Breathe - Leaves
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 83
    It's such a confident display that you barely notice the English-as-a-second-language lyrics. [Nov 2003, p.117]
  2. 80
    Music at its most passionate. [Sep 2002, p.112]
  3. A slow-burning but deeply impressive debut. [Sep 2002, p.109]
  4. Leaves sound zeitgeisty and minty-fresh enough to inject some cold fire into the soft-rocking mainstream.
  5. 70
    Filled with sweeping, modern day mini-symphonies that brim with operatic highs and poetic lows. [#23, p.94]
  6. There's an abundance of softly slashing guitar, an air of sophistication writ indelibly large by its orchestration (with the string-laden weepie 'Epitaph' as probably the outstanding example), and, wrapped in Arnar's strong tones, there's more moodyness than you can shake a particularly angsty stick at.
  7. Despite solid songwriting, glimmering production, and a broad palette of emotions, Breathe shows the Leaves' potential more than anything else.
  8. Rather than being enjoyable, listening to Breathe in its entirety soon becomes a chore.
  9. 40
    It trades the epic scope of their more established countrymen for a stab at pop accessibility. [Nov 2003, p.116]
  10. Breathe is fine for what it is, but each time Leaves bandleader Arnar Gudjonsson launches into yet another midtempo space-rocker in which he shifts from a mushy monotone croon to a lilting falsetto, the move becomes less a genuine expression of personal style and more a shameless attempt to get with the new rock mainstream.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. ZoddM
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    I recently found out about this band and although I don't listen to the whole album, half of it blows me away. I can see the Coldplay I recently found out about this band and although I don't listen to the whole album, half of it blows me away. I can see the Coldplay (who I don't really listen to) comparisons but I'd say this group is more effective in harnessing the power of under-used harmony and chord progression (a la Radiohead) but delivering it in an accessible, mainstream pop package. Some really great refreshing pop-rock songs on here... I can only assume the lack of promotion is the reason it hasn't caught on. Full Review »
  2. JenT
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    I heard them for the first time a week ago.. i already have the album, i know that the next one is supposed to be released spring '05, I heard them for the first time a week ago.. i already have the album, i know that the next one is supposed to be released spring '05, so yeah, i think that this album is pretty good. Full Review »
  3. BrunoR
    Jan 13, 2005
    9
    This album is one of my favorites... the band uses a kind of strange power to get where they want, and this aspec is great. I can't wait This album is one of my favorites... the band uses a kind of strange power to get where they want, and this aspec is great. I can't wait for a new release. Full Review »