Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 75
    There's a serious hard-rock record lurking deep in Chris Daughtry's clean-shaven skull.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    71
    It all sounds sturdy and fits comfortably down the middle, more dependable than daring.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Often, Break the Spell harks back to the glory days of the late '80s, when rockers played golden gods all for the sake of video cameras, secure in the knowledge that heavy rotation on MTV and AOR radio would shift millions of CDs.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    63
    This is by-the-numbers arena rock, played with muscular competence by a relatively young band showing off its chops by executing successful formulas.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    60
    Terrific songwriting and clean, polished production.
  6. 50
    Regrettably, Break The Spell never fulfills its mission of delivering an unabashed rock effort and genuine nuggets of musical magic are few and far between.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    40
    Unlike Nickelback, Daughtry offers recognizable human emotions, even if they are rendered clumsily.
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    30
    That lack of a distinctive style or voice also means that Daughtry isn't pulling focus from the simple and effective construction of their songs, which is pretty much the only thing they do well.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. HMW
    Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This is an awesome CD. I loves all the songs. My favorite songs are Crawling Back To You, Spaceship, Break The Spell, and Outta My Head. ThisThis is an awesome CD. I loves all the songs. My favorite songs are Crawling Back To You, Spaceship, Break The Spell, and Outta My Head. This album is a must buy. I would get the deluxe edition because it was 4 more songs and they are very good also. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    i think this is the best album they ever made rock is back and its better than ever! im so sick of all the pop crap! and hip hop **** daughtryi think this is the best album they ever made rock is back and its better than ever! im so sick of all the pop crap! and hip hop **** daughtry and nickelback are kicking ass!!! Full Review »