Build a Rocket Boys! Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Manchester five-piece alt-rock band's fifth album follows up their Mercury Prize-Winning album, The Seldom Seen Kid, and further showcases their poetic, lyric-driven, atmospheric music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    100
    Their last album, The Seldom Seen Kid, managed the rare feat of winning the Mercury prize and huge public affection. So how do Elbow follow it? With continued greatness and without fuss.
  2. Commendably, the Bury band's fifth album doesn't see them chasing the mainstream or pandering to the ear of the daytime radio dilettante.
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    They continue to make music that sounds like it cares how you are.
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Since The Seldom Seen Kid's release it seems everyone and everyone's mum are now fans of the band. Though Build A Rocket Boys! is a strong album, it never quite matches the rampant grace of that record and in many ways caters to their more tested demographic.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    In short, it's a quietly beautiful record: anthemic but not bombastic, introspective yet universal, simply drawn but beautifully coloured in. [Apr 2011, p.82]
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    80
    As with earlier records, Build A Rocket Boys! is touched by ambitious, intuitive invention. [Apr. 2011, p. 92]
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    67
    There are too many golden slumbers ("The Night Will Always Win"), and since the snapping and grandiose arrangement of "High Ideals" passes for the pulse quickener on Rocket, tempo could vary more, as it does in the banging build of "Open Arms," another British best in any decade.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    An album filled with great rhythms, lyrics, and so much more. I think I could write an essay containing 500-800 words but that would be boring to read since this is no place to do that (I'l just live it for the Final Exam). The first time I listened to "Elbow" was before a year and i was listening to "Seldom Seen Kid" and was amazed. Fortunately they did it again and this time it is a bit "messier" but still a great album no doubt about it. I think that Elbow is a raising band and in a decade they'll be a big and successful band (if they keep it going). Furthermore, if you ever listened to Radiohead, Arcade Fire, The National, etc. and liked it than you'll like this album too. If you're having doubts on buying this album, doubt no more and go to any music shop and buy it.... You won't regret it. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This is an album that was built on less is more, and what you get when you hear it for itself is their best album to date! This is such a genuine piece of music that is built on honest feelings and memories then expounded on with a genuine creativity that could only be Elbow. That last two albums although more mainstream, and their most popular, had a few tracks that didn't make my cut. This from start to finish is pure gold and cements Guy Garvey as one of the best writers of our time. I signed up with this site, although a constant visitor, as this was worth sharing with those that might be still on the fence. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    I suppose I believe that the only reason the few naysayers are disenchanted with this outing is that Elbow has become expert. These tracks are so well crafted, so purposefully moving... So effortless is Build A Rocket Boys! that it seems as though they dreamed it up in its perfect state. The dissenters just miss the elbow grease. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    8
    While less immediate, "Build a Rocket Boys" still clears all the hurdles set by the "Seldom Seen Kid". Subtlety is their only fault. At about 3 minutes in you know they still have the mature gravitas of there past albums. Though, at times the album becomes too much a vehicle for the complex orchestrations of the band. In the end "Build a Rocket Boys!" is as all Elbow albums always are...Lovely. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    A good album although I did find it a tad disappointing follow up to The Seldom Seen Kid. Probably Elbows 3 best record. It has got some really lovely, heartfelt tracks on it but oeverall just lacks the power of some of their other efforts. Expand
  6. May 29, 2011
    7
    "Build A Rocket Boys" is a smart continuation of Elbow's valuable creative catalogue, with some distinguished vocal performances from Guy Garvey. Although lacking a couple of the priceless tunes from previous long players, Elbow will continue to gently gain positive acclaim for their sonic consistency. http://hackskeptic.com Collapse
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    3
    I joined MetaCritic for the sole purpose of writing an honest review of this album. It sucks. I bought this hoping to find two or three songs that could compare to "The Bones of You," "Fugitive Motel," or "Forget Myself." I didn't get any of that. Every song is sappy and slow. I got in to this band last year and listened to them nonstop for a month. I bought this album without having heard a single song. Uh, mistake. If you want to sit in a corner, contemplate your place in the world, and suck your thumb, this album is for you. Elbow, you let me down big time. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. March's Best New Music

    March's Best New Music Image
    Published: March 31, 2011
    Find out which albums impressed critics the most over the past month (hint: think Lykke Li and Elbow, among others), and listen to full tracks from each of the best-reviewed albums.