Built From Scratch - The X-Ecutioners
Built From Scratch Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore effort for the New York turnablists (following 1997's 'X-Pressions') features 20 tracks of scratching and DJ wizardry, coupled with live drums and guitar and vocals from guests such as the Large Professor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. While their lightning-fast deck skills evoke nostalgia, the X-men still sound like the freshest crew on the block.
  2. 80
    On Scratch, they masterfully explore breakbeat fusion, flowing smoothly from scratch to hip-hop to rock and everything in between.
  3. Each cameo adds style, pizzazz (and most importantly, cool vocals) to the four-man crew's turntable acrobatics.
  4. Purists might object to Built To Scratch's overt commercialism, but the four-man crew succeeds in making turntablism accessible to a mainstream audience without sacrificing the kinetic demolition at the heart of its music.
  5. The collaborations produce some occasional gems, but midway through the disc one gets the impression the X-men are no longer "in their own session." [Feb 2002, p.82]
  6. Built From Scratch is a sharp ode to old school hip-hop that focuses on the roll of the turntable rather than the vocals of an MC.
  7. Just like an album of guitar solos, an album of battling fancy-fingered trick-pony turntablism is an utterly artless endeavor.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. JackM.
    Mar 7, 2002
    This album kicks assiola!!! my favorite song was the song "Its Going Down" with those Guys from Linkin Park. Its Going Down (:]
  2. DankyM
    Nov 27, 2005
    Fuck that Linkin Park shit that track keeps it from being a "7". The best track on the album is "a Journey into Sound" its got a Rakim sample and Dan the Automator beatboxing what more do you want. the end of album though is just weak like they rush it not worth buying, but if you got some extra room or your hard drive definetly pirate it of the internet Expand

See all 3 User Reviews