brand new eyes

brand new eyes Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to the band's second album was produced by Rob Cavallo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Alternative Press
    90
    brand new eyes astonishes from start to finish. [Oct 2009, p.111]
  2. Brand New Eyes shows that they have the potential--now they've just got to live up to it and create the classic album the fans know they can make.
  3. 80
    The upgrade is one of focus and intensity.
  4. By sheer strength of will the band has salvaged an album that could have just been a derivative mess and created something pretty damn good in the process, and for that brand new eyes should be praised while we await something even greater from these boys (and girl).
  5. Paramore is certainly a sharp enough unit that doesn’t lack for energy, and Brand New Eyes features enough interesting ideas to take notice. All it needs is to double the ones it has, and it’ll be a band that’s foolish to ignore.
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    Brand New Eyes sounds like an energised romp through the diary of a small-town American gal--albeit one struggling to reconcile Christian views with the celebrity afforded by more than two million album sales. [Nov 2009, p.111]
  7. Some of the sweeping moments blunt the band's fresh-faced immediacy--as if the cute kids from the sticks have had a hard ime turning pro.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Paramore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. BrandParamore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. Brand New Eyes is exactly what a punk album should be: uncompromising, powerful, soulful, and inspired. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    This is what Alternative should be like. Paramore has really matured since the days of Riot! with Hayley Williams showing off her stunningThis is what Alternative should be like. Paramore has really matured since the days of Riot! with Hayley Williams showing off her stunning song writing and vocal skills. The band also puts up a more mature ballad (The Only Exception), reminiscent of 'When it Rains'. They also show off their more powerful rock chops on 'Careful' and 'Ignorance'. By far, the standout track has to be 'Brick By Boring Brick', a masterpiece on many different levels. All and all, Paramore has showed incredible maturity and poise since their last two albums, and quite frankly, this is what all Alternative bands should stride to be like. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2016
    10
    This and All We Know Is Falling are my favorite albums of them, and I don't understand why self-titled, with all my love to it, is their mostThis and All We Know Is Falling are my favorite albums of them, and I don't understand why self-titled, with all my love to it, is their most acclaimed album by such a big difference. Anyways, the songs on this album are amazing- musically, lyrically and vocally (and all that is in between). My favorite is Turn It Off. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Fantastic. This album ticks all the right boxes, and very few of the wrong ones, if any. A fantastic mix of soft music, loud music and fastFantastic. This album ticks all the right boxes, and very few of the wrong ones, if any. A fantastic mix of soft music, loud music and fast music, but it was still Paramore, and not once did I doubt that *looks over at the self titled album and grimaces* not mentioning any names.... Still, this album is perfect except from one song, and that's just personal opinion. By far Paramore's best album, and I hope for more like this in the future. Expand
  5. Aliciar
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    They have really matured as artists some of the songs were abit slow compare to riot! but it is still an amazing album.
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Brand New Eyes might not have ventured very far from the pop-punk sound established on the band's 2007 predecessor Riot! But that's not at allBrand New Eyes might not have ventured very far from the pop-punk sound established on the band's 2007 predecessor Riot! But that's not at all an excuse to critique a generally honest and uplifting album that manages to explore dark subjects in a positive way. From its headbanging yet thoughtful opener "Careful" to the highlight of the album and one of the band's most memorable hits, "Ignorance", to the top 40 tailored yet honest "The Only Exception" to its dramatic ending ballad "All I Wanted" which is strangely similar to that of Kelly Clarkson's Breakaway era, Brand New Eyes is a charming third studio effort that's charming and although it doesn't reach new ground, it's overall a success. Expand
  7. Penelopec
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This album sucks.

See all 48 User Reviews