Britney

  • Record Label: BMG/Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2001
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 321

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Definitely not Britney's best album: as she says, she was not a girl, not yet a woman. She was still finding her style, en fact you can hear a more grown Britney in the lead single as well as the same sweet Britney of the previous two albums in "That's Where You Take Me".
  2. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  3. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    It's a mix of "drama-pop" songs (Lonely, Bombastic Love, Overprotected) and r&b-oriented stuff (I'm a Slave 4 U, Boys). The album where the Pop Princess becomes more and more interesting.
  4. ZaneS
    Feb 3, 2009
    8
    A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In The Zone" and "Circus." The singles weren't chosen right, where "Overprotected" and the lame remix of "Boys" were obviously bad choices. It has much better tunes, like "Let Me Be," "That's Where You Take Me" and "Cinderella," all which A real good one by the Princess of Pop - one of her best. But it's by no means an "Oops!" or a "Blackout." It is however better than "In The Zone" and "Circus." The singles weren't chosen right, where "Overprotected" and the lame remix of "Boys" were obviously bad choices. It has much better tunes, like "Let Me Be," "That's Where You Take Me" and "Cinderella," all which would have made a few great bubblegum dance-pop singles. Expand
  5. christiang
    Oct 17, 2003
    5
    even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm not a girl, not yet a woman" is absolutely awful
  6. J.M.
    Mar 24, 2009
    7
    Same case as Oops... I Did it Again, there are some strong tracks on the album, but the ones that don't stand out are just pointless.
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    It's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles who shall represent the whole album are bad choices. Boys (Co-Ed) was a bad choice, I would prefer Lonely to be released. I Love Rock N Roll is not bad but its not as good as her Satisfaction cover, and it is not single-worthy. Anticipating isIt's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles who shall represent the whole album are bad choices. Boys (Co-Ed) was a bad choice, I would prefer Lonely to be released. I Love Rock N Roll is not bad but its not as good as her Satisfaction cover, and it is not single-worthy. Anticipating is Eurodance-pop song and it needs a major release worldwide. Expand
  8. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    its Britney Best Dance album and vocals were served and this album really deserved to Get More Positive Reviews it was an Good album after all for me its 1010
  9. Dec 23, 2011
    3
    Can I Say To American? Skip Every Track But I'm A Slave 4 U, Overprotected, And I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman...
    I Love Rock N Roll Is Ok... But Its Meh... My Least Favorite Album Of Brit's! If All The Songs Were Like A I'm A Slave 4 U It Would Be Great!
    Sorry! LOW SCORE!
  10. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She deserves 0.00000000000000 becasue she is abnormal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wonder if she is from this world?????????????????
  11. RoyS
    Sep 9, 2006
    0
    Just another socially engineered singer. The only thing that keeps these people afloat are pepsi commericials, and weak minded people.
  12. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    HA! no
  13. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    The worst album from the worst singer in the history of music!
  14. HernanK.
    Nov 28, 2001
    0
    Keeping in spirit with Milli Vanilli, Britney's voice is manufactured by computer and studio technology. Evidence of this statement is given by her inability to sing without a pre-recorded soundtrack (anyone see the HBO special?). Instead, listen to techno if you want to listen to computer generated music.
  15. XavierS.
    Nov 15, 2001
    0
    Not only does she destroy her career, but flushes her reputation down the toilet. Would it kill her to be just a little more original?
  16. AndreasL.
    Dec 29, 2001
    1
    One good song, Overprotected, but nothing else that stands out, this album is a clear miss, and the sales will show that, maybe not for this album, but if the next one is as bad, she'll loose a lot of fans...
  17. JohnathanB.
    Feb 17, 2002
    0
    Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability Innovative, avante-garde and adventurous, Britney's latest is a captivating pop epic. Her lyrics are insightful and poignant, and her voice has a sublime quality that comes across as both lush and assertive. The instrumentation took my breath away with its inspired melodies and clever hooks. In the vapid genre that is pop, it is good to know that people like Britney have the ability to produce timeless classics that go beyond the latest fads in the music industry. She is also very beautiful, but her sultry, delicious vocals coupled with thought-provoking lyrics mean that she never needs to depend on her image to sell. In conclusion, Britney is one of the most talented and original artists on the scene today and I can't wait for her next big one. Expand
  18. LeeK
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    eeee...Can I say "Too American"?
  19. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.
  20. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Slave 4 u is damn sexy, another greta album by her!
  21. May 29, 2012
    5
    My Least Favorite Britney Album
    Only 2 Really Good Songs Out Of 12. I'm Not Sure What Happned During This Album But I Dont Want To Know..
    Boring Standerd Pop... Madonn-Esc 5
  22. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  23. melissar
    Mar 2, 2004
    8
    It is a great cd but it is not the best
  24. Chris
    Dec 4, 2001
    10
    First of all, Britney Spears wrote 5 songs on this album, that totally rock, and second of all she still got your money for the purchase of her CD. I think girls that think Britney is a slut are very insecure because they don't look like her or they are jealous. This album is amazing. Keep up the good work Brit!!!!!
  25. ClaireD.
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    I love the whole CD, but even if the rest of the songs sucked, "That's Where You Take Me" would still be worth the price of the whole CD.
  26. [Anonymous]
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    of her 4 albums: ...baby one more time, Oops!...I did it again, Britney and In the zone this is the best from her
  27. Vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    6
    Best Britney album. She does some new stuff while still keeping her patented little pop songs
  28. EllenB
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    In my opinion, this is Britney's best album. It stands out from her three others (four, counting My Prerogative) because of its dancey sound. The lyrics are more mature than Oops!... and ...Baby One More Time, the sound is a whole new dimension, and her voice is awesome. You can dance to this album, do homework while listening to this album, sing tracks from this album, or just In my opinion, this is Britney's best album. It stands out from her three others (four, counting My Prerogative) because of its dancey sound. The lyrics are more mature than Oops!... and ...Baby One More Time, the sound is a whole new dimension, and her voice is awesome. You can dance to this album, do homework while listening to this album, sing tracks from this album, or just listen to it.. It's her best work by far. She should have stayed with this sound. Expand
  29. RandyB
    Jul 19, 2005
    7
    Okay, so the biggest guilty shame of all time strikes again. Britney is the third album from the pop princess, and the most scattered of her efforts. As if not knowing which direction she should go after two albums of bee-boppy teen pop, Spears tries on every outfit: the sex goddess in
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. While she's been guilty of gluing sure-fire singles together with rotten fillers on her previous two albums, Britney uses this opportunity to take the odd risk and adds a welcome edge to her sound.
  3. An unmitigated drag.