. This CD will stretch and blow your mind. One of the album's of the decade, if not century. Expand
  21. AdamS
    Oct 3, 2006
    1
    Proof positive that professional criticism is worthless. Listen to this album - you won't believe it. Track 6 ('Fix Up, Look Sharp') is the generally accepted "best" track on there.
  22. JustinD
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is one of my all time favorites. Nothing else like it.
  23. GiovanniO
    Aug 17, 2006
    2
    I tried hard to like this album. I don't give a puck if he is from Mars, or Europe for this case: he sounds too silly for me and I have heard 100X better beats in Fruity Loops. Believe me this is whack.
  24. richardj
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Best British and Hip-hop album for years, only some underground stuff can compete, looking forward to the new one! This still works bvery well and doesn;t date which is weird for Hip-HOp stuff! Buy this you won't be disappointed!
  25. JimbozZ.
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Best hip hop in years.
  26. SimonS
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    WOW! This album had me dancing like a fool for days.
  27. MichaelR
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Most original and gritty album ever. Clear to see the blend between electronic and the best and most real lyrics work superbly. clear to see he is the best british rapper ever produced
  28. MattP
    Sep 5, 2005
    5
    May be the most refreshing debut album of the new millenium.
  29. matta
    May 27, 2005
    7
    Maybe a little overrated (not as good as The Streets or Roots Manuva) but still very original and pretty fun to listen to. Brand New Day and I Luv You are amazing.
  30. Jordijordi
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    Showtime is also good, but Boy in da corner is still the best...
  31. standinuptall
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    this album is heavy stop dat is sik
  32. TaZzYRaScAl
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    dizzee is heavy az man i luv im t bitz im hiz no1 fan coz all his lyrics r real, love ya dizzy xxxxxxxxx
  33. chrisj
    Aug 20, 2004
    2
    2 is the number of songs that made my toe tap. i can't understand this guy!!! the sound of his voice makes my dog jump in the toilet.
  34. rtfreed
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    A great CD! It's great from beginning to end. I really like Sittin' Here, I Luv U and Fix Up, Look Sharp.
  35. Andreas
    Jul 17, 2004
    9
    This is DIFFERENT and I love that, and it's really funky. For those who doesn't feel this album, I think u should give it more time. The great albums sounds strange in the beginning, but becomes better better, and I feel that "Boy in da corner" is one of those.
  36. LozzaL
    Jul 4, 2004
    2
    This album is OVER-RATED. The shit is straight weird. I thought it was rap/hip hop...what i got was...just crap...some people told me its Garage.like the Streets...but the streets shits all over this album.
  37. Maestro
    Jun 29, 2004
    0
    Wow, am I the only one who isn't feeling this? The instruments are dated, Pacman-esque burps and chirps. Matched with a flow, while clever, is infinitely clouded not by Rascal's slang, but his seal bark delivery. Unlistenable, aside from "Fix Up..."
  38. cabling
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    da best beats around whether it is up or down
  39. jamied
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    in my eyes the best c d made in years also a superb new young mc on da music scene
  40. jimz
    May 28, 2004
    10
    this album is the biznuss!@! shouts from au
  41. Chronwell
    May 26, 2004
    9
    I think a few of these tunes could bump in clubs in the States. DR got that low budget Mannie Fresh production thing goin with the drum machines. Brilliant! Check out Wiley too!
  42. Skeemareppineastpappap!!!!!!wat
    May 18, 2004
    10
    standard dis album is big out here. no long ting straight up and down big
  43. ElTopo
    May 13, 2004
    10
    This is some shit right here.
  44. Norma..frOmhollandyeah
    May 1, 2004
    10
    flex!!!!
  45. Jojó
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    Simply one of the best hip hop ablums ever.
  46. TracyOkello
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    I think Corners a heavy album I've recommened it 2 bare brehdas coz at 1st I didnt lyk him den I listened 2 his album and ya nah I fell in luv wid it Peace...xx Laydee T
  47. danielw
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    dis albums nang but it cud do wit sum mixes feat wiley/roll deep but uva den dat its deep
  48. AkhilK
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    WOW! The best damn rapper i have ever listened to. And not only are the beats and rythm the best i've heard, the lyrics actually make sense..once you understand them.
  49. s.w.e.dnasty
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    dizzee rascal keep up the good work soldier the album is strong man , you could say yous a bad blad heheh
  50. dortrog
    Mar 26, 2004
    9
    trick boner
  51. waynef
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    ill album
  52. RudeBoy
    Mar 21, 2004
    10
    wot more can u want, sick lyrics, crazy flows, and a message, that is very rare these days with many fickle rappers, OH I FORGOT where is he from ENGLAND, how old is he 19. OUT OF THIS WORLD .
  53. BobJ
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    Simply Pimp
  54. sophier
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    shabby n tough
  55. briannas
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    dis album is heavy! da riddim hold ya mouf is da bomb! Go geddit!!!!
  56. beccaw
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    dope
  57. marks
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    this cd is the dogs bollacks!!!!! if you don't have it get it, u r missing out well bad!!!!!!!! this is the best album in the whole fucking world!!!!!
  58. hannahmelling
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    IT FUCKIN SICK N I LIKE IT A LOT
  59. AnonymousMC
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    raskit mercs dis album i'm ratin it @ 10 out of 10 cos its unique and aims @ whats really happening to the typical east, south london black man
  60. allyj
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    da album iz heavyyyyyyy !!! and dizzee iz propa buff *stop da violence increase da peace*
  61. DaCobra
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    Dutty album cant wait 4 wileys an all da rest 2 reach out daan eya trus Brapz 2 dizzee xx
  62. dopey
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis iz fat i is nevz eardz anyting like tis blood! respect 2 any1 who iz lovin tiz cd az much az me
  63. rubys
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis cd is sick its hevy keep it up RASKIT!!!!!!!!
  64. rubys
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis cd is sick its hevy keep it up RASKIT!!!!!!!!
  65. rubys
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis cd is sick its hevy keep it up RASKIT!!!!!!!!
  66. rubys
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis cd is sick its hevy keep it up RASKIT!!!!!!!!
  67. rubys
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    dis cd is sick its hevy keep it up RASKIT!!!!!!!!
  68. JeremyB
    Feb 1, 2004
    9
    Garage from a young star who's only beginning to rise. The hardest chainsaw blast lyrics and intelligent songwriting make Dizzee a sure thing. Fuckin' A!
  69. JamieW
    Jan 31, 2004
    10
    Go buy it!!!
  70. TimS
    Jan 30, 2004
    2
    Totally overrated. Don't believe the hype (this is feeble)!
  71. TKillah
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    Hard to tha core, a boy is flyin high. Copd that cd in canada. G'd up shit. Big up dizzee, keep it underground 4eva. Rool deep.
  72. charlottes
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    This album is da best iv bought in age. da best song is brand new day and jezebel cuz der like realy cool IM HIS BIGGEST FAN EVA!!!!!
  73. roberta
    Jan 26, 2004
    8
    original even in the darkest of corners.
  74. scottm
    Jan 23, 2004
    10
    it is sick........... i luv u is da best song. stop dat is class
  75. deec
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    Went to London on vacation. Saw Dizzee while over there. Solid album, with outerworldly beats. Some people will hate but they need to expand their idea of what rap is. I never heard of garage rap but the album is tight.
  76. kanderse
    Jan 22, 2004
    6
    Don't believe the hype. Cheap beats and high-pitched British accent to not mean innovation. As bad as 'The Streets'.
  77. GilbertMulroneycakesInTheField
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    "Who are these critics, and why do they love rapping with a British accent so much?" It's not a British accent, it's heavily West Indian. And "nothing special"? Come on, now. When you can drop this kind of sincere poetry about YOUR nonchalantly grim lifestyle, with so little apparent effort, that's when you get to say that. He's not much for talking - poor sod got "Who are these critics, and why do they love rapping with a British accent so much?" It's not a British accent, it's heavily West Indian. And "nothing special"? Come on, now. When you can drop this kind of sincere poetry about YOUR nonchalantly grim lifestyle, with so little apparent effort, that's when you get to say that. He's not much for talking - poor sod got sliced and diced for being supposedly "surly" at the Mercury Music Prize (an Album Of The Year award which is a bit of a Big Thing to win over here. He won) when he was just like a rabbit in the headlights. But who needs to talk when you can weave the truth like this? Boy's got talent. Expand
  78. WillB
    Jan 21, 2004
    8
    Dizze is a great MC by UK standards, however UK magazines and newspapers can only break artists off labels at least as big as XL (Dizze's label - also home to Prodigy & Basement Jaxx) - UK music right now does have some exciting MC's such as Fallacy, Rodney P etc... the problem is every time the papers pick up one act and say there the saviour of a UK scene - they do this with Dizze is a great MC by UK standards, however UK magazines and newspapers can only break artists off labels at least as big as XL (Dizze's label - also home to Prodigy & Basement Jaxx) - UK music right now does have some exciting MC's such as Fallacy, Rodney P etc... the problem is every time the papers pick up one act and say there the saviour of a UK scene - they do this with Basement Jaxx, however the UK dance scene has a cutting edge of artists like Adam Freeland, Freq Nasty, ILS, Tayo etc... making 130 breaks based music....hovever they'll never break in the US as the UK papers you see reviewing this album do not know what's going on.... Expand
  79. danielakabad-man
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    dis is sum deep stuff g.dizzee rascal is a bad man!!!
  80. KayneW
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    Hmmm....comin from a US point a view I think this CD is FRESH, EXCITING has HARDCORE BEATZ and most of all its got great party tunes and has lyrically serious tunes. Cop dis CD *Peace: 2004*
  81. StephanieLeigh
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    dis 1 of da best albums in istry an dizzee iz no.1 (i luv u dizzee)
  82. CraigG
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    "Jus Sittin' Here" is the best track on the album it is a rude boy album rascal runs da underground scence ya dun no!
  83. MCBaDgEronelove
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    yo this is the don blud keep it up dizzee peace out
  84. adrianp
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    this is of the hook your bless big it up and keep it up MC badger
  85. RapCzar
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    Just grabbed the import, he's the real deal, highly original, it blows the wrapping off the CD.
  86. WugBob
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    This is a fabulous album. Unproduced feeling rap, with innovative beats and original style. I don't listen to much rap, but when i hear a debut album like this one, it makes me feel i should.
  87. overrated
    Nov 8, 2003
    6
    Okay, but nothing special. Who are these critics, and why do they love rapping w/ a British accent so much?
  88. danl
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    Dis album is fresh, fly and frenzied! Cant get enuf of dis s*it! Dizzee is simply da best! Roll Deeeep!
  89. dizzeez_gal_4eva
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    dizzees ur lyricz r HETIC!!! u b keepin it raw man! bare sik!!! u got da "BLING~BLING!" xxx
  90. DylanM
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    This album is a wicked debut album and one of those great garage acts out there. It's so surreal and Dizzee has such a young talent.
  91. McJonesy
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    Phat CD, Diz geez iz da bad bwoi of garage!!!!!
  92. stephenh
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    no comments its a sick album
  93. MaartenW
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    Yeah biatch, I'm from Belgium and I fuckin' like this shit. Finally another big album in HipHop. Fuck Ja Rule!!!!!
  94. Lydia
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    dis album is def worth buyin its so different and the lyrics r heeeevy get it bst trak probs 10 or 12
  95. lauraw
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    dis is a phat albulm, n all ya chats go wel wit cha own beats, keep it up u wil go far!!!! love 2 cha!!! if ur eva in romford gi me a chat bak XXXXXXXXXXXX
  96. angeliquea
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    da album 's da HEAVY it's TIK TIK BOOM
  97. BryanC
    Sep 12, 2003
    7
    Not easy listening, no life changer but hard and fresh. By the way, it is just me or do most of the other reviews on this page seem concocted by the same person using different pseudonyms?
  98. LadyRascal_BumTings
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    Big up Dizzee Raskit. Dis album is Blingin. Rascal is da Sickest Mc out der. He's a cold lyricist! ''Luv talks 2 everyone, Money talks more'' !!!!!
  99. SamS
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    Dizzee Keeps it Real, Raw & Street 10/10 and Totaly desrved to win The Mercury Music Prize
  100. billallen
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    sick sick album
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Q Magazine
    70
    [A] strikingly stark and innovative debut. [Sep 2003, p.102]
  2. It all makes for a bleak spread, but Rascal rises up as a singular musical presence too brimming and perceptive to let the coarse world around him pass by untouched.
  3. Blender
    80
    His hard-edged, dance-inflected debut makes East London sound like the new Dirty South. [Jan 2004, p.108]