Britney

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oops, she did it a third time. The Pepsi spokesperson's third LP features 12 new tracks produced by the likes of Rodney Jerkins, Max Martin and the Neptunes, including a cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock N Roll."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. A nicely varied, wholly satisfying collection.
  3. Britney and 'Britney' still works best when making a good pop cheese and dance sandwich.
  4. Britney is by far her most personable album, the most consistently playful and the least wince-inducing.
  5. Blender
    60
    It's hard to listen to the rest of Britney without imagining what the album would have sounded like had [the Neptunes] produced the whole thing. [#4, p.121]
  6. Spin
    50
    Amazingly enough, she does sound almost human. [Jan 2002, p.108]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 62
  2. Negative: 16 out of 62
  1. uncletony
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    it is so sexy i loved it the best song on it is overprotected i have been a britney fan since i was 7 and im now 11 i have over 300 pictures it is so sexy i loved it the best song on it is overprotected i have been a britney fan since i was 7 and im now 11 i have over 300 pictures of her in my room britney is so hot Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    Album de l'émancipation. Vraiment personnel (Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman), cet album met en évidence une nouvelle Britney,Album de l'émancipation. Vraiment personnel (Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl Not Yet A Woman), cet album met en évidence une nouvelle Britney, qui souhaite se libérer de son monde où elle est prisonnière afin de montrer qu'elle n'est plus seulement "la petite fiancée de l'Amérique". Expand
  3. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  4. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A perfect cross-over album for Britney Spears - moving on from bubblegum to more serious and raunchy r&b pop.
  5. May 24, 2011
    7
    This album was my favourite when I was ten , though it is hard to listen to it the entire way through now that I am reaching my twenties , itThis album was my favourite when I was ten , though it is hard to listen to it the entire way through now that I am reaching my twenties , it is not as bad as this mark suggests. It has actually got a great songs only dampened by 'Im not a girl , not yet a woman' , 'Anticipating' and a shoddy cover of 'I Love Rock N Roll ' Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2016
    5
    I'm a Slave 4 U 4/5
    Overprotected 5/5
    Lonely 2/5 I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman 3/5 Boys 3/5 Anticipating 3/5 I Love Rock 'N' Roll 4/5
    I'm a Slave 4 U 4/5
    Overprotected 5/5
    Lonely 2/5
    I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman 3/5
    Boys 3/5
    Anticipating 3/5
    I Love Rock 'N' Roll 4/5
    Cinderella 3/5
    Let Me Be 2/5
    Bombastic Love 3/5
    That's Where You Take Me 2/5
    What It's Like to Be Me 3/5
    Before The Goodbye 2/5
    Expand
  7. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.

See all 62 User Reviews