Bright Like Neon Love Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This debut by Australian Dan Whitford mixes retro-synth pop with some guitars and live instrumentation.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 91
    The live guitars and drums--and vocals more emo than robo--give off an irresistible warmth. [Aug 2004, p.108]
  2. Bright Like Neon Love feels like the record The Human League could have made if they’d remade Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours in 1985. It’s like the soundtrack to the best party you’ve never been too, but always wish you had.
  3. Bright Like Neon Love may be too rock for the dance heads and too dance for the rockists, but for those without ideological hang-ups, it should be merely one of the most fun and exciting releases of the year.
  4. The results are both familiar and fresh and should delight anyone disappointed by New Order's recent album.
  5. Sounds sort of like a cross between a more mainstream New Order and Daft Punk.
  6. In the end it's Whitford's sincerity that saves the album. His refusal to get cutesy means that Bright Like Neon Love avoids being a cloying, "ironic" exercise in postmodern cheese.
  7. 70
    [An] effervescent, sun-dappled debut. [Aug 2005, p.103]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    I found them on Spotify....I listened to just a few songs of theirs and was unimpressed. However, a couple months later I found a song ofI found them on Spotify....I listened to just a few songs of theirs and was unimpressed. However, a couple months later I found a song of theirs off a soundtrack and was blown away by it. I embarked on a Cut Copy journey and discovered how diverse and capable this group is. Fun, catchy, and even sometimes inspirational tracks that I just love to chill to. I would venture to say that Cut Copy is one of my new favorite groups. Give them a chance, that is all I ask. Expand
  2. JohannK.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    I can't believe I'm discovering this album now (2008), it's an amazing album, it's like a fresh cocktail of something old I can't believe I'm discovering this album now (2008), it's an amazing album, it's like a fresh cocktail of something old like the 90's and something futuristic that you can't quite see but with that cocktail in my hand I dance on without any worries of what's to come! Expand
  3. RickW.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    One of the most consistent and fun albums ive ever encountered...and ive only listened to it twice so far.
  4. RobertB
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    At first I thought this album was strictly forbidden guilty pleasure fare, but the more I listened the more I realized this is exactly what At first I thought this album was strictly forbidden guilty pleasure fare, but the more I listened the more I realized this is exactly what electro-clash should've sounded like, but didn't. (It got too fixated on NY downtown/German cabaret guttersex fetishism, I think). It IS retro, and it does exclusively and shamelessly mine the synth-drenched breathiness of lesser 80 bands, but it is made with such conviction and precision that it hardly matters. Really, really fun music. Collapse
  5. smithsgirl
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    What a great album! Sheer fun, and guaranteed to lift your spirits. Cut Copy share the same record label as The Avalanches whose Since I Left What a great album! Sheer fun, and guaranteed to lift your spirits. Cut Copy share the same record label as The Avalanches whose Since I Left You album, is (probably) the best album ever. Whcih is why I only give this a 9. Bright Like Neon Love is sun soaked pop genius, shimmering, infectious, and totally addictive. Try it out! Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    The combination of 80's synth and dance with an obvious pop/rock influence is something fresh and makes for a great listen. It serves as aThe combination of 80's synth and dance with an obvious pop/rock influence is something fresh and makes for a great listen. It serves as a belter for the dance floor but also if you just want to sit back, relax and enjoy. Expand
  7. TimL.
    Sep 6, 2008
    0
    Terrible, just terrible.

See all 12 User Reviews