User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 126

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. danieljo
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Better than You Forgot It In People. All the negative reviews come down to lazy listeners, and the fact that these listeners/reviewers diidn't give the album enough time to grow on them.
  2. CraigJ
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    This is a great follow up to one of the best albums of the decade. But this album just seems to fall short to one of the best albums I believe will ever be released in Illinoise. Everytime I hear these hyped albums like wolf parade, kanye and bss, they all fall short compared to illinoise.
  3. Dogpill
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    an awsome masterpiece
  4. Jared
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    Self-indulgence has never sounded this good.
  5. KrisB
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    It's so hard, with Broken Social Scene to decipher a scrambled mess from brilliance. You pretty much have to trust your gut. My gut told me that this album was brilliant. It lost a little gusto towards the middle-end but more than made up for it with track 14, probably the best song on either album.
  6. LeightonP
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    An excellent album that is even more experimental than You Forgot It In People. Where this differs is in the raw production and even more fusions of genres.
  7. bss
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    One of the best records of 2005. Actually, one of the best in the last 5 years. This record will change your life. Just buy it.
  8. Brendan"EagleEye"W
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    Ok, so I first listened to a bootleg copy of this cd and was rather upset because of the lack of definitive singing and standout vocals. But over time I began to find the cd truely amazing and especially when I play it loud or in headphones, I love it. Another thing I have found is that the lyrics, which blend with music beautifully, don't so much evoke words specific thoughts but Ok, so I first listened to a bootleg copy of this cd and was rather upset because of the lack of definitive singing and standout vocals. But over time I began to find the cd truely amazing and especially when I play it loud or in headphones, I love it. Another thing I have found is that the lyrics, which blend with music beautifully, don't so much evoke words specific thoughts but feelings, which to me is well, Wicked. Expand
  9. jrj
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I really feel sorry for anyone who dismisses BSS as "pretentious" because of their name or the names of their songs. And I feel bad for anyone who dismisses this album after a listen. This is really, really good stuff. Does it reach the heights of You Forgot It in People? At times, like "Major Label Debut", "Swimmers", and "It's All Gonna Break," yes it does. BSS also incorporate a I really feel sorry for anyone who dismisses BSS as "pretentious" because of their name or the names of their songs. And I feel bad for anyone who dismisses this album after a listen. This is really, really good stuff. Does it reach the heights of You Forgot It in People? At times, like "Major Label Debut", "Swimmers", and "It's All Gonna Break," yes it does. BSS also incorporate a lot of new sounds and ideas to make this a more sprawling effort. Not quite the classic that YFIIP is, but nonetheless one of (if not the) best albums I've heard all year. I agree with "Adam B" that, like Radiohead, BSS could just become a huge pop band if they wanted to - they certainly have a knack for amazing melodies. But they don't want to, and instead we get treated to this truly exceptional, one-of-a-kind musical experience. Expand
  10. PaulM
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Amazing stuff. If I was to describe it perfectly I'd say its a mixture of My Bloody Valentine and Drop Nineteens with a taste of The Go! Team Hugely thrilling stuff
  11. JustinA
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    A few of the songs get lost in the noise (see: "Ibi..."), but overall, an exceptional record. Louder than YFIIP, but just as beautiful and wonderfully produced.
  12. AaronG
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    Let us try to forget that YFIIP exists for one minute, to judge this album based on its own merits. BSS's Broken Social Scene is a freewheeling monster of an album that- while consistently strong- often narrowly avoids collapsing in on itself. This is especially noticeable towards the end of the album, when it begins to sag under its own weight. With so many disparate ideas working Let us try to forget that YFIIP exists for one minute, to judge this album based on its own merits. BSS's Broken Social Scene is a freewheeling monster of an album that- while consistently strong- often narrowly avoids collapsing in on itself. This is especially noticeable towards the end of the album, when it begins to sag under its own weight. With so many disparate ideas working in conjunction, however, it is a miracle that Broken Social Scene can rise above the chaos, let alone sound as great as it does in the process. Ultimately, this is pop music for people who hate pop music. So, is Broken Social Scene slightly self-indulgent? Perhaps. Is this album as good as YFIIP? I say no. What it is, however, is another strong entry in BSS's catalogue, which is more than enough to place it with the best of 2005. Expand
  13. TimR
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    Reading most of the reviews from the 'cream of the crop' critics, I found myself at a bit of a loss. One, most of these reviewers pride themselves on having the ability to be on top of progressive music (what is Broken Social Scene id not progressive). However the critics hear the complex textures and dense sounds on the new Broken Social Scene as overwhelming the melody, which Reading most of the reviews from the 'cream of the crop' critics, I found myself at a bit of a loss. One, most of these reviewers pride themselves on having the ability to be on top of progressive music (what is Broken Social Scene id not progressive). However the critics hear the complex textures and dense sounds on the new Broken Social Scene as overwhelming the melody, which in my opinion is not the case at all, the density of the sound reveals itself with every listen, generating new sounds that continually capture the true essence of what it is that makes the Broken Social Scene so great....endless innovation! Expand
  14. BradV
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Amazing album. Anyone doubting the simple brilliance of the songs underneath the layers of sound should check out the recent stripped down BSS set on KCRW's Morning Becomes Eclectic. Can't wait to see 'em live next week!
  15. StevenB
    Oct 4, 2005
    9
    Almost flawless. Up there with Sufjan, New Pornographers and Wolf Parade as some of the best of '05.
  16. Aaron
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    This is one of the very best discs to come out this year. Almost as good as 'You Forgot It In People'. A dazzling album of songs that straddle the line between being experimental (but not pretentious) and pop oriented. Yet that undeniable BSS sound is apparent throughout. Excellent album.
  17. AdamB
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    I love the loose sound of the album. It's got such a great flow to it. I find it very relaxing to listen to. The whole feel of the album really suits my taste in music. One pet peeve of mine is people who call them pretentious or self-indulgent. If I was making music, it would most certainly be self-indulgent. BSS could have easily put out a mainstream pop-album and gone on an arena I love the loose sound of the album. It's got such a great flow to it. I find it very relaxing to listen to. The whole feel of the album really suits my taste in music. One pet peeve of mine is people who call them pretentious or self-indulgent. If I was making music, it would most certainly be self-indulgent. BSS could have easily put out a mainstream pop-album and gone on an arena tour. I have no doubt that the talent in BSS is there to produce mainstream pop. Instead, they made the album that they wanted. So, of course it's self-indulgent. And I applaud them for it. Expand
  18. Benny
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    I guess i'm alone on this, but this is easily the single greatest album I have heard this year. Everything I would have expected and far, far more. This, again in my apparently offbeat opinion, is far great than YFIIP
  19. RyanD
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    This is an incredible album, if it didn't have to endure the inevitable comparisons to You Forgot it in People, people would be flipping out over these songs the same way they did the last album. Production is characteristically perfect, musicianship perfect. It doesn't feel epic in the way You Forgot it in People did but it's not trying to. It's sexy, danceable and This is an incredible album, if it didn't have to endure the inevitable comparisons to You Forgot it in People, people would be flipping out over these songs the same way they did the last album. Production is characteristically perfect, musicianship perfect. It doesn't feel epic in the way You Forgot it in People did but it's not trying to. It's sexy, danceable and personal at the same time. Everything is in it's right place, some people might take issue with the direction of the sound but the craftsmanship and execution is unrivaled. Only this band could have pulled off this album, if You Forgot it in People was only in you cd player a couple weeks you might not be able to get into this album, but if it hit you deep and has stuck with you you'll love this one too. Expand
  20. Gareth
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Just another fine indication of how awesome this band is in general, one of the best albums of 2005. right up there with Bloc Party and Wolf Parade, this band really restores my faith in music, and just shows how creative and brilliant it can be.
  21. NickT.
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    It's hard to find music that is both immediately catchy yet undeniably affecting and deep. Broken Social Scene is able to do this with what seems like the utmost ease, and it show's with this self-titled masterpiece. This album is a poppy, rocky, emotional, nostalgiac, etherial, etc. rollercoster ride. Also, if you ever get the chance to see these guys live, you must. They are It's hard to find music that is both immediately catchy yet undeniably affecting and deep. Broken Social Scene is able to do this with what seems like the utmost ease, and it show's with this self-titled masterpiece. This album is a poppy, rocky, emotional, nostalgiac, etherial, etc. rollercoster ride. Also, if you ever get the chance to see these guys live, you must. They are unbelievable. Expand
  22. philh
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    a post-nuclear campsite covered in icing sugar. the glint of foggy metal and whispers. my ancestor's tensions. rinse and glow. quiet fossils. distances. sun-top.
  23. StewartH
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    Shows that there is great beauty and pop greatness in chaos. Absolutely love this record!!
  24. IsaacL
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Another great BSS release that finishes better than one would think from the band's third release and follow up to You Forgot It In People. While this release was not as strong as expected it sures shows that the musical fire from BSS is still burning your flesh off! An A+ album from start to finish. Broken Social Scene will forever be synonymous with terrific music and there's Another great BSS release that finishes better than one would think from the band's third release and follow up to You Forgot It In People. While this release was not as strong as expected it sures shows that the musical fire from BSS is still burning your flesh off! An A+ album from start to finish. Broken Social Scene will forever be synonymous with terrific music and there's no exception here with the feel-good music that they continue to create. Get up and dance to this one! Expand
  25. SamH
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums ever, beautiful from start to finish, almost two years since it was released, and I still listen to it regularly.
  26. ag
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    this band just makes the best freaking music, it's really that simple. we hate your hate.
  27. Amky
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    It's awesome.
  28. PatrickO
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    The best noise rock album I have heard since EVOL.
  29. AaronC
    Oct 16, 2005
    9
    I have only listened to this new album a few times, so I don't think i can give it a final review yet because of all the multi layering might take 20 listens to sort out. What i've heard so far is pretty good. Got to say I love the epics, and besides lovers spit the slow jams are a quik skip. But these guys rock my world and live they are amazing.
  30. GeoffD
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    This album is spectacular. It's that simple. Granted, it is all over the map, musically speaking, but the more you listen to it the more is grows on you. Obviously, some people expected "You Forgot it in People Part 2" and were disappointed. GOOD! I hate bands that make the same record over and over again and I'm glad BSS tried something new and experimented. At times it has a This album is spectacular. It's that simple. Granted, it is all over the map, musically speaking, but the more you listen to it the more is grows on you. Obviously, some people expected "You Forgot it in People Part 2" and were disappointed. GOOD! I hate bands that make the same record over and over again and I'm glad BSS tried something new and experimented. At times it has a noisy Dinosaur Jr/My Bloody Valentine feel and other time is quiet and melodic. Some of the best tracks are: Swimmers, Windsurfing Nation, Superconnected, Fire Eye'd Boy, to name a few. For the real fans of BSS, you'll love it. Expand
  31. FREDS
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    Honestly I can't be critic with bss cuz i love them but anyway, is a great album, i have to listen a bit more to know if it sounds better than "you forgot"
  32. BrianS
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    I read a couple of reviews that damned the album with faint praise. This was a good idea; it brought my expectations back down to earth. Then I listened to the album, expecting it to be a bit too ambitious and difficult for my tastes (as a reference point, I just despise Blueberry Boat ... sorry!). I was blown away. The experimentation is pulled in right before it gets too masturbatory. I read a couple of reviews that damned the album with faint praise. This was a good idea; it brought my expectations back down to earth. Then I listened to the album, expecting it to be a bit too ambitious and difficult for my tastes (as a reference point, I just despise Blueberry Boat ... sorry!). I was blown away. The experimentation is pulled in right before it gets too masturbatory. The production doesn't get in the way but has a hint of danger, saying a welcome F.U. to over-compression. Indeed, the producer turns up the volume on the more unorthodox tracks (strangely reminiscent of MF Doom of all people). It is a bad-ass rockn'roll album; yet, it is innovative and artsy enough for you to know it had to have been made in the 21st century. I'd say this album is every bit as good as YFIP, which, I might add, was a rather uneven album--certain songs got a little too close to Meatloaf for my tastes. Could I be the only person that prefers this to YFIP?! Expand
  33. matta
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    While it doesn't reach the highest highs of You Forgot It In People, it is probably a more consistent album, with a few classic tracks. Not one of the absolute best albums of '05, but still in the top twenty.
  34. ev
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    It's like BSS woke up one day and remembered that they had a percussionist/drummer in their band, I mean, this album is so rythmically consistent and that's what makes the album for me. You also have way more of Feist and Haines than you'd ever want (especially Feist). I also think that comparing this album to their two past ones is limiting because their second album was It's like BSS woke up one day and remembered that they had a percussionist/drummer in their band, I mean, this album is so rythmically consistent and that's what makes the album for me. You also have way more of Feist and Haines than you'd ever want (especially Feist). I also think that comparing this album to their two past ones is limiting because their second album was very different from their first and their third album different than the second and each were good for what they were. I applaud BSS for making a different album, I'm enjoying the shit out of it. Expand
  35. phillipb
    Jan 18, 2006
    9
    more aggresive than their last albums. but the same complex sound.
  36. Danly
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    When I listen to this band I think that everyone in it is truly enlightened. So inspiring! my goal in life is to be able to produce songs as well mixed, and perform in a collective as gifted as these kids.
  37. WilC
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    this is an ablum you need your full attention to understand or apreciate.
  38. RichardE
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Awesome.....seriously blows your mind!
  39. MichaelB
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    If you dig Broken Social Scene's ambient sound, heavy production and intellectual approach to songwriting, this album is for you. A masterpiece of production, this record only gets better with more listening. There is so much going on here that each listen puts a new perspective on the disc. This is not for everyone however. The average listener does not have the patience or the If you dig Broken Social Scene's ambient sound, heavy production and intellectual approach to songwriting, this album is for you. A masterpiece of production, this record only gets better with more listening. There is so much going on here that each listen puts a new perspective on the disc. This is not for everyone however. The average listener does not have the patience or the attention span for this one. This is one of those cds that requires that you actively listen. otherwise it is just a bunch of noise. you cannot find any other group on the radar nowadays that can create symphonic beauty and rock out at the same time. Broken Social Scene's new self titled disc is a testament to everything the collective stands for and is a hallmark of the post-rock-collective genre. Expand
  40. AndyW
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Broken Social Scene is probably one of those few bands you'd have to say knows where they're going. I mean, look at both "You Forgot It In People" and their self titled album. Two completely different intros. While 'Capture the Flag' is an ambient track and mysteriously carries you into thinking what the album is going to be like, but then 'KC Accidental' Broken Social Scene is probably one of those few bands you'd have to say knows where they're going. I mean, look at both "You Forgot It In People" and their self titled album. Two completely different intros. While 'Capture the Flag' is an ambient track and mysteriously carries you into thinking what the album is going to be like, but then 'KC Accidental' kicks in, and yet again you're left puzzled. The opposite view is pushed onto this album. "Our Faces Split the Coast in Half" is an upbeat opening to the album, much like what the album is as a whole. The only let down about this one, however, is the lack of effort put in to make beautiful tracks like "Lover's Spit". Otherwise, BSS has pulled short stop, and either made everyone's raise eyebrows, or jaws drop. The album's strongest tracks are "Windsurfing Nation", "7/4 (Shoreline)", "Hotel", and it's grand finale "It's All Gonna Break." Expand
  41. MarkS
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    Beautiful music! I read some reviews that hinted that this album was a bit of a misstep, and even glowing reviews seemed a bit reserved. Personally I disagree. The sound is as dense, rich and full of ideas as You Forgot It In People. The album is fresh, easy to listen to and immediate but with a timeless quality. Maybe after an album as fantastic as You Forgot It In People the easy way Beautiful music! I read some reviews that hinted that this album was a bit of a misstep, and even glowing reviews seemed a bit reserved. Personally I disagree. The sound is as dense, rich and full of ideas as You Forgot It In People. The album is fresh, easy to listen to and immediate but with a timeless quality. Maybe after an album as fantastic as You Forgot It In People the easy way out is to declare that this album couldn't possibly be as good. I think that time will show BSS and YFIP to be companion masterpieces like The Beatles Revolver and Rubber Soul. Expand
  42. JoséD
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    One of the most original and thrilling albums of the year
  43. jesse
    Dec 13, 2005
    9
    kind of loses a bit of steam towards the end (but the last track is beautiful), but it is the most sonically overwhelming album since sung tongs... or maybe loveless...
  44. semus
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    as 2005 comes to a close, we neeed to look at the shape of the albums put out this year. There have been some sweet contributions on the indie and rock scene, and BSS is, arguably, on the top that list. "S/t" has everything you want and need from this band.
  45. TerryW
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Odd. To me, YFIIP was an album that had the odd masterwork (Stars and Sons, Cause = Time, and especially Lover's Spit) but was otherwise merely 'meh.' Now this album... brilliant. Are there better songs that Ibi Dreams of Pavement (A Better Day), wall of sound and all, or 7/4 (Shoreline)? And Hotel, while not a rock song, is one of the sicker beats I've ever heard. If Odd. To me, YFIIP was an album that had the odd masterwork (Stars and Sons, Cause = Time, and especially Lover's Spit) but was otherwise merely 'meh.' Now this album... brilliant. Are there better songs that Ibi Dreams of Pavement (A Better Day), wall of sound and all, or 7/4 (Shoreline)? And Hotel, while not a rock song, is one of the sicker beats I've ever heard. If you were looking for another blissful pop record, this isn't it. If you love music, music that isn't necessarily nasaled mournfully and/or pretentiously yelped by remarkably skinny white guys-- well, this your record of 2005 so far. Expand
  46. emilyw
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    First of all, anyone who buys this album needs to spend at least a week or so of constant listening to fully appreciate and take in what Broken Social Scene is doing here. They could do pop songs if they wanted to. They could also do Arcade Fire, Wolf parade type stuff. But that's not what the band is about an frankly, their style sticks with me alot more than alot of the other indie First of all, anyone who buys this album needs to spend at least a week or so of constant listening to fully appreciate and take in what Broken Social Scene is doing here. They could do pop songs if they wanted to. They could also do Arcade Fire, Wolf parade type stuff. But that's not what the band is about an frankly, their style sticks with me alot more than alot of the other indie acts out there right now. It takes someone with an open and a highly evolved taste in music to fully appreciate this album, and so yes C A, I'm sorry that you BAUGHT this album as well. Expand
  47. endak
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Some may call this music "sloppy, chaotic, unfocused and indulgent".WRONG! This music is joy unconfined;people coming together; leaving their ego's at the door and going all out to express and communicate. Guess what?They suceed! Time to scrap individualism and get TOGETHER!
  48. McJ
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    pssst...C A. You forgot it...
  49. Jules
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    No, Brian S, you are not the only one who thinks this album is better than YFIIP. After one listen I was amazed by how much better this is than YFIIP, let alone after many listens. YFIIP had a couple of great songs but it seemed so contrived and often plain confused. The trouble with YFIIP was that it was trying to make tight rock/pop songs AND messy avant garde sound collages and often No, Brian S, you are not the only one who thinks this album is better than YFIIP. After one listen I was amazed by how much better this is than YFIIP, let alone after many listens. YFIIP had a couple of great songs but it seemed so contrived and often plain confused. The trouble with YFIIP was that it was trying to make tight rock/pop songs AND messy avant garde sound collages and often ending up with neither. Leave the grand but tightly twisted rock pop to your fellow canucks wolf parade and arcade fire. This latest allows BSCs dazzling avant gardism full reign and results in a vibrantly messy work of art - the NY mag review got it right - however highly produced it FEELS spontaneous, alive with possibities. Thrilling stuff. Expand
  50. MarcyC
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    This album is not immediately accessible the way a normal album is. Listen to it repeatedly, and then it gets under your skin. It's lush, wild, complicated, bordering on the chaotic sometimes. Swimmers, It's All Gonna Break, Superconnected, 7/4 Shoreline--all fabulous tunes.
  51. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Despite the uneven tone of the record, the sloppiness of some tracks ("Bandwitch", "Windsurfing Nation"), the pretentiousness of the lyrics of almost all the songs, this is a pretty good follow up to YFIIP, and nearly tops it. Love it. BSS is one of my fave bands ever.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A richly textured collection of songs that further explore the possibilities of the group's grooving dream-pop blueprint but stays just weird enough not to attract the ear of mainstream radio.
  2. 80
    The album's plush and detailed enough to invite extensive exploration, and varied enough to not get exhausting. [Oct 2005, p.135]
  3. This exercise in excess makes the ambitious You Forgot It in People seem positively understated by comparison.