Britney Jean

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Jean Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 841 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio release for the pop singer includes guest appearances from her sister Jamie Lynn, T.I., and will.i.am.
Buy On

Top Track

Perfume
Do I imagine it, or do I see your stare Is there still longing there? Oh I hate myself, and I feel crazy Such a classic tale Current girl friend, ex... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 83
    In just 10 tidy songs, it brings us closer than ever before to that distant dreamer.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    70
    It's a concept album about the loneliness of pop life--with a high-profile broken engagement behind her, Brit gets personal and drops her most bummed-out music ever.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    This album continues the striptease of Britney’s career. But behind each discarded veil there is just another veil, an insubstantial gauze masking teams of (presumably unphotogenic) producers, writers, stylists and sloganeers.
  4. Nov 26, 2013
    50
    Despite the absence of longtime producer Max Martin and his associates, the album is a surprisingly retrograde affair, with midtempo tracks marred by dated production and vocals that hark back to the days when Brit was selling 10 million.
  5. 40
    Nothing on the record comes across as natural, and it’s not until the album’s iTunes bonus tracks--“Brightest Morning Star” and “Now That I Found You” in particular--that Spears sounds like she’s singing for herself. But, on the album proper, neither the pop figurehead nor the real woman behind it can be found.
  6. 40
    Ms. Spears and Will.i.am have turned to European disc jockeys who have found dance music’s lowest, least funky common denominator: the steady thump of four-on-the-floor. And they’ve settled for too many tepid tracks.
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    30
    Nowhere does Britney Jean sound like Britney Spears.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 208
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best pop album of the year, Britney has once again shown that it can survive and reinvent the musical world this 15-year career, There's Only One Queen And Tha'ts Britney B ch! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is just perfect, every song is so unique and light, there is dance tracks, sensetive tracks, personal tracks everyone could find his own favorite! I like it a lot! Especially Don't Cry, Tik Tik Boom, Body Ache... every song! GO and buy it! Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    If you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningfulIf you're looking for an autobiography, then Britney Jean is not for you. Britney Spears has yet again delivered a solid album with meaningful lyrics in many songs such as Passenger, Alien, Now That I Found You. For the fans, Britney Jean is almost everything you could have wished for. EDM-influenced, ballads, up-tempos tracks all come together to give you a fan-favorite album. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    'Britney Jean' is good album, but below the recent work of Britney. I think Will.I.Am wasn't a good choice! Alien, Tik Tik Boom and It Should'Britney Jean' is good album, but below the recent work of Britney. I think Will.I.Am wasn't a good choice! Alien, Tik Tik Boom and It Should Be Easy or Til It's Gone should be the next singles. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    I felt that although Work **** and Perfume are the standout tracks/singles, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this isI felt that although Work **** and Perfume are the standout tracks/singles, I don't feel the effort put in by her. Honestly I think this is her laziest album - she does not focus on her range and power in her vocals. The rest of her songs are poor, average at best, for example, Now that I found you' is slightly average, other than these three songs, the rest are either average or terrible. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2015
    4
    Britney Jean isn't entirely awful, but it's pretty disappointing compared to her previous 4 albums. There a few good songs in here, namelyBritney Jean isn't entirely awful, but it's pretty disappointing compared to her previous 4 albums. There a few good songs in here, namely Alien and Work B**ch, but the rest range from mediocre to painful. In fact, the album gets worse as it progresses (and if you throw in the bonus tracks, it completely jumps off the deep end), so by the time it's finished it leaves a pretty sour taste in your mouth. In all honesty, I think some of the songs have potential to be great, but the generic EDM production and robotic autotune ruins most of it. I understand Britney has never been one to hide her autotune, but on this album it sounds completely shameless and annoying. At least I can say it's better than her other self-titled album, Britney. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    This album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written orThis album is about all things we don't wanna see in a artist: laziness and lack of talent. Full by song who are not either well written or produced, it shows us what a complete mess is. Expand

See all 208 User Reviews