• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Dec 3, 2013
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 629 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    5
    What has happened to Britney? Some songs are great whereas others just fall completely flat especially the overproduced generic dance songs. The standout tracks have to be 'Work B***ch' and 'Passenger' but the letdowns are definitely 'It Should Be Easy' and 'Tik Tik Boom'. But considering that by averaging out the 14 songs scores on the deluxe edition I got 5.43 it shows that this album isWhat has happened to Britney? Some songs are great whereas others just fall completely flat especially the overproduced generic dance songs. The standout tracks have to be 'Work B***ch' and 'Passenger' but the letdowns are definitely 'It Should Be Easy' and 'Tik Tik Boom'. But considering that by averaging out the 14 songs scores on the deluxe edition I got 5.43 it shows that this album is actually mediocre. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    This album is just extremely underwhelming.

    Quote for truth:

    "I felt that although Work ***** and Perfume are the standout tracks, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this is her laziest album - she does not focus on her range and power in her vocals. The rest of her songs are poor, average at best..."
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    6
    Although Britney Spears went out of her comfort zone by writing all of the songs in the album and had the best vocals for more personal songs that she has ever done, Britney Jean is not quite her personal album due to her choice of producers and its EDM genre. However, Britney Jean will satisfy her long-time fans regardless.

    Highlights: Alien, Work *censored* and Chillin' With You
    Although Britney Spears went out of her comfort zone by writing all of the songs in the album and had the best vocals for more personal songs that she has ever done, Britney Jean is not quite her personal album due to her choice of producers and its EDM genre. However, Britney Jean will satisfy her long-time fans regardless.

    Highlights: Alien, Work *censored* and Chillin' With You
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Alien, It Should Be Easy, Tik Tik Boom and Chillin' With You
    Personal Favorites: Alien, Work *censored*, Perfume and It Should Be Easy
    Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    Decepcionado... poucas músicas salvam... sem falar que o FF tava muito melhor produzido que esse lixo... decepcionado com a Britney... eu nem sei o que falar de um album pessoal cuja 50% das músicas são eletropop.... aff
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    Britney Jean is Britney Spears' weakest effort yet. I appreciate what she's trying to do, but at the end of the day who wants a ''personal'' Britney Spears album? It's generally quite boring, but the high points are ''Alien'', ''Perfume'' and ''Til It's Gone''.
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    5
    Her personal album? I don't really think its really 'personal'. It just another Will.I.Am production, wished she ventured more. Certain songs have very cheap beats but overall its 'okay'
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    5
    Wow, this album is extremely underwhelming. I'm a new Britney Spears fan (I do know many of her hits and non-singles from the start up to 'Femme Fatale') and she's extremely talented and a great singer-songwriter, but almost this whole album is a complete mess. The only songs I felt were really catchy, enjoyable and just plain bad*** were "Work "Perfume" and "Brightest Morning Song".Wow, this album is extremely underwhelming. I'm a new Britney Spears fan (I do know many of her hits and non-singles from the start up to 'Femme Fatale') and she's extremely talented and a great singer-songwriter, but almost this whole album is a complete mess. The only songs I felt were really catchy, enjoyable and just plain bad*** were "Work "Perfume" and "Brightest Morning Song". There were 2 or 3 songs that were meh, but overall it just wasn't impressive. Expand
  8. Dec 8, 2013
    6
    This concept album lacks a strong concept. "My man left me... I'm an independent woman, now watch all these producers take the soul out of my shallow lyrics." Download: Body Ache (not Acne as I originally thought it was called), Perfume.
  9. May 14, 2014
    4
    The problem with britney jean was that it was marketed as a "personal" album when it's just a bunch of club songs put together(and if they didn't tell us it's a britney spears album, it would take some time to believe that). You know, all that generic dubstep and electronic heavy synths everyone has been releasing all over the pop scene for a while now, but the problem with that is:The problem with britney jean was that it was marketed as a "personal" album when it's just a bunch of club songs put together(and if they didn't tell us it's a britney spears album, it would take some time to believe that). You know, all that generic dubstep and electronic heavy synths everyone has been releasing all over the pop scene for a while now, but the problem with that is: britney is not a generic singer and should not follow that way, she's much more unique, but with "britney jean" she(or will.i.am, for that matter) tries to say the absolute opposite. Expand
  10. Jun 20, 2014
    5
    Britney ainda soa legal,mas seu album acabou ficando mediano,torço pra que o proximo album seja maravilhoso.
    Saia dessa tour por hotéis e mostre que você a princesa,Britney ****
  11. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    This album is the worst Career Spears.
    We want our princess back, not only does this woman "hits".
    Highlight for Perfume and Passenger.
    Work may be cool but it was hard to get used.
  12. Sep 11, 2014
    5
    Britney Jean foi um dos piores erros de sua carreira. Por dois motivos: Falta de divulgação e falta de músicas boas. As melhores músicas são: Passenger,Alien,Chillin With You e Now That I Found You.
  13. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    Eu sou um grande fã de Britney. Mas eu não sou obrigado a aceitar tudo o que ela faz e achar tudo perfeito. Britney Jean é o maior erro na carreira de Britney. Depois de anunciar will.i.am como produtor do álbum, tudo ficou diferente. O que era pra ser um Blackout 2.0 não foi nem de longe um Blackout 2.0. Muitas faixas que nem parecem ser dela, faixas que parecem que foram descartadas doEu sou um grande fã de Britney. Mas eu não sou obrigado a aceitar tudo o que ela faz e achar tudo perfeito. Britney Jean é o maior erro na carreira de Britney. Depois de anunciar will.i.am como produtor do álbum, tudo ficou diferente. O que era pra ser um Blackout 2.0 não foi nem de longe um Blackout 2.0. Muitas faixas que nem parecem ser dela, faixas que parecem que foram descartadas do album do will.i.am. Agora é esperar pra ver o que vem por aí. Britney ainda tem muito potencial pra fazer mais um álbum maravilhoso! Expand
  14. Oct 4, 2014
    6
    I thought this was a personal album, but isn't, I'm kinda disappointed about it. The sound is a good electronic and dance-pop. The lyrics is not the best thing. My fav: Tik Tik Boom.
  15. Dec 3, 2013
    4
    I think it is one of the worst works of Britney. It has some songs like "Alien" or "It Should Be Easy" that catch me at the first look but are quite normal, others are so bad. Femme Fatale is a masterpiece in comparation with this álbum. will.iam and Guetta are so good producers, but I think she shouldn't has worked in all songs with them, it didn't work. It's not a bad álbum, but II think it is one of the worst works of Britney. It has some songs like "Alien" or "It Should Be Easy" that catch me at the first look but are quite normal, others are so bad. Femme Fatale is a masterpiece in comparation with this álbum. will.iam and Guetta are so good producers, but I think she shouldn't has worked in all songs with them, it didn't work. It's not a bad álbum, but I expected more. Expand
  16. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    This britney LP is divided on two parts... the good and the bad. the good is the edm influenced songs with her amazing single work the bad is the stupid popsy one with perfume and the anoying jaime lynne feature. so britney give us an EP and 6 tracks of trash.
  17. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    Agradável de se ouvir ALGUMAS FAIXAS grandes Musicas fazem parte do CD. Algum Razoável Britney já nós mostrou musicas melhores.

    Destaco como uma das melhores Alien.
  18. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    This album is surprisingly full of dance pop tracks which is unexpected as she stated that this album was the most personal album yet. Most of the songs are impersonal and shows a lack of personality. I still like some of the songs as some songs are worth listening to. Overall, my excitement was ruined when listening to the album and I think she uses T.I. & Jamie Lynn's support to hide theThis album is surprisingly full of dance pop tracks which is unexpected as she stated that this album was the most personal album yet. Most of the songs are impersonal and shows a lack of personality. I still like some of the songs as some songs are worth listening to. Overall, my excitement was ruined when listening to the album and I think she uses T.I. & Jamie Lynn's support to hide the fact that this album is just average. I am 50/50 about this album but I don't think Britney has shown her real personality yet. People are just giving this album five stars just because they like Britney personally. I really had high hopes for this album but this album doesn't even meet expectations of other average albums like 'ARTPOP' or 'PRISM'. Britney is slipping but I do praise her for the amount of input she had on this album. I just think this album was a little rushed and fails to show Britney's potential. I'm not sure how you will feel when buying this album but it's your opinion that matters. Just remember that Britney Spears' album was slammed by critics.
    On a high side, The highlights were Alien, Work B**ch, Passenger & Now That I Found You. Alien was really unique and was nothing like I ever heard before. The songs I enjoyed the most were Passenger & Now That I Found You (which are on loop on my phone) as I praise the song instrumentally and lyrically.
    I'm being quite generous of my rating on this album as I think this album deserves an overall rate of 50%. But this album does match Britney's personality and is not that personal at all. Next time Britney, tell will.i.am to stay far away from your music as possible in the future (he is the one to blame!!!!)
    Expand
  19. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    I gave it a 6 because its a good album but my expectations were to high. All the producers spent months saying things like "she's no using auto-tune" or "not so EDM, dub-step is off the picture" and even the "Blackout 2.0" thing. Now I know EVERYTHING WAS A LIE. Will.I.Am was the main producer of this album so you can guess how every dance song sounds. There are also some really goodI gave it a 6 because its a good album but my expectations were to high. All the producers spent months saying things like "she's no using auto-tune" or "not so EDM, dub-step is off the picture" and even the "Blackout 2.0" thing. Now I know EVERYTHING WAS A LIE. Will.I.Am was the main producer of this album so you can guess how every dance song sounds. There are also some really good ballads making this album the most personal of Britney's career and the concept is fine for me but I still kinda disappointed. Expand
  20. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    There are no personal department, no novelty on the sound or the producers she work with here. Yeah, there are some good pop tunes that are very popish thanks to the vocals. In some other tracks, her voice was really overproduced and that really ruined it for me. "Perfume" is the best track in my opinion, her voice sound so fresh, so different that the other tracks on Britney Jean, theThere are no personal department, no novelty on the sound or the producers she work with here. Yeah, there are some good pop tunes that are very popish thanks to the vocals. In some other tracks, her voice was really overproduced and that really ruined it for me. "Perfume" is the best track in my opinion, her voice sound so fresh, so different that the other tracks on Britney Jean, the lyrics touched me too. Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    We probably get really excited when we hear that Britney Spears is coming back to the game. Her records brings us the feeling of how pop music should be, and that's the most surprising thing somebody could expect. "Britney Jean", though, was supposed to be one of her most personal albums ever, but we can't actually find plenty of this personal data here. With 10 tracks the standard oneWe probably get really excited when we hear that Britney Spears is coming back to the game. Her records brings us the feeling of how pop music should be, and that's the most surprising thing somebody could expect. "Britney Jean", though, was supposed to be one of her most personal albums ever, but we can't actually find plenty of this personal data here. With 10 tracks the standard one we have to struggle to find two or maybe three tracks that we can relate to Britney; the other ones sounds like a clichè teenager after a breakup. It's quite sad when we see hardcore fans saying that this is exactly what they expected as "personal". This just represents 1% of all life experience of Britney. It's such a shame that the whole album promo was based on a "lie". "Britney Jean", nevertheless, is a good pop album, definitely not the best of 2013, but it gives us some new Britney's records after years of waiting. For now, that's enough. Expand
  22. May 23, 2014
    6
    Britney Jean, seen and cited as a massive failure on the front of promotion, leading to disappointing sales and abysmal reviews, has now gone almost forgotten. This really is a shame as there still is much to be discussed within its short thirty minute length. A personal album - definitely not. A fun dance record with some emotional moments - yes. Its low points, unfortunately, hit earlyBritney Jean, seen and cited as a massive failure on the front of promotion, leading to disappointing sales and abysmal reviews, has now gone almost forgotten. This really is a shame as there still is much to be discussed within its short thirty minute length. A personal album - definitely not. A fun dance record with some emotional moments - yes. Its low points, unfortunately, hit early on, with the lackluster Alien, Perfume, and Tik Tik Boom. The rest of the album, however, is pretty solid. Body Ache, Till Its Gone, and Passenger all deserve a place in the Britney Spears discography. It is a shame an album full of potential hits was wasted, but its seems this records fate will be as a fan favorite. Expand
  23. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    I felt that although Work **** and Perfume are the standout tracks/singles, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this is her laziest album - she does not focus on her range and power in her vocals. The rest of her songs are poor, average at best, for example, Now that I found you' is slightly average, other than these three songs, the rest are either average or terrible.
  24. Apr 3, 2015
    5
    isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito isso bonito
  25. Apr 27, 2015
    4
    Britney Jean isn't entirely awful, but it's pretty disappointing compared to her previous 4 albums. There a few good songs in here, namely Alien and Work B**ch, but the rest range from mediocre to painful. In fact, the album gets worse as it progresses (and if you throw in the bonus tracks, it completely jumps off the deep end), so by the time it's finished it leaves a pretty sour taste inBritney Jean isn't entirely awful, but it's pretty disappointing compared to her previous 4 albums. There a few good songs in here, namely Alien and Work B**ch, but the rest range from mediocre to painful. In fact, the album gets worse as it progresses (and if you throw in the bonus tracks, it completely jumps off the deep end), so by the time it's finished it leaves a pretty sour taste in your mouth. In all honesty, I think some of the songs have potential to be great, but the generic EDM production and robotic autotune ruins most of it. I understand Britney has never been one to hide her autotune, but on this album it sounds completely shameless and annoying. At least I can say it's better than her other self-titled album, Britney. Expand
  26. Jul 13, 2015
    5
    Britney Jean é o álbum mais pessoal da carreira de Britney Spears segundo a mesma: Com todas as faixas co-escritas pela cantora, o álbum apesar de boa melodia e composições peca em certas partes.

    Spears deveria ter explorado mais sua voz desta vez (o que faz sentido, o que seria mais pessoal do seus que vocais crus?) porém Perfume & Don't Cry são algumas das poucas faixas onde não vemos
    Britney Jean é o álbum mais pessoal da carreira de Britney Spears segundo a mesma: Com todas as faixas co-escritas pela cantora, o álbum apesar de boa melodia e composições peca em certas partes.

    Spears deveria ter explorado mais sua voz desta vez (o que faz sentido, o que seria mais pessoal do seus que vocais crus?) porém Perfume & Don't Cry são algumas das poucas faixas onde não vemos auto-tune nem seu excesso, tracks como It Should Be Easy & Tik Tik Boom dão a entender que estamos ouvindo um álbum de eletrônica ou qualquer coisa lançada para o disco de Will.i.am (que a proposito foi quem produziu o álbum)

    Apesar das letras mais profundas do que seus trabalhos anteriores, o estilo do álbum não bate com o que conhecemos de Britney Spears
    Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    50
    The alien, blank dead-eyedness of Britney Jean is frightening, because it feels like it’s all will.i.am trusts Britney with.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    40
    Play this album from start to finish and it’s hard not to feel that at the core of its cheaply gratifying genealogy is nothing but misery.
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    50
    Backed up by masters of electronica David Guetta, Diplo and Swedish House Mafia’s Sebastian Ingrosso, they all make sure to drop a storm of ugly, trite and utterly soulless EDM breakdowns and dubstep drops whenever they can.