Bring on the Comets

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Margraf
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Maybe I'm not trendy, but this album rocks. They set out what they wanted to do - make a pop record. Referencing the past makes this a tad recycled, but funner than a bunch of other stuff out there. This is why I'm not a critic, but I LOVE this album!
  2. JoseG.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    I was worried after reading some negative reviews, but it turns out I really like this!
  3. MarcH
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Even better than there first. Don't miss this one!
  4. JackH.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Love this record!!!. All you little wannabe contributing writers with sticks up your asses suck. You just don't know good music. Glad to see the majority still have good taste though!
  5. JillianD
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Whatever dudes. The album is much better than you're giving them credit for. Go see them live, then listen to it. It helps you understand their personality as a band better. So maybe you people could lay off the album, make an effort to actually appreciate something, and stop trying to be witty and funny... it's not working.
  6. MicheleP.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    I can't stop listening to this album. Each time I hear it, I have a new favorite song. As of now the entire album is a fave. Not sure why all the so called "critics" dislike it so much. It's music, just enjoy it, and stop analyzing it to death.
  7. VictorH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Love it!
  8. JoeR
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Can't believe people are ripping on this album, either. It's great stuff- the songs are smartly played and catchy as all hell! I'd been aware of the band before, but never really checked them out until this album. After being completely engrossed by it, I went back and listened to their early work, and BRING ON THE COMETS far surpasses anything they did before. This one is Can't believe people are ripping on this album, either. It's great stuff- the songs are smartly played and catchy as all hell! I'd been aware of the band before, but never really checked them out until this album. After being completely engrossed by it, I went back and listened to their early work, and BRING ON THE COMETS far surpasses anything they did before. This one is easily in my Top 10 for the year. Expand
  9. StevenH.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    This album is certainly a change for the band....but it's much more of a natural progression than most are making it out to be. I have no idea why this album is being ripped as hard as it has been, it's very good.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    Their third albums smells less of revivalist chic than tribute-band nostalgia. New wave knockoffs have rarely sounded so old.
  2. Spin
    30
    Bring on the Comets is ultimately a bland regression. [Sep 2007, p.138]99
  3. For the most part, singer-songwriter Craig Pfunder doesn't justify the presence of vocals and lyrics.