brand new eyes - Paramore
brand new eyes Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the band's second album was produced by Rob Cavallo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. brand new eyes astonishes from start to finish. [Oct 2009, p.111]
  2. With instantly infectious attitude and a seemingly unending supply of irresistible hooks, Brand New Eyes comes close to perfecting the emo-rock art.
  3. This is a realisation, and an affirmation, of Paramore's musical craftmanship and potential longevity.
  4. Paramore is certainly a sharp enough unit that doesn’t lack for energy, and Brand New Eyes features enough interesting ideas to take notice. All it needs is to double the ones it has, and it’ll be a band that’s foolish to ignore.
  5. The anthemic, celebratory songs that made Riot! so appealing were largely absent, but the band found a new way to rock during those sessions, prizing catharsis and nuanced arrangements above the hooks of albums past.
  6. Williams leads the five-piece throughout this charged-up record that rarely comes up for air.
  7. 60
    Quality control dips during the last quarter, but this is a reassuring step forward. [Nov 2009, p.94]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Paramore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. BrandParamore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. Brand New Eyes is exactly what a punk album should be: uncompromising, powerful, soulful, and inspired. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    con canciones espectaculares debido a ritmos excelentes y contagiosos paramore avanza un a un nuevo nivel de excelencia.
    este álbum le
    con canciones espectaculares debido a ritmos excelentes y contagiosos paramore avanza un a un nuevo nivel de excelencia.
    este álbum le encantara a los fans y los que los escuchan por primera vez sera una gran oportunidad para que escuchen una de las mejores bandas de rock alternativo
    Expand
  3. DjoniM.
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This album is totally fresh and charming. I think Paramore just did an awesome job with this.
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Fantastic. This album ticks all the right boxes, and very few of the wrong ones, if any. A fantastic mix of soft music, loud music and fastFantastic. This album ticks all the right boxes, and very few of the wrong ones, if any. A fantastic mix of soft music, loud music and fast music, but it was still Paramore, and not once did I doubt that *looks over at the self titled album and grimaces* not mentioning any names.... Still, this album is perfect except from one song, and that's just personal opinion. By far Paramore's best album, and I hope for more like this in the future. Expand
  5. ChloeA
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    The album is so awesome. One of the best rock albums of 2009. Pure genius by an awesome band.
  6. DemitriW
    Sep 30, 2009
    7
    Solid improvement from Riot! in my opinion.. Though i thought the guitar held back the rest of the bands ambitions which i felt through Solid improvement from Riot! in my opinion.. Though i thought the guitar held back the rest of the bands ambitions which i felt through Haley's harsher singing and the wild energetic drumming ( I'd comment on the bassist if i heard him more often). Not the best album this year but definitely worth a listen. There'll be a song you'll like on there somewhere. Expand
  7. Penelopec
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This album sucks.

See all 43 User Reviews