brand new eyes

brand new eyes Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the band's second album was produced by Rob Cavallo.

Top Track

Ignorance
If I'm a bad person, you don't like me Well, I guess I'll make my own way It's a circle, a mean cycle I can't excite you anymore Where's your gavel?... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Alternative Press
    90
    brand new eyes astonishes from start to finish. [Oct 2009, p.111]
  2. Brand New Eyes shows that they have the potential--now they've just got to live up to it and create the classic album the fans know they can make.
  3. 80
    The upgrade is one of focus and intensity.
  4. By sheer strength of will the band has salvaged an album that could have just been a derivative mess and created something pretty damn good in the process, and for that brand new eyes should be praised while we await something even greater from these boys (and girl).
  5. Paramore is certainly a sharp enough unit that doesn’t lack for energy, and Brand New Eyes features enough interesting ideas to take notice. All it needs is to double the ones it has, and it’ll be a band that’s foolish to ignore.
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    Brand New Eyes sounds like an energised romp through the diary of a small-town American gal--albeit one struggling to reconcile Christian views with the celebrity afforded by more than two million album sales. [Nov 2009, p.111]
  7. Some of the sweeping moments blunt the band's fresh-faced immediacy--as if the cute kids from the sticks have had a hard ime turning pro.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Paramore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. BrandParamore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. Brand New Eyes is exactly what a punk album should be: uncompromising, powerful, soulful, and inspired. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    definitely my favorite Paramore album! All songs are wonderful. Paramore has always given albums where every song is good, and this is nodefinitely my favorite Paramore album! All songs are wonderful. Paramore has always given albums where every song is good, and this is no different. Great lyrics, and catchy beats. Expand
  3. DjoniM.
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This album is totally fresh and charming. I think Paramore just did an awesome job with this.
  4. BradM.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    Amazing, for a band so young. i want to hear more already. Misguided ghosts, all i wanted, the only exception are so well written.
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Brand New Eyes is Paramore's brand new direction. It's brilliant and gives off the best of the band. I love the song and the band's growthBrand New Eyes is Paramore's brand new direction. It's brilliant and gives off the best of the band. I love the song and the band's growth lyrically and musically. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Brand New Eyes isn't much more than Riot! -- in fact, there aren't many notable differences at all. And yet the maturity of Williams' vocalsBrand New Eyes isn't much more than Riot! -- in fact, there aren't many notable differences at all. And yet the maturity of Williams' vocals and songwriting is highly noticeable, as well as the band's performance overall. "Careful" is a rocking, yet emotional jumpstart into what the rest of the songs are going to sound like, whilst "Ignorance" shows a bit more of a dark side of Williams. "The Only Exception" is a cheesy, but enlightened power ballad that will certainly pleases fans of Avril Lavigne, while "All I Wanted" is a darker, more Kelly Clarkson-influenced ballad that perfectly defines "an emo day".

    Brand New Eyes may not be the greatest pop punk album, but it is certainly the band's greatest. Paramore are, in fact, a fun rock band.
    Expand
  7. Penelopec
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This album sucks.

See all 46 User Reviews