Britney

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oops, she did it a third time. The Pepsi spokesperson's third LP features 12 new tracks produced by the likes of Rodney Jerkins, Max Martin and the Neptunes, including a cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock N Roll."

Top Track

I'm A Slave 4 U
I know I may be young, but I've got feelings too And I need to do what I feel like doing So let me go, and just listen All you people look at me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. A nicely varied, wholly satisfying collection.
  3. Britney and 'Britney' still works best when making a good pop cheese and dance sandwich.
  4. Britney is by far her most personable album, the most consistently playful and the least wince-inducing.
  5. Blender
    60
    It's hard to listen to the rest of Britney without imagining what the album would have sounded like had [the Neptunes] produced the whole thing. [#4, p.121]
  6. Spin
    50
    Amazingly enough, she does sound almost human. [Jan 2002, p.108]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 60
  2. Negative: 13 out of 60
  1. Sugerbox
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Britney is a GREAT singer and i think that she went with a dream that she didn't want to miss out on.
  2. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    The bst female artistThe bst female artist actually!ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg Expand
  3. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  4. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A perfect cross-over album for Britney Spears - moving on from bubblegum to more serious and raunchy r&b pop.
  5. May 24, 2011
    7
    This album was my favourite when I was ten , though it is hard to listen to it the entire way through now that I am reaching my twenties , itThis album was my favourite when I was ten , though it is hard to listen to it the entire way through now that I am reaching my twenties , it is not as bad as this mark suggests. It has actually got a great songs only dampened by 'Im not a girl , not yet a woman' , 'Anticipating' and a shoddy cover of 'I Love Rock N Roll ' Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2016
    5
    A small step backwards from her previous album. Good tracks: Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet a Woman. The latter track sais it all, butA small step backwards from her previous album. Good tracks: Overprotected, I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet a Woman. The latter track sais it all, but i can't say she ever matured (became a woman) in her music. That's not to say her music is bad. Expand
  7. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.

See all 60 User Reviews