Britney

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oops, she did it a third time. The Pepsi spokesperson's third LP features 12 new tracks produced by the likes of Rodney Jerkins, Max Martin and the Neptunes, including a cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock N Roll."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. A nicely varied, wholly satisfying collection.
  3. Britney and 'Britney' still works best when making a good pop cheese and dance sandwich.
  4. Britney is by far her most personable album, the most consistently playful and the least wince-inducing.
  5. Blender
    60
    It's hard to listen to the rest of Britney without imagining what the album would have sounded like had [the Neptunes] produced the whole thing. [#4, p.121]
  6. Spin
    50
    Amazingly enough, she does sound almost human. [Jan 2002, p.108]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 57
  2. Negative: 16 out of 57
  1. uncletony
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    it is so sexy i loved it the best song on it is overprotected i have been a britney fan since i was 7 and im now 11 i have over 300 pictures it is so sexy i loved it the best song on it is overprotected i have been a britney fan since i was 7 and im now 11 i have over 300 pictures of her in my room britney is so hot Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This album marks Britney's change into a young woman with more hard hitting songs and sexier vocals. She also wrote 5 songs on this albumThis album marks Britney's change into a young woman with more hard hitting songs and sexier vocals. She also wrote 5 songs on this album something that she hadn't done in her entire career. A mix of the new Britney and the old. Expand
  3. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  4. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A perfect cross-over album for Britney Spears - moving on from bubblegum to more serious and raunchy r&b pop.
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    7
    Not Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The recordNot Britney's best album for sure. A great pop record but not what we expected listening to the lead single "I'm a Slave 4 U". The record presents really good tracks like I'm a Slave 4 U, Overprotected, I Love Rock n Roll and I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman but songs like Let Me Be and What It's Like To Be Me are most used as fillers. She was changing with this album but the complete musical changed happened with "In The Zone" Expand
  6. christiang
    Oct 17, 2003
    5
    even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm not a girl, not yet a woman" is absolutely awful Expand
  7. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.

See all 57 User Reviews