• Record Label: BMG/Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2001
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Definitely not Britney's best album: as she says, she was not a girl, not yet a woman. She was still finding her style, en fact you can hear a more grown Britney in the lead single as well as the same sweet Britney of the previous two albums in "That's Where You Take Me".
  3. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    It's a mix of "drama-pop" songs (Lonely, Bombastic Love, Overprotected) and r&b-oriented stuff (I'm a Slave 4 U, Boys). The album where the Pop Princess becomes more and more interesting.
  4. ZaneS
    Feb 3, 2009
    8
    A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In The Zone" and "Circus." The singles weren't chosen right, where "Overprotected" and the lame remix of "Boys" were obviously bad choices. It has much better tunes, like "Let Me Be," "That's Where You Take Me" and "Cinderella," all which A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In The Zone" and "Circus." The singles weren't chosen right, where "Overprotected" and the lame remix of "Boys" were obviously bad choices. It has much better tunes, like "Let Me Be," "That's Where You Take Me" and "Cinderella," all which would have made a few great bubblegum dance-pop singles. Expand
  5. christiang
    Oct 17, 2003
    5
    even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm not a girl, not yet a woman" is absolutely awful
  6. J.M.
    Mar 24, 2009
    7
    Same case as Oops... I Did it Again, there are some strong tracks on the album, but the ones that don't stand out are just pointless.
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    It's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles who shall represent the whole album are bad choices. Boys (Co-Ed) was a bad choice, I would prefer Lonely to be released. I Love Rock N Roll is not bad but its not as good as her Satisfaction cover, and it is not single-worthy. Anticipating isIt's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles who shall represent the whole album are bad choices. Boys (Co-Ed) was a bad choice, I would prefer Lonely to be released. I Love Rock N Roll is not bad but its not as good as her Satisfaction cover, and it is not single-worthy. Anticipating is Eurodance-pop song and it needs a major release worldwide. Expand
  8. Dec 23, 2011
    3
    Can I Say To American? Skip Every Track But I'm A Slave 4 U, Overprotected, And I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman...
    I Love Rock N Roll Is Ok... But Its Meh... My Least Favorite Album Of Brit's! If All The Songs Were Like A I'm A Slave 4 U It Would Be Great!
    Sorry! LOW SCORE!
  9. JustinT.
    May 6, 2003
    1
    OOOOO; I love Britney, but I'm sorry to say her sing carrer SUCKS!!!!!! I only gave it a one becase I love her. So, Britney if you see this leave me alone and masterbate!!!!!!!!
  10. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She deserves 0.00000000000000 becasue she is abnormal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wonder if she is from this world?????????????????
  11. RoyS
    Sep 9, 2006
    0
    Just another socially engineered singer. The only thing that keeps these people afloat are pepsi commericials, and weak minded people.
  12. JackieB.
    Feb 9, 2002
    0
    This cd totally sucked
  13. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    HA! no
  14. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    The worst album from the worst singer in the history of music!
  15. HernanK.
    Nov 28, 2001
    0
    Keeping in spirit with Milli Vanilli, Britney's voice is manufactured by computer and studio technology. Evidence of this statement is given by her inability to sing without a pre-recorded soundtrack (anyone see the HBO special?). Instead, listen to techno if you want to listen to computer generated music.
  16. Ryan
    Mar 28, 2002
    4
    A few really stands up and the collaboration with amazing producers are commendable but the narcissistic approach isn't pleasing. some are cool, like I'm not A girl... and That's Where You Take Me. She's really not innocent now....
  17. LisaD.
    Aug 28, 2003
    0
    The songs were lame. Her voice sounds electronic and the music was uninspiring. I find the other from her earlier albums to be better. But she has yet to become a good singer.
  18. XavierS.
    Nov 15, 2001
    0
    Not only does she destroy her career, but flushes her reputation down the toilet. Would it kill her to be just a little more original?
  19. AndreasL.
    Dec 29, 2001
    1
    One good song, Overprotected, but nothing else that stands out, this album is a clear miss, and the sales will show that, maybe not for this album, but if the next one is as bad, she'll loose a lot of fans...
  20. JohnathanB.
    Feb 17, 2002
    0
    Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability to produce timeless classics that go beyond the latest fads in the music industry. She is also very beautiful, but her sultry, delicious vocals coupled with thought-provoking lyrics mean that she never needs to depend on her image to sell. In conclusion, Britney is one of the most talented and original artists on the scene today and I can't wait for her next big one. Expand
  21. LeeK
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    eeee...Can I say "Too American"?
  22. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.
  23. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Slave 4 u is damn sexy, another greta album by her!
  24. May 29, 2012
    5
    My Least Favorite Britney Album
    Only 2 Really Good Songs Out Of 12. I'm Not Sure What Happned During This Album But I Dont Want To Know..
    Boring Standerd Pop... Madonn-Esc 5
  25. melissar
    Mar 2, 2004
    8
    It is a great cd but it is not the best
  26. Chris
    Dec 4, 2001
    10
    First of all, Britney Spears wrote 5 songs on this album, that totally rock, and second of all she still got your money for the purchase of her CD. I think girls that think Britney is a slut are very insecure because they don't look like her or they are jealous. This album is amazing. Keep up the good work Brit!!!!!
  27. ClaireD.
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    I love the whole CD, but even if the rest of the songs sucked, "That's Where You Take Me" would still be worth the price of the whole CD.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    of her 4 albums: ...baby one more time, Oops!...I did it again, Britney and In the zone this is the best from her
  29. Vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    6
    Best Britney album. She does some new stuff while still keeping her patented little pop songs
  30. EllenB
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    In my opinion, this is Britney's best album. It stands out from her three others (four, counting My Prerogative) because of its dancey sound. The lyrics are more mature than Oops!... and ...Baby One More Time, the sound is a whole new dimension, and her voice is awesome. You can dance to this album, do homework while listening to this album, sing tracks from this album, or just In my opinion, this is Britney's best album. It stands out from her three others (four, counting My Prerogative) because of its dancey sound. The lyrics are more mature than Oops!... and ...Baby One More Time, the sound is a whole new dimension, and her voice is awesome. You can dance to this album, do homework while listening to this album, sing tracks from this album, or just listen to it.. It's her best work by far. She should have stayed with this sound. Expand
  31. RandyB
    Jul 19, 2005
    7
    Okay, so the biggest guilty shame of all time strikes again. Britney is the third album from the pop princess, and the most scattered of her efforts. As if not knowing which direction she should go after two albums of bee-boppy teen pop, Spears tries on every outfit: the sex goddess in
  32. videv
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    This is my favourite album of britney. it begins with great beat and finishes with great pop hits. i like it very much!!!
  33. Steve
    Feb 14, 2002
    10
    Awesome album. Lots of fun, rockin pop with sexy vocal style!
  34. uncletony
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    it is so sexy i loved it the best song on it is overprotected i have been a britney fan since i was 7 and im now 11 i have over 300 pictures of her in my room britney is so hot
  35. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A perfect cross-over album for Britney Spears - moving on from bubblegum to more serious and raunchy r&b pop.
  36. AmelieT.
    Nov 17, 2001
    10
    I just simply love this magnificent album. The tracks are both feminine and energetic. It seems that Britney has grown into a woman!
  37. MattM.
    Nov 21, 2001
    10
    The new album from Britney Spears, "Britney", is a widely varying and ultimately pleasing experience from start to finish. She is displaying a new maturation and talent that is more evident now than ever. And I think people like Anna H. here should be ashamed of themselves for making such ridiculous and hurtful comments that really should not have been posted in the first place. Get a The new album from Britney Spears, "Britney", is a widely varying and ultimately pleasing experience from start to finish. She is displaying a new maturation and talent that is more evident now than ever. And I think people like Anna H. here should be ashamed of themselves for making such ridiculous and hurtful comments that really should not have been posted in the first place. Get a life and get a heart. "Britney" is a great album. Expand
  38. KimS.
    Nov 22, 2001
    8
    I think that she has changed too much but I like the change in her music but not her looks
  39. JeffM
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    Britneys voice actually is at it's best on this album. While a few songs drag, this is the perfect pop album.
  40. ownora
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    Brit rockzorz your soxorz
  41. Sugerbox
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Britney is a GREAT singer and i think that she went with a dream that she didn't want to miss out on.
  42. May 24, 2011
    7
    This album was my favourite when I was ten , though it is hard to listen to it the entire way through now that I am reaching my twenties , it is not as bad as this mark suggests. It has actually got a great songs only dampened by 'Im not a girl , not yet a woman' , 'Anticipating' and a shoddy cover of 'I Love Rock N Roll '
  43. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    This album isn't Britney's best, but I wouldn't call it a total flop. With this album she was still finding her center in music and she was experimenting with musical styles. The songs on the album may seem dull and maybe even unnecessary at times but the best track is "That's Where You Take Me". It's 1998 Britney again :)
  44. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Not Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The record presents really good tracks like I'm a Slave 4 U, Overprotected, I Love Rock n Roll and I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman but songs like Let Me Be and What It's Like To Be Me are most used as fillers. She was changing with this album but the completeNot Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The record presents really good tracks like I'm a Slave 4 U, Overprotected, I Love Rock n Roll and I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman but songs like Let Me Be and What It's Like To Be Me are most used as fillers. She was changing with this album but the complete musical changed happened with "In The Zone" Collapse
  45. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    With a touch of pop-rock in some songs, great lyrics, we see a Britney showing maturity, can be sexy and vuneravel and again betting on an excellent cover of rock. Highlight for "Overprotected", "I'm Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman", "Anticipating" and "Cinderella."
  46. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This album marks Britney's change into a young woman with more hard hitting songs and sexier vocals. She also wrote 5 songs on this album something that she hadn't done in her entire career. A mix of the new Britney and the old.
  47. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    Half Way Decent Album... But Sadly Brit Brit's Worst
  48. Sep 6, 2014
    7
    Esse é o CD em que Britney mostrou que já não era mais aquela garotinha meiga e doce. Aqui ela já era mais ousada. O CD Britney é um pouco pior que os dois anteriores com algumas músicas descartáveis, mas mesmo assim é um álbum ótimo, para se escutar a qualquer momento do dia!
  49. Oct 12, 2014
    9
    My favorite album by Britney!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  50. May 4, 2015
    1
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy
  51. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. While she's been guilty of gluing sure-fire singles together with rotten fillers on her previous two albums, Britney uses this opportunity to take the odd risk and adds a welcome edge to her sound.
  3. An unmitigated drag.