Britney

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Britney Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oops, she did it a third time. The Pepsi spokesperson's third LP features 12 new tracks produced by the likes of Rodney Jerkins, Max Martin and the Neptunes, including a cover of Joan Jett's "I Love Rock N Roll."

Top Track

I'm A Slave 4 U
I know I may be young but I've got feelings too and I need to do what I feel like doing so let me go and just listen. All you people look at me like... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    90
    It's enough of a reinvention to suggest that Britney will know what to do when the teen-pop phenomenon of 1999-2001 passes for good.
  2. A nicely varied, wholly satisfying collection.
  3. Britney and 'Britney' still works best when making a good pop cheese and dance sandwich.
  4. Britney is by far her most personable album, the most consistently playful and the least wince-inducing.
  5. Blender
    60
    It's hard to listen to the rest of Britney without imagining what the album would have sounded like had [the Neptunes] produced the whole thing. [#4, p.121]
  6. Spin
    50
    Amazingly enough, she does sound almost human. [Jan 2002, p.108]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 66
  2. Negative: 13 out of 66
  1. videv
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    This is my favourite album of britney. it begins with great beat and finishes with great pop hits. i like it very much!!!
  2. Sep 3, 2016
    10
    I seriously do not understand why this album is so underrated. I agree that it's not britney's best work, but at the same time this albumI seriously do not understand why this album is so underrated. I agree that it's not britney's best work, but at the same time this album accomplishes so many anthems, such as I'm A Slave 4 U, Overprotected and Lonely. And it's a mark for her career, because it really separates the Britney from her past two albums, from the Britney of the albums to come. Expand
  3. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've ever heard1 Too bad they made a terrible choice about the singles...
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    It's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles whoIt's not bad at all although she sounds forced to make the sexy sound. It's sexy, fun, and engaging. The only thing is that the singles who shall represent the whole album are bad choices. Boys (Co-Ed) was a bad choice, I would prefer Lonely to be released. I Love Rock N Roll is not bad but its not as good as her Satisfaction cover, and it is not single-worthy. Anticipating is Eurodance-pop song and it needs a major release worldwide. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2014
    7
    Esse é o CD em que Britney mostrou que já não era mais aquela garotinha meiga e doce. Aqui ela já era mais ousada. O CD Britney é um poucoEsse é o CD em que Britney mostrou que já não era mais aquela garotinha meiga e doce. Aqui ela já era mais ousada. O CD Britney é um pouco pior que os dois anteriores com algumas músicas descartáveis, mas mesmo assim é um álbum ótimo, para se escutar a qualquer momento do dia! Expand
  6. christiang
    Oct 17, 2003
    5
    even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm even if it is sometimes catchy, the result is just an ordinary pop record, with poor vocals and simple production. and the ballad "I'm not a girl, not yet a woman" is absolutely awful Expand
  7. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    0
    She looks like a bigger slut then ever, she needs to write her own music and learn to be original.

See all 66 User Reviews