• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Jean Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 912 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio release for the pop singer includes guest appearances from her sister Jamie Lynn, T.I., and will.i.am.
Buy On

Top Track

Perfume
Do I imagine it, or do I see your stare Is there still longing there? Oh I hate myself, and I feel crazy Such a classic tale Current girl friend, ex... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 83
    In just 10 tidy songs, it brings us closer than ever before to that distant dreamer.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    It's a concept album about the loneliness of pop life--with a high-profile broken engagement behind her, Brit gets personal and drops her most bummed-out music ever.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    This album continues the striptease of Britney’s career. But behind each discarded veil there is just another veil, an insubstantial gauze masking teams of (presumably unphotogenic) producers, writers, stylists and sloganeers.
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    50
    Despite the absence of longtime producer Max Martin and his associates, the album is a surprisingly retrograde affair, with midtempo tracks marred by dated production and vocals that hark back to the days when Brit was selling 10 million.
  5. 40
    Nothing on the record comes across as natural, and it’s not until the album’s iTunes bonus tracks--“Brightest Morning Star” and “Now That I Found You” in particular--that Spears sounds like she’s singing for herself. But, on the album proper, neither the pop figurehead nor the real woman behind it can be found.
  6. 40
    Ms. Spears and Will.i.am have turned to European disc jockeys who have found dance music’s lowest, least funky common denominator: the steady thump of four-on-the-floor. And they’ve settled for too many tepid tracks.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    30
    Nowhere does Britney Jean sound like Britney Spears.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 218
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That exceptional album, Simply the Best of 2013. Thank you Britney Spears yes is the true queen of pop! Once inside the studio does not make you ugly and does not disappoint, saved the pop and will continue saving, you gave us a masterpiece, thank you Queen!

    2014 will have to start well with these songs, that perfect album to listen
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is just perfect, every song is so unique and light, there is dance tracks, sensetive tracks, personal tracks everyone could find his own favorite! I like it a lot! Especially Don't Cry, Tik Tik Boom, Body Ache... every song! GO and buy it! Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    If you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningfulIf you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningful lyrics in many songs such as Passenger, Alien, Now That I Found You. For the fans, Britney Jean is almost everything you could have wished for. EDM-influenced, ballads, up-tempos tracks all come together to give you a fan-favorite album. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    'Britney Jean' is good album, but below the recent work of Britney. I think Will.I.Am wasn't a good choice! Alien, Tik Tik Boom and It Should'Britney Jean' is good album, but below the recent work of Britney. I think Will.I.Am wasn't a good choice! Alien, Tik Tik Boom and It Should Be Easy or Til It's Gone should be the next singles. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    I felt that although Work **** and Perfume are the standout tracks/singles, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this isI felt that although Work **** and Perfume are the standout tracks/singles, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this is her laziest album - she does not focus on her range and power in her vocals. The rest of her songs are poor, average at best, for example, Now that I found you' is slightly average, other than these three songs, the rest are either average or terrible. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2015
    4
    According to Britney Spears, her eponymous eighth studio album has been described as being both “personal” and a sequel to 2007’s Blackout;According to Britney Spears, her eponymous eighth studio album has been described as being both “personal” and a sequel to 2007’s Blackout; it’s one of the only LPs in her discography where Spears is credited as a co-writer on more than a handful of tracks and it supposedly revolves around her 2013 split from her ex-fiancé. But coincidentally, it’s probably her most celluloid musical statement to date and one of her worst written; it dulls in comparison to the fellow female pop singers who were already making a buzz in 2013—Beyoncé surprise released her self-titled LP to critical acclaim, Lorde challenged the status quo on one of the year’s biggest hits, Katy Perry and Lady Gaga released new albums, hell, even Miley Cyrus turned heads with her twerking VMA performance and even enjoyed some success with her own singles. But even Spears didn’t seem too enthralled by her own co-creation by its release date because she gave it little to no promotion—Beyoncé has already succeeded Spears in pulling off promotional stunts like this because not only did her product become commercially and critically consumable in the end, she’s simply a better musician nowadays, succeeding Spears at numerous achievements within her decade-plus career.

    For Britney Jean, Spears assigned the Black Eyed Peas’ will.i.am—who makes an extraordinarily unextraordinary appearance on “It Should Be Easy” since ANY product he’s involved in must include more than co-producer credit—as a curator of her “personal” sound, exchanging her longtime collaborators Max Martin and Dr. Luke in for shallow EDM “drops” courtesy of him and accompanying co-producers such as the equally unextraordinary David Guetta. At least Max Martin and Dr. Luke, albeit one-dimensional, knew how to make a mountain out of a mole hill in terms of turning minimal melodies into epic generation-defining euphoria—Spears’ own Femme Fatale exhibited similar EDM influences in 2011, it could create electronic landscapes out of relatively simple contemporary pop tropes, such as the dance-pop anthem “Till the World Ends”, Spears’ best song in years. But whereas Femme Fatale and even 2007’s Blackout stood slightly ahead of the trend, will.i.am keeps Spears safely in the middle of the stream and maybe even behind the rest of the pack.

    The lead single, “Work **** embarrassingly emulates—and appropriates—‘80s black vogue culture, which could be called out as a desperate attempt at baiting and cashing in on her dedicated LGBTQ+ fan base, in a decade where civil rights regarding sexual orientation and gender identity have become far more relevant than the stereotypes society continuously associated with their community. But it’s much more exhilarating than the rest of Britney Jean, which trails between bland and absolutely terrible. The second single, “Perfume”, co-penned by Sia, nudges Spears back into her early teen-pop balladry and also has the laughable line “I’m gonna mark my territory,” as if it’s an appropriate metaphor to define making sure you stamp your identity on your romantic partner as a dog urinating on a fire hydrant. The T.I.-featured “Tik Tik Boom” compares sexual climaxing to a time-bomb explosion in an awkwardly childish manner; T.I. returns to his signature sexism from that year’s “Blurred Lines” with cringeworthy lines of his own (“She like the way I eat her, beat her, beat her/Treat her like an animal, somebody call PETA”).

    Britney Jean is actually a kaleidoscope of idiotic imagery curated by Spears and co.’s second-grade songwriting: “If there was a scale from 1 to 10 then my love for you is a million billion,” Spears sings in one of her most headache-inducing vocal effects yet. But even when the lyrics aren’t bombing catastrophically, they’re cliché as all hell. The chorus on “’Til It’s Gone” dramatically chants “You never what you got ‘til it’s gone,” as if it hasn’t been said billions of time before under much better circumstances—“’Til It’s Gone” even copies the stuttering hook of Femme Fatale’s “I Wanna Go” in an act of filling out a pre-chorus. The only standout track on Britney Jean is the Diplo produced “Passenger”, which was initially meant to be on Katy Perry’s Prism and probably would’ve been that album’s highlight. The lyrics definitely suit a female pop star at Spears’ velocity that has been in control for so long, the comfort of allowing a romantic partner to take the wheel is actually kind of endearing. But not only did Spears’ vocals require an overwhelming amount of Auto-Tune to sing, it’s a contradiction for her as well, since Spears has practically been a passenger throughout her career, allowing writers, producers, and record companies to guide her through every shift and turn. But despite leaving a significant mark all over pop music throughout the early millennium, Britney Jean is evidence that maybe she's falling from relevancy, publicly and musically.
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    This album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written orThis album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written or produced, it shows us what a complete mess is. Expand

See all 218 User Reviews