Break It Yourself

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    There's quite honestly nothing more desirable than a very well constructed pop record. In this case, for Andrew Bird it's a very well constructed baroque/chamber pop record with "Break It Yourself". This certainly isn't an easy listen at first, maybe not likely you'll enjoy it fully the second or third time, but the moment "Break It Yourself" slivers it's way onto repeat is the day you'llThere's quite honestly nothing more desirable than a very well constructed pop record. In this case, for Andrew Bird it's a very well constructed baroque/chamber pop record with "Break It Yourself". This certainly isn't an easy listen at first, maybe not likely you'll enjoy it fully the second or third time, but the moment "Break It Yourself" slivers it's way onto repeat is the day you'll fall in love with music all over again. For fans of smart, beautifully orchestrated chamber pop need not listen to Belle & Sebastian anymore. You can finally rely on another artist to fix your itch. Andrew Birds's lyrics quickly become a commodity to your everyday life. The instrumentals are always nice on the ears. Not to mention, Andrew Bird is a fantastic vocalists.

    All In All, To anyone just discovering Andrew Bird, prepare for life to be truly enlightened. A-
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2012
    10
    B4 this album Andrew Bird showed everyone how awesome he is with the violin.... Now he just showed us why hes the best musician out there today! you gotta love 'em and if you have not heard this album yet.... what u waiting 4? you must ASAP! hes a musical god!!!!!!!!! between you and me i teared up a bit
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    This album has one of my favourite opening tracks of any album I've heard in "Desperation Breeds...". Lovely guitars, violin plucking, sublime violin playing, whistling and an all round diamond of a tune. The album is worth having for this song alone. The album never quite reaches the same heights again but the standard doesn't drop too far throughout. This artist is really easy to listenThis album has one of my favourite opening tracks of any album I've heard in "Desperation Breeds...". Lovely guitars, violin plucking, sublime violin playing, whistling and an all round diamond of a tune. The album is worth having for this song alone. The album never quite reaches the same heights again but the standard doesn't drop too far throughout. This artist is really easy to listen to - his mix of guitars and violin create a really pleasant sound and his songs always seem to have a positive up-beat feel to them. Lusitania is a prime example - just really lovely songs. The more you listen to it the better it gets as well. He stands out from the rest of the pack of singer songwriters. On the negative - as is the case with a few of his records, probably a track or two too long. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Andrew Bird is a genius. Plain and simple. It's hard to chose a best song on this album, as well as to chose a best album from all his albums. All I know is that Andrew Bird has a clear vision and is always true to himself. His skills with the violin are unmatched. His compositions are grand and communicate a greatness that is always a pleasure to behold. I can't wait to see what he doesAndrew Bird is a genius. Plain and simple. It's hard to chose a best song on this album, as well as to chose a best album from all his albums. All I know is that Andrew Bird has a clear vision and is always true to himself. His skills with the violin are unmatched. His compositions are grand and communicate a greatness that is always a pleasure to behold. I can't wait to see what he does next but at least I will have Break It Yourself to listen to until that day comes. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    An absolutely amazing set of songs. Andrew bird has once again created and incredible record. The album has great tunes whistling (as always) and some really unique new sounds as well. Best tracks: Danse Carribe, Give it Away, and I really like Lazy Projector
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    A great album by Andrew Bird. Nothing short of what we'd expect from him. Beautiful Lyrics, beautiful melodies and a haunting mood throughout the album that makes it just that much better
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    This album is the Mysterious Production of Eggs returned (7 years traveling the world) ! I feel this has the sound of an evolved Andrew Bird. You get the atmosphere of music, like you were seeing him live, and can feel the emotion in the recording of this album. Armchair Apo fell short of the sound that we have been missing.

    Andrew you got to stop avoiding touring in Florida! My
    This album is the Mysterious Production of Eggs returned (7 years traveling the world) ! I feel this has the sound of an evolved Andrew Bird. You get the atmosphere of music, like you were seeing him live, and can feel the emotion in the recording of this album. Armchair Apo fell short of the sound that we have been missing.

    Andrew you got to stop avoiding touring in Florida! My friends, and family have not got to experience one of the live performances.
    .
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 14, 2012
    90
    Put simply, it's lovely.
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    90
    The 14 tracks here rank among some of the best Bird's ever done.
  3. Magnet
    Apr 6, 2012
    80
    Packed to the brim with moments of tonal and melodic transcendence. [#86, p.51]