User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    almost the quality of Mister Tom Waits
  2. JamesS
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    This album is fantastic. It surpasses the sub-par EP that preceded it to a noteworthy extent. The songwriting is impeccable, and the guest musicians that appear on the album help to enhance it without overshadowing Mark Lanegan's brilliant song writing abilities. This is a must have for fans of his work.
  3. BenJ
    Aug 10, 2004
    8
    I would summarise this album as Keith Richards singing Death In Vegas' "The Contino Sessions". This a wonderful, atmospheric, brilliantly sequenced, melodic album, which managers to be both bleak and uplifting. The gentle acoustic songs sit well with the rockier cuts - it's just all very impressive. Highly recommended!
  4. KurtH
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    One word... Brilliant!
  5. NathanZ
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    this is the album SETI should be transmitting to the stars. Nothing compares. When mark lanegan passes away, he will have Elvis on his left, and McCartney on his right...... jamming on the other side.
  6. kevinu
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    it doesnt get any better then this......
  7. Joris
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    My god, this album is good. It grows on you untill every tracks becomes a jewel. Favourites are One Hundred Days (ft. Homme), Come To Me, Hit The City, Out Of Nowhere but also Like little Willie John, Wedding Dress, Sideways In Reverse...pretty much everything =) An amazing bluestrip into Lanegan's head, just listen to the lyrics in se. To everyone here: I believe Lanegan's My god, this album is good. It grows on you untill every tracks becomes a jewel. Favourites are One Hundred Days (ft. Homme), Come To Me, Hit The City, Out Of Nowhere but also Like little Willie John, Wedding Dress, Sideways In Reverse...pretty much everything =) An amazing bluestrip into Lanegan's head, just listen to the lyrics in se. To everyone here: I believe Lanegan's previous album is as good or even slightly better, so give Field Songs definitely a listen! Expand
  8. brent
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Eeerie, irrestible. Discovered him recently. Never would connect him to the singer of Screaming Tree's I Nearly Lost You. Coulda shaved 2-3 songs off and this would be a cult masterpiece. Why the 10?: Stripped down sound/PJ Harvey doing ten times what Isobel Campbell could do in 2 songs/that voice/that writing/that insight. Lanegan is CONSTANTLY UNFAIRLY compared to Waits. Waits is a Eeerie, irrestible. Discovered him recently. Never would connect him to the singer of Screaming Tree's I Nearly Lost You. Coulda shaved 2-3 songs off and this would be a cult masterpiece. Why the 10?: Stripped down sound/PJ Harvey doing ten times what Isobel Campbell could do in 2 songs/that voice/that writing/that insight. Lanegan is CONSTANTLY UNFAIRLY compared to Waits. Waits is a great musician/writer but he keeps a distance from his creations. That being said, Waits is powerful enough to make you cry or wistful. It's a gift. Lanegan's creations are ugly and comfortable. Places and feelings and lives and moments lived that you'd rather not discuss. Emphatic musicians on one's albums are half the battle. A very intuitive group of friends clanking away earnest and moody depending on song. I've never heard so realized and moving a self-testament in so long. And PJ Harvey on only 2 cuts makes you greedy for more. She understands this bastard and for as many duets Lanegan and Harvey have done with others, they really click together. If you've never been the protagonist in "100 Days" or "Strange Religion" no worries. It helps, but I really like this Lanegan guy, will be checking out his solo albums if I ever burn out on this CD...a truly unique and powerful American artist. Expand
  9. moschops
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    I must admit to having been pretty unaware of Mark Lanegan before buying this, I knew he'd done a few songs with Queens Of The Stone Age but that was it. I only really bought this because PJ Harvey was on it, but was blown awayby how good it is. Bubblegum ended up being one of my albums of the year.
  10. amalia
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    I keep listening this album over and over. It is so beautiful, raw and soulful!
  11. takebackourcountry
    Dec 9, 2004
    9
    Mark Lanegan has always been confined in the body of a tortured soul. Now he's simply a beautiful tortured soul with no contradiction to be found. He sounds free and accepting within this realm and I couldn't be happier for him.
  12. LukeS
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    So far, the best album of the year. If you like it, check out his EP Here Comes that Weird Chill. Some of the songs on there are better than a few that made it onto the album.
  13. pauli
    Aug 21, 2004
    9
    Captain Beefheart meet Tom Waits. Can you hear the desert calling?That album speaks inside you.What an earthquake!One of the best albums of the year.
  14. Toby
    Aug 24, 2004
    8
    Album of the whole damn year! This stuff is awesome!
  15. marapranom
    Jan 18, 2005
    9
    easily the best rock album of the year. Masterpiece
  16. danel
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    This album like all the other Lanegan albums, is a masterpiece. Lanegan is a genius for sure.
  17. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Stunning album, definatley his best. "Strange Religion" and "Wedding Dress" are stand-out tracks for me
  18. DaveM
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Arcade Who?, Green Day What? Modest Mouse Why? Kayne??? Biggest collective critical whiff in recent history was this album only landing on a few end of year top ten polls. Just the Ballads alone make this Hands down best album of 2004. Add Hit the City, Head, Sideways in Reverse. A Brilliant, brilliant album.
  19. May 1, 2017
    5
    I didn't really care for this. I'm a big Screaming Trees, Queens fan but this was just too slow for me. I don't like when previous shredders think a more mature way of songwriting is to slow down and go to motorbike moan into the microphone (See Post Pop Depression). Not awful but just not what I like. Also, I hope that the tradition of putting a weird, throwaway, short track as the firstI didn't really care for this. I'm a big Screaming Trees, Queens fan but this was just too slow for me. I don't like when previous shredders think a more mature way of songwriting is to slow down and go to motorbike moan into the microphone (See Post Pop Depression). Not awful but just not what I like. Also, I hope that the tradition of putting a weird, throwaway, short track as the first track on an album goes away. Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    A record filled with such emotional scope and range that it's tailor-made to showcase Lanegan's world weary roar. [24 Jul 2004, p.47]
  2. It's a distillation of the singer's subtly different moods and modes, a cohesive and comprehensive work that stands as the most representative look yet at his musical persona.
  3. An album that seethes and rocks with real energy and depth. [22 Aug 2004]